We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Perhentian Tropicana Inn
Nearby Hotels
BuBu Long Beach Resort(Pulau Perhentian Kecil)
US$202
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Coral View Island Resort(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
US$52
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort(Pulau Perhentian Besar)
US$57
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Mimpi Perhentian(Pulau Perhentian Kecil)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
D'Lagoon(Pulau Perhentian Kecil)
Matahari Chalet(Pulau Perhentian Kecil)
Shari-La Island Resort(Pulau Perhentian Kecil)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
40
55
43
28
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
55
43
28
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong beachwalking distance of minutesclean accommodationbudget holidaybeds were comfortableremote islandlobby arearecommend this resortdouble bedelectricitybackpackers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I live in Besut and frequently visit the island. I have stayed in about a half dozen different places and found this one to be the best. There are dorms, which I stayed in, as well as private rooms. The prices are the best on the island and the attached, clean bathroom to the dorm is nice. Soraya and her staff speak perfect English. This is where I will be staying for my future visits and also where I recommend for people to stay when they ask.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluelightspecial2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Only dorm I could find and the cheapest place to stay if traveling alone.
It was an 8 bed dorm, which was clean. There were not any lockers, nor was there any toilet roll ( so make sure you bring some). The showers and toilets were clean. The people that ran it were sometimes a bit hit and miss, sometimes being really friendly other times not so much. There is wifi in the reception area.

It's a good place to stay in a good location between both long beach and coral beach. If you stay on long beach it can get really noisy!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank sam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

It's important to book in advance - we paid 40 pounds for 2 nights by booking through agoda, which is expensive but still cheaper than just turning up I think? Like someone else said, there seems to be quite a difference between the newer chalets by reception, and the older ones at the back (I'm not sure whether a price difference or not).

Ours was at the back, and about as basic as you get - the sink wasn't quite connected to the drainpipe, so water poured onto the floor. Not a massive problem as the shower wet the floor anyway (and shower was good). Quite hot in rooms, even with fan. But to be honest, we were only there at night, when it's slightly cooler anyway.

Free Wifi (only at reception), free towels (at least we didn't have to pay, maybe because of how bad our room was? haha). Everyone seemed friendly enough, Location is probably the best point about this place - 5 minute walk from both Coral Bay and Long Beach, so best of both worlds. And certainly quieter in the rainforest - although our chalet wall was paper thin so could hear anything that went on nearby!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amystonecold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived on the island without having any accommodation booked. After trying every place on coral bay without much luck (it was Easter)... We eventually found this place.

It's located up the hill between Coral and Long beach. You can walk down to either beach in about 10 minutes.

The rooms are basic and very expensive. They also get very very hot... even with the fan on full throttle!

The owner is nice enough, but it is all about making money rather than anything else. We paid £50 a night for a fan room, quite a difference to the usual £15-£20 we were paying for really nice places throughout the rest if SE Asia.

My advice would be to try and find somewhere on Coral. Long beach can get very noisy in the night as that's where the bars are.

The island itself is really lovely and definitely worth the visit. Enjoy!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Visited during May-day and this inn, like others was terribly difficult to work with. We booked a private room the first night we stayed and they told us they had no availability for the rest of the week. After looking around for a while we asked again, still nothing. Then on out third time they said they had a dorm (for 2.5x the original price).

The accommodations are super basic, no towels, etc, which is to be expected with some dorms but this place felt like a scam.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank L1m5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews