We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mama's Place
Nearby Hotels
Perhentian Island Resort(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Suhaila Palace(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Eco Marine Perhentian Island Resort(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Flora Bay Resort(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Coral View Island Resort(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Bayu Dive Lodge(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Cozy Resort(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
30
96
48
23
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
96
48
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno hot waterbeach frontstandard roomdiveislandlaundrybarbecuejettypros
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 days with Mama's chalet booking through turtle bay divers
It was full house. We arrived quite early on the day of arrival, only able yo get room till 1200 noon.
Please don't wear any sports shoe or bring any luggage with roller. The boat will spot u at the beach side and you will have to step into the sea. Yes is very shallow but the surrounding no proper jetty. The fastest and easiest way is to load you to and from the beach.
The beach is not as good as long beach, sands were too rough as Co.pare to powdered long beach.
Layers of sea water from sandy beaches to shallow waters reef and deep waters.
We were lucky with the sea view room just round the corner, few steps away from the dive shop.
Room was basic with wall fan.
a doubled bed. Towels and blackket. Remember to bring along your toileteries.
We were lucky that 3 nights of our stated were raining. Past mid night we were freezing cold. But is was warm and humid during noon time.
The reception assist us with the booking of taxi at Kuala best jetty to jerteh. Not sure who is right or wrong, price were not Samar as what had promise. Not sure who's right or wrong. But they did give a lot of assistance to all travelers.
Is you dive is the big island with turtle by divers please wear booties.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dkny_y2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Opted to stay at Mama's Place for just the one night. Stayed in a basic fan double room/ beach hut that was set a minute's walk from the beach. Fan only operates after 3pm so room was unbearably hot upon first arrival. Hut contains a double bed, desk-come-drawers and a small bathroom with toilet, shower and sink. Bathroom is not very pleasant at all- in major need of a refurb.

No area for sunbathing on the beach directly in front of Mama's. Had to walk ten minutes along the beach/coastline to a larger beach situated in front of one of the most luxurious resorts (looked incredible!)

This being said, it was one of the cheapest accommodations on both islands and once asleep we found the room to be very cool and not an issue.

Room Tip: Opt for A/C in your room if you can. Arrive early by boat from the mainland if you have not booked accommodation. Most rooms (especially in June) have been booked out by 12pm.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NiallYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed at Mama places last October 2013,

When I reached there: They dont have any jetty thus u will be transferred to small boat. During my time, the speed boat managed to dropped us in front of the place.

Check in process: Im having a bad experienced since we booked via fake Mama's place website. They are only their agent who have very bad service. I myself have to call them to do the follow up, not even received confirmation from them via email or call. When reached Mama'receptionist, the gentleman seemed like confused with the information. In fact we already make the full payment. Thus, dont u ever booked from their 'website'. Tooked us more than 30minutes for check in process.

Room- Very basic accomodation! queen bed, makeup table, cupboard, attached bathroom. They dont have neither kettle
nor amenities. But, the best part about room is when every room was separated and like you have ur own small house with veranda. They do have water pipe thus u can wash ur feet before enter ur 'house'.

Surrounding: Very peacefull since it was surrounded by the big trees. when u face the beach, Dont expect to face a beautiful beach since they not even have a place where u can snorkeling. You have to walk around 15 to 25 minutes to reached a heaven place to snorkle (in front of perhentian chalet). Most of d time we have spent our time there.

Food: Quite expensive for local with a plain taste. Lucky their place in front of local village. we tooked taxi boat to village and bought food from there. the foods taste was great and the price is very cheaped. Pls bring a lot of mineral water since Mamas only provide free hot water but they do sell mineral water but of course with a double price. Just prepare the money!!

Overall: this place can be consider place to sleep only. will i come back again?? no tenkiu. it will be my 1st and last time :)








Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank akukataWOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Had an excellent stay at Mama's. Very good accommodations for the price you pay. They can organize snorkeling tours, and water taxi. Very friendly people, with excellent customer service. The restaurant has a large selection of items.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed with mamas for 1 week in the summer of 2010. It was a lovely place with good value for the money. I would recommend you to book in advance. We only booked for 3 nights, and wanted to stay longer and needed to change room, and later find another place because they were fully booked. The staff is friendly and helpful. They have a ok restaurant that serves many different kind of foods.

There is quite and beautiful beach surrounding the area - and wildlife too. I saw several monkeys.. and almost got attacked buy one, so be careful some of them are aggressive and don't like humans.. But that isn't mamas fault.

I enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sofiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews