We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of BuBu Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BuBu Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Bubu Villa is everything you need on a holiday! Very good rooms. Also the new rooms, which were not yet openend looked very good. The food and service were great. Good wine and cocktails. Although the food is a bit more expensive then on the rest of the island, it is worth everything. The manager does everything to make it comfortable for you!
It is the best hotel on the Perhentians. We can recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 0Nic0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your review! We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at BuBu Villa. The new beach villas were opened on the last week of July, probably shortly after your trip here. Thank you for recommending BuBu Villa as you preferred accommodation in the Perhentian Islands. We are sure our manager, Azuan, is most delighted to hear from you and your inspiring words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Long Beach in Perhentian, Pulau Kecil, is simply the most gorgeous beach we had ever seen and Bubu Villas are the greatest hotel on the white strip of sand and crystalline pool-like water Long Beach in perhentian kecil. We were a group of 3 friends, the boat left us directly on the sandy shore and the staff came to pick our luggages and greeted us with a cocktail (2 complimentary x person every day). The villas are big, clean, elegant and comfortable. No sea view from the rooms but you are 50 mt from the shore and you can relax at the World Café (of the villas) with good music, good food and a cocktail or go swim in the incredibly blue sea just two steps away. The staff is very polite and professional, the food is great in both restaurants (but the villas are better than the Bubu Resorts rooms 500 mt away on same beach). Finally, Franco- the waiter from Myanmar- is also a dj for the bar nearby so ask him for nightlife advices! Long Beach is a great place to make friends and dance on the beach at night... Absolutely great. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: Get the villas not the Resort rooms, they are much bigger, newer and closer to the sea. It's a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your review! We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at BuBu Villa and would also love to see you coming back soon. For those who love the nightlife, yes, Franco can recommend you some good places

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

i managed to bring my wife fro an excursion in perhentian at long beach, we were greeted with cocktail that a certainly quench our thirst, the friendly manager later led us to the new villa, the villa has two types, garden (bathroom attached outside) and the new ones. We were given the opportunity to try the new ones. When we went there, bubu crew still loading in the plants and trees to beautify the villa. As for our villa, its a tropical design, you will have a walled-up (10-12ft height) villa with spacious compound, and of course the plants in the compound is still new and baby size, tiny. In the room, it is big, furnitures are brand new. The villa has tall ceiling wall (classical tropical wooden type), divided into 2 compartments by a 10 ft wall, the anterior compartments lies the comfy king size bed placed against the wall with side table lamp, quiet YORK AC with ceiling fan right at the centre, theres a big lovely couch in front of the bed with big windows, multiple small lightings on the ceiling, you can go to the back compartment from both sides of the wall, behind the wall is the big closet with hairdryer and safety box. Toilet and shower area are separated at both corner of back compartment villa. They are special as they have no doors and consist large window glass where you can look to outside villa compound (dun worry, the villa walls are tall), it may not be suitable for groups of friends. No TV in the villa. Area is secluded and quiet, equipped with wifi in villa and also the world cafe, breakfast included - LOVE it very much, the chef cooks delicious meals and some more emphasize on food orientation and decoration, it really open up appetite. alacarte meals value for the price, their outdoor seafood grills are tremendous, a slice of fillet for one about 50-60RM. my wife love the cocktails and cocktails (she was a bit drunk during the first evening, haha). the bubu staff are very friendly despite some of them are just part timer. Food, room, service all good. Lower price will make the bubu villa eccelente and perfectto.

Room Tip: can choose villa no2 (new type) for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank endo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your review! We are extremely glad that you loved your recent stay at BuBu Villa. Thank you for the detailed description and compliments. We constantly listening to our guests on their experiences with us. We hope that we will see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Bubu Villa as a group of six (3 chalets) and had an amazing stay there. Absolute recommendation!

+ Stylish, clean chalets with outdoor showers, AC, comfy beds and daily servicing
+ Amazing restaurant on the beach with friendly staff and great food (especially for dinner, make sure you try the cashew nut curry)
+ Smooth transportation arrangement by the local management
+ Beautiful beach right in front of the villas, nice snorkeling and great diving around the island (check out turtle Bay divers!)
+ Free Sunbeds for hotel staff on the beach
+ Daily (!) two free cocktails and canapés during the happy hour, served on the beach
+ We got to see the new Chalets which are currently being finished, we might actually come back to stay there!

o The including breakfast buffet is a bit simple compared to the overall luxurious approach. There is a wonderful Italian espresso machine for great cappuccinos and you can order fresh omelets & eggs. Other than that it's toast and jam, some fruits and salad (?).
o There is a bunch of backpackers and budget restaurants and shops on the beach. A lunch alternative at best, but not comparable to the food at bubu...
o Several tour operators in the beach offer snorkeling trips or other beach activities, we went scuba diving daily and didn't try those out.
o One of the beach bars around has daily fire shows and a little party vibe going on, now for one night or two.

- The music of the mentioned beach bar is quote loud and might be disturbing for noise sensitive folks. It was no problem for anyone in our group though...

We loved bubu, for us it was worth the money and we would be happy to come again!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank KCoookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your review! We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at BuBu Villa. We are constantly listening to our guests and their valuable feedbacks. We will look into the breakfast buffet and try to improve the spread. Thank you for your recommendations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We've been at bubu Villa (former worldcafe) already twice. On our Honeymoon (we did a round trip) we only stayed a few days. We loved it-so we came back this year for ten full days enjoying perhantians. Great an spacious rooms. Very clean and comfortable especially compared to all the other accomomodations at perhantians. Increadably kind service and awesome Food. The best restaurant on both islands. We sit at the beach enyoing perfect seafood Barbecue with good chosen wines. Bubu Villa organised an individuall trip to a secret beach for us. Two bottles of champagne, grilled seafood, white sand, clear water, beautiful nature and nobody else. It's not popular tourism (apart of many backpackers at long beack-going along with beachparties at night) - but if you search for special vacation at beautiful landscape with individuall possibilities it's perfect. Try a Cocktail at the umbrella bar and send greetings to Jimmy by Nora & Philipp (the ones that bought all the coconuts) - many thanks to the Team of bubu Villa - we will come back for sure! Entrapped in paradiese (Germany-Hamburg)

Room Tip: Chose bubu villa Not bubu Hotel/resort -best rooms (4,5,6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your review! We are extremely glad you loved our villas enough for a second visit. We hope that your visit to the Perhentian Islands will be like a honeymoon experience each time and look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at the Villas for several nights in April having booked ahead to secure our room. We got a transfer from Kota Bharu airport and were duly met on time. After transferring to a boat at Kuala Besut we arrived at the dock at the opposite end of the beach from our resort and carried our bags to BuBu before eventually having someone guide us to the Villas. The rooms are very nice with outside showers and a lovely dark hardwood construction. The restaurant does a decent menu of Western and Malay dishes and has a nice breezy outlook to the sea. Our major complaint and disappointment was after sundown when the beach bars a few doors away start playing thumping music at high volume until the morning light (we found this happens every night, not just the weekends). Our first nights sleep was woeful - fortunately we moved rooms and so were able to retreat from the noise a little but we still needed to use some top quality ear plugs to have any chance of sleeping. We did inform the staff but of course there is very little they can do, I have to say though that had I known in advance it would have been so bad I would have probably booked accommodation on Besar rather than Kecil, certainly considering this is one of the higher priced options! It's a shame that the bars and backpackers seem to have become so entrenched here because it spoils what would otherwise be a lovely tropical beach. As many have commented the beach suffers from trash from people using the beach irresponsibly which is a real travesty, it does rather compromise the paradise beach persona. In conclusion if you don't mind boozy revellers, loud music until dawn and a bit of mess you will be fine but if you have a different agenda you may be disappointed as we were.

Room Tip: Villas 5 and 6 are furthest from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Basemess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We thank you for choosing BuBu Villa for your recent stay at Pulau Perhentian Kecil. The local authorities have tried to clamp down some of these illegal business operators on the beach from time to time. And we will be upgrading our premise to buffer the noise through landscaping and introducing some sound-proofing structure. We apologize for any inconvenience caused and hope that your next stay with us will be a much pleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel is located at the end of the backpacker beach with loud music during the nighttime.
In the morning the breakfast was served at the sisterhotel in the opposite part of the beach.
It was a walk on a beach, filled with empty bottles, drunken sleeping people and garbage.
Of course it is not the Hotels responsibility - but honestly it is not a nice experience. And our opinion is that the Hotel is overpriced, because of the location.
Unfortunately we stayed on Village The World Cafe, while a lot of Building materials was delivered from a boat on the beach to a new construction behind the vilas. Our only view was the big ugly boat, and the workers transported materials from 6 in the morning until 6 in the evening.
The hotel offered no compensation - it really was disapointing !,
Anyway: the Vila of course was nice, wiht a outdoor bathroom.
Included in the room rate was afternoon cocktails from 17.00 - 18.00.
We had dinner in the restaurant 2 times - it was okay - but not a "waoo" experience
The staff was nice and helpfull - especially the german hostess.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We are aware of the unpleasant view along the beach and are constantly working with the local authorities to preserve the beauty of the island. We are constantly trying to improve and better our facilities and services. In fact we are undergoing some upgrading work at the moment and hope you come back soon to experience & write your feedback which we highly value. We thank you for your patience and hope that your next stay will be a much more pleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Kecil
0.3 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
666 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alunan Resort
Alunan Resort
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
251 reviews
22 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
937 reviews
1.9 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#2 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
1,010 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BuBu Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BuBu Villa

Address: Long Beach, Pulau Perhentian Kecil, Malaysia (Formerly Villa@The World Cafe)
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Price Range: £121 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BuBu Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BuBu Villa is an exclusive private enclave of 6 smart villa accommodations on Long Beach of Perhentian Island Kecil (Small Island). Pristine and secluded, nestled alongside a stretch of white sandy beach, guest accommodations offer a restful, airy ambiance inspired by local architecture with tropical wood furnishings, high ceilings and roofs thatched with nipah palm leaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BuBu Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing