We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Tallinn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good for family stay”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed in Arwana in March 2013 for a week. It's a good hotel for families - it's very spacy. The staff is so friendly and nice, despite of limited english, they make you feel welcome with their politeness and kindness. Since it was very hot, kids preferred pool to the beach.I liked to rest at the poolside in the evenings, it was very nice, cozy and quiet. Beware of the giant lizards though! They walk around the hotel backyards even during daytime. I don't think they'd cause you any harm, they are more scared than you but they sure scare you big deal, if turn up unexpectedly :) I'd reccommend to avoid the hotel during Malaisian school vacations and weekends, since it gets so crowded and noisy...and sorry to say - also really dirty. I don't know if this is the culture but I felt just everyone left their trashes behind them ...awful.Otherwise, the beach is great, the food is tasty (if you get tired of it though, you can check out neibhouring restaruants and small bars). Rooms are ok and comfy. I must say though that you'll feel, see and smell the humidity everwhere inside the hotel. If you have the AC on, it's quite ok though.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trikikaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    48
    84
    39
    34
See reviews for
60
68
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cyberjaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Came here with my small kid & parents.Nice resort with pool & friendly staff. Spend 3D2N here. Beach here just ok but not suitable for snorkeling that quite a sad thing for me. But dun worry,you can rent a water taxi & then go to perhentian kecil for snorkeling :). Food here just average. We took the free & easy package that comes with 3 meals daily. Nite live here not really happening compare to perhentian kecil, but there are few restaurants for you to lepak or having teh tarik! Overall i can say is no matter where you stay in perhentian island, its really worth it cos you in perhentian man!! hehehe enjoy!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orked_Omar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Safe beach for childrens aged 1-4 years old. Don't go during low season. Many facilities such as massage center, karaoke room, food stalls close during that time. Need to improve swimming pool cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlynnMj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were there for 2 nights; 2 adults and 4 children. We stayed in the deluxe room with pool view with 2 queen size beds. What we liked were

(1) the beach chalets
(2) the monitor lizards
(3) the view from the lobby
(4) the jungle trek to Perhentian Island Resort
(5) the clothesline outside every room
(6) the helpful staff

What we didn't like were
(1) the murky muddy beach facing Arwana
(2) the hotel is in the south of Perhentian Besar so we didn't get to see sunrise/set
(3) old and faded towels
(4) the rubbish near the jungle trek area - the lake needs to be cleaned up without losing the lizards that live in them- this is supposed to be a eco resort, right?
(5) the toilet bowl had stains

We brought our food supplies like noodles, bread, buns and tidbits. You can find food at Best Cafe if you walk along the beach.

Room Tip: There is no electrical gadgets in the rooms other than TV and hot shower - you need to get your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sivakay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The positive aspects of our stay were the friendly staff and the swimming pool, and even this could be improved by help with luggage or taking you to the room and extending the pool access hours and wifi coverage.
The negative aspects of our stay are many; Arwana charges like similar resorts in other parts of S-E Asia without their facilities or passion for the job:

-the resort looks dated and without basic maintenance; areas like the swimming pool and the sea front could be greatly improved with a bit of investment: new furniture, like sunbeds overlooking the sea, rather than the existing picnic like concrete benches;
-the room we staid (pool views no balcony) was of a good size but very dated, with old, unmatching furniture, and a bathroom that was beyond saving: cracked tiles, dirty toilet... Two of the four lights in the room didn't work so we had to call the maintenance person. I wonder why a resort that pretends to be high end would deliver a room to a new customer without lights working and with a toilet seat that needs replacing, et al.
-the breakfast buffet was the most disappointing food selection I have ever encountered in a hotel: very random choice of options including boiled eggs and cucumber slices (!); when there were cooked options (pancakes, fried eggs, bread and butter pudding!?) these were terribly bland, unexciting, as if the cook had lost the passion for delivering good food. Almost no fruit available and this was warm...
-one of the most annoying things was a VERY loud prayer released from speakers within the premises at 5.45 AM!!!! I fully respect religious needs of both staff and customers, but the noise woke us up EVERY single night!
-something else to be aware of is the remote location of the hotel, good for those looking for peace and quiet but make sure you budget for the taxi boats if you want to explore further.

Very good customer service at the reception, and a good size pool. But not going back I'm afraid...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LluisTembleque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Speed boat from Kuala Besut jetty takes about 30-45 mins to reach the hotel jetty.

There is no grid electricity supply and the hotel runs its own generator. The generators switches between the primary and secondary at 7am and 7pm and you'll need to manually switch the air conditioning on twice a day. If possible, try to avoid rooms at the end of the hotel, the generator runs 24 x 7 and are quite audible.

Hotel staffs are basically family members of Mr Saad, the owner of the hotel, who is also the general manager, referee, emcee cum boatman. They are very friendly but the rest of the staffs can speak little English.

The hotel has a restaurant but it does not serve ala-carte food. You can only choose the buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel doesn't serve alcohol. There is a mini-bar behind the PADI diver's office and prices are reasonable. The hotel is faces south and you can't view sunset or sunrise here. It is also surrounded by hills. Rooms are clean. TV only shows local channels and reception is horrible. Bathroom has no bath tub and only has shower. It has one cold water shower point and a miserable ZERO pressure supply to the instant hot water heater next to it.

The hotel doesn't provide beach towels and you're not allowed to bring your room towels to the pool or the sea.

There are numerous snorkeling sites around the island and try to avoid November to February months when monsoon hits the hardest. The hotel has their own boatman to bring you to the sea for snorkeling and diving.

Prices on the sundry shop items costs double compared to the same items on the peninsular. The hotel provides free drinking and hot water at the restaurant round the clock. You can bring the flask from the room to fill it up yourselves.

You can get around the island or beaches with the local water taxis, ranging from RM15 to RM50 per pax one-way, depending on distance. There are also 2 jungle trekking tracks from the hotel. One goes to turtle bay and the other goes to turtle point and the official jetty of the island.

Room Tip: If possible choose the chalets facing the sea, the generator is barely audible there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We went to Perhentian Island last May and stay in this resort for 4 days 3 night. Arriving to this place, I am very much excited to see how beautiful the view is and how serene and peaceful the resort is. It is definitely for family and people who need calm and quiet surroundings. Just what i need for this holiday. The view from lobby is so nice as you could see the blue sea water. The room, its an ok room. Nothing special but it is comfortable although they could do better with the bed as I find it quite low. The buffet spread during breakfast, lunch and dinner for me is worthy and quite tasty. They also serving ala-carte but it is quite expensive and my suggestion take a stroll along the island you could find other restaurant a bit cheaper than the hotel. The snorkelling trip arrange by the hotel is also good although during our trip the water a bit murky as it is raining. But we still could see all the corals and fishes. It's a great experience for newbie like me. Overall, for a nice peaceful holiday I will definitely come back to this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
0.9 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#4 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
258 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#3 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
612 reviews
0.9 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
934 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alunan Resort
Alunan Resort
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet

Property: Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Address: Lot 181 Telok Dalam, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort And Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet Hotel Terengganu
Arwana Perhentian Eco Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing