We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diving here was just amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watercolours Resort & Dive Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Watercolours Resort & Dive Centre
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Diving here was just amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

At the begining we plan to stay four days in the islands. Maybe one or twice diving. But when we met Petra (our instructor) we change our plans completly and finally we dit open water course and we stayed 8 days in the islands.
The landscape is amazing! As the animals, the beaches and the corals.
The clases were really fun and interestin. We started then in wonderful places to start. We enjoy all of that because of Petra. She is a profesional of diving. She is a perfect teacher, really patien with us and pasionate with diving. Always ready to ask all our questions and she encorage us a lot too.
We recomend this experience to everybody. It's really worthy.
Thank you very much Petra for all your help and your lovely personality!

Diving will be our heart forever.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nox_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    30
    29
    26
    15
See reviews for
22
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Good enough for simple accommodations for a diving trip. Staff was exceptionally friendly, rooms were adequate, service was timely, etc. All the other nearby resorts are much more expensive, and probably have better food and accommodations but I didn't want to spend that much money. I believe there are cheaper accommodations on Long Beach but there is a lot of noise from the bars and party scene there and I preferred the quietness of this beach. I would probably stay here again. I stayed over two weeks, then had to move because the whole place was booked up and I went next door which was similar but slightly more expensive. The food wasn't great but that was true for most of the restaurants on Perhentian Islands at this price point.

I was initially deterred by all the negative reviews but perhaps these people had unrealistic expectations - most places in the area have pretty bad western food, the Malay food isn't the best, and it is a generated power area so the aircon or power may not be consistent. I expect most of the problems people were having here would also be true at the other nearby resorts at similar price points. There are nearby places that are MUCH more expensive and I expect they would and should be at a higher standard, but haven't tried them.

The internet is absolutely terrible here, usually not working at all, but it was also terrible everywhere else in the area so it is important to consider the context when judging a particular place. I would sometimes take a boat to Long Beach where internet was slow but cheap and reliable and worked on the entire beach.

The diving center was nice, competent, and relaxed. They figured out which dive sites they would visit a day in advance based on how many divers were around, and if you have flexible time you can just show up and see if you want to go wherever they are going, and suggest areas you want to go. It was very relaxed and low cost. Prices go down with more dives, and you can keep a tab and pay if off when you leave. There were some sites I wanted to see on demand (without any uncertainty) in which case I went next door to Turtle Bay Divers and got the exact sites I wanted on the same day, but paid a slight premium for it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WalkerTraylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spend 3 nights here because there was no room anywhere else. Book in advance before coming to the island. Coackroach in the bathroom. The floor was always very wet, open hole in the floor. The sheets were dirty. Very basic. Comfy bed, good food, not always good service. Not always Wifi. Sofia was the greatest employee.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missgreenpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pulau Perhentian Besar hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Have been visiting this resort since the 90's, it was one of the best budget resort in the whole of Perhentian, strategically located with stunning views and easy accessible to Teluk Pauh area. The dive centre still provides excellent services and diving with them is a pleasure. However, the rooms really in dire need of restoration, no upkeeping work done on the room and some of it has been infested with termites. The introduction of all day long electricity is welcomed, air-cond in room is welcomed, but they should at least provide a single powerpoint for charging in current technology trend. I will still go back to the resort due to the sentimental memories I have with this resort, but do hope that restoration is done is stages to maintain the facilities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

From early trip until the last day of our holiday vacay....theres no word bored in thia challet, they has provide us with amusing and advanture activities such as snorkeling, shark hunt, rafting, parachute glidding and the most moment that me and my guys can forget is we manage to catch a 200kg of Marlin.....Watercolours Resort hope to see u again and thanks for those lovely memmories....

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fakhrur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't choose this resort again. Our bathroom door was hanging off and our sheets stained as well as covered in dirt. We had to ask to move bungalows as well as change and clean the room and balcony. This took almost 45 mins. This should have indicated the speed as to which things are done on the island. Waiting is fine if it is rewarded. We didn't find this at this particular resort. I believe the others are more value for money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank conniefsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Old coisy chalets, but really need maintenance. Holes in the ceiling, walls. A lot of dirt over the place. Sheets were not cleaned. Personel was not really helpful nor friendly.
Location is ok, but the beach in front of the resort is not for swimming of snorkeling, it is simply too shallow and filled with coral.
OK for the price, but outdated.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngcoupl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
0.0 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#4 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#3 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.0 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#6 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watercolours Resort & Dive Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watercolours Resort & Dive Centre

Property: Watercolours Resort & Dive Centre
Address: Lot 136 Sebarang Genting, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Hotel Class:3 star — Watercolours Resort & Dive Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Watercolours Resort & Dive Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watercolours Impiani Resort & Restaurant Hotel Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Watercolours Impiani Resort And Restaurant
Watercolours Impiani Hotel
Hotel Watercolours Impiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing