We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A shame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Got pranked already when I wanted to book a room. Made a booking online for three nights. A day later I received an email saying I shall extend my booking to six nights. After I confirmed I would like to stay for only three nights I received another email saying the hotel all of a sudden is fully booked.
Have not been staying there but would certainly not recommend to go there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
7  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
There are newer reviews for Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Went with a party of 7 people last week and eveyone enjoyed the stay so much. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, especially Jimmy, and he always tried to accommodate to all your requests with a smile. The check-in and check out was also smooth and effortless. Imah, from the Sea sports counter, was also very helpful in arranging and accommodating to our changes on the snorkelling trips for my brother and his group of 3 more people, while my husband, daughter & I went scuba diving.

Universal Divers, which is just next door to the resort, was fantastic. Great diving crew, Alex, Stefan, Steve, Ali & Charlotte are all so experienced and very patient with all the divers, especially me, who is a newbie to scuba diving. Alex & Stefan really boost up my confidence level after my dive. I will definitely return to Universal Divers to dive again. Cheers to the whole diving crew.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room are not near the generators as it tends to get noisy at night.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I love Tuna Bay.

The staff are really helpful, helping with bags and helping to arrange my onward travel to penang.

The restaurant has good food and the bar is the best place to get a drink on main beach.

The rooms are very luxurious, especially compared to the other island.

The beach is lovely and you can snorkel very easily. One of the nicest things to do is to watch the thunderstorms on the mainland whilst you sun yourself on the beach or in the bar!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank JHM05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed one week at Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort and it truly was a great experience.

First of all the island is just paradise and the beach right in front of the hotel is very nice. The atmosphere is laid back and very relaxed. The hotel is lovely with a very helpful and smiling staff. The breakfast was good and their coffee shake in the restaurant is highly recommended! From the hotel, you can walk to the other side of the island. We went there a few days just to hang out, see something else and eat lunch at a different restaurant.

The diving center just beside the hotel was very good with a great bunch of people and instructors.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Tuna Bay very much!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nattalped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

we booked 2 rooms with package 3D&2N as always.. we arrived at 1130hrs & managed to get the rooms at 1300hrs. surprisingly some off the staff still remember us.. all of them were friendly & polite. food was good. rooms are comfy except the water pressure during bathing is too slow.. on the 2nd day we were recommended snorkeling trip to Rawa Island which is cost Rm60 per head & it was worth it.. another experience to be share.. thanks to these guys, our boatman Mr Joju & Mr Lu for the awesome snorkeling trip...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LullabyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We didn't stay here but enjoyed their food. The tandoori chicken skewer is amazing. Good wine too. The Pinna Coladas are to die for.... but watch the prices.... we didn't ask prior (our fault) and paid a steep 25 MR per drink. Oups.... but well worth the splurge ;-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank canadiangirl7907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights for part of our honeymoon travels around Malaysia. The land transfer and boat transfer both ran smoothly and the tuna bay boat is much bigger and more comfortable than other resorts boats we had seen.

The beach is stunning! A perfect paradise island with the coral reef right in front perfect for snorkelling!

We stayed in a standard room which we thought was excellent value very clean and much more private than the sea view bungalows which really suited us.

In order to improve the rooms they should put small fridges as they supply mineral Water however in hot weather the water gets very warm very quickly!

The gardens are very well kept and the staff were very polite and friendly. The beach is also kept very clean compared to other beaches around the island.

The only thing stopping us giving this review 5 stars is the service in the restaurant. It was extremely slow some nights we waited nearly an hour just to get served a drink let alone good and nearly every meal we had was served before my husbands therefore we didn't get to
Eat together much! The food was average however the price is very good compared to the uk. Alcohol is expensive! Gin and tonic around £6 and a medium glass of wine over £4 however it was very nice having the option to purchase alcohol as many resorts do not sell it.

We recommend that you visit Turtle Beach the clearest, bluest sea we have ever seen! Paradise doesn't even come close in describing this beach! It is simply stunning.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at tuna bay and cannot wait to return one day!


Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KSimeone14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
0.6 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
656 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
664 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
334 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort

Address: | Perhentian Island, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range: £47 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort is located on the south west coast of Pulau Perhentian Besar (Big Island), a quiet, untouched part of the island surrounded by tropical jungle, on a broad expanse of powdery white sand. The resort commands a breathtaking view of Pulau Perhentian Kecil (Small Island) and the South China Sea, right on your doorstep. All chalets are just a minute's walk from the beach and are tastefully built with wooden furnish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing