We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food at Santai restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BuBu Long Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great food at Santai restaurant”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed on the other island and took a taxi to this restaurant. This was our best meal for the whole holiday. Relatively expensive, 700MYR, for 5 people but we all had 3 courses plus a bottle of wine and 3 cocktails plus juices. Seafood was fantastic.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sausageman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Long Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We are extremely glad that you had a scrumptious meal at our in-house Santai Restaurant. Should you visit Perhentian Islands again, you may also want to try dining at The World Cafe our in-house restaurant at our sister property - BuBu Villa which is situated at the other end of Long Beach Perhentian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    267
    113
    31
    25
See reviews for
111
299
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We really enjoyed our time for our honeymoon. Very relaxed with fantastic service, delicious food, and a beautiful and quiet beach. Breakfast was open for several hours and had a good variety of food. Buying food for lunch/dinner was quite expensive so nice for special occasions if you are on a budget and there are plenty of cheaper restaurants around the area. Two free drinks per person and a few snacks were available every evening which was a treat (from 5 - 6 pm if I remember correctly). The honeymoon suite was small but the bed was extremely comfortable, the room was very quiet, and the view was beautiful. The beach was a highlight with white sandy beach, stunning colors of water, and a reef that starts directly off the hotel's beach. All together, highly recommended for couples with a moderate budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JalalTarazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Long Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We are extremely glad that you had an amazing honeymoon at BuBu Resort. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you again on your many more anniversaries to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The Perhentian islands themselves are beautiful and remain largely undeveloped when compared to other islands. Surrounded by emerald green clear water and plentiful underwater life to discover.

The BuBu resort itself is small so not sure if it qualifies as a resort, maybe more of a hotel. However the rooms are good with comfortable beds and good a/c. Bathrooms are pretty basic and the to the rear of the main hotel it resembles more of a building site where they seemed to be in the midst of development.

Serious lack of sun beds, however this could spoil the idyllic look of the beach of more were added. We weren't too bothered not getting any but those who want a bed must claim them early in the morning.

The hotel's restaurant serves incredible food. Very good mix of local western dishes and also good selection of snacks to choose from. I had the surf and turf the first night which was perfectly cooked, the steak was one of the best I have had. I opted for the seafood platter the following night which was also amazing! Also between 4-6pm two free cocktails per guest are given complimentary which is lovely after a long days snorkelling or kayaking.

All in all I would say it was a very pleasant stay at BuBu resort. Lovely and helpful staff with good facilities for excursions/trips and a fantastic restaurant. Bad points could be the very poor wifi connection which can only be found next to reception is is far too slow to do anything productive on. Although the lack of wifi and also a tv in the room do make you appreciate the beautiful surroundings more...so maybe isn't such a bad thing!

Matt

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Long Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you had a pleasant recent stay at BuBu Resort and also enjoyed dining with us. We regret the internet service is unstable at times due to the telecommunications infrastructure on the island and partly due to the weather. We are constantly trying to improve our services to serve you better and are working with the relevant authorities to resolve the telecommunications limitations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Long beach in the Perhentians presents a dilemma....some of the accommodation is basic to challenging and one is a cut above the rest, Bubu. It sits in 2 parts of the beach one down the very end near the jetty and the other amongst the riff raff of scantily clad dwellings and routing but friendly locals at the rustic end. Sure it's room price is up there but it's not over the top by similar standards elsewhere in the world and it has its own quirky and original layouts designed by the owners...And you are in an exotic location, and you probably won't go there twice in your life. ( the Perenthians) Having eaten at both restaurants the quality and service is brilliant. Whoever they have in the kitchen at the moment are marvels and the waiting staff are very diligent....try the snorkelling out from the front through the jetty and out to the point it's as good as it gets. An underwater aquarium with an enormous range of fish....look at the little dark ones chasing fish 50 times bigger...David and Goliath. And I'm a scuba diver, here you don't need a tank! Bubu is cool, indulge!

Room Tip: Any room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Long Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We are extremely glad that you had enjoyed the food served at our Santai Restaurant and snorkelling at the Perhentian Islands. Thank you for the compliments and comparisons, we thrive to serve you better and appreciate your feedbacks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucarest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

When we were in search for a beach destination in Malaysia, we had received a recommendation for this hotel and this island and to be frank it was quite what we were looking for: clear, warm waters, postcard like landscapes, good snorkeling spot.

THE GOOD: The beach and the island itself are very beautiful. Waters are clean, just 50 m in front of the resort there is a very nice snorkeling spot. The Bubu Resort, despite the fact that many reviewers write "there are much better choices on the island" - well I do believe it is the best hotel on Perhentian...so if you want at least a certain standard of accommodation, Bubu is the choice. Rooms are clean. Staff is very kind and helpful. Breakfast is ok, enough choice if you choose to stay less than a week :) There is also some spa and massage services (do not expect the level of neighboring Thailand, tough...)
The best thing about this resort is the restaurant. Even if you can eat there without being a guest of Bubu ;), the restaurant had an important contribution to the overall experience. We eat every day only delicious food, and every day we choose a different meal. My wife said that the Tiramisu she had there was the best she ever tasted it, despite the fact that we are travelling to Italy quite often :) I had every evening a different kind of fish and sometimes the taste was just amazing.
Beachfront is also very nice. The sunbeds are free for the guests. Every evening, from 17.00, the guests receive at choice 2 free drinks, so if you count them as value, per room you get up to 40 USD daily in drinks :)

THE BAD: Rooms are basic. There is no TV or refrigerator (we did not miss it). Rooms need refurbishment, so does the furniture. If looking to the waterfront there is a fantastic view, in the back of the hotel the story is quite different. The noise coming from the electric generator could be herd all night long, so if you have trouble sleeping at night this noise would not help at all.. The bathroom is tiny. The area next to the hotel beach is not very clean. Close to the pier there are plenty of garbage, not to mention the pier itself looks like an abandoned construction site, with concrete and sand bags all over the place. Then, if the sand bags may be no danger for your feet, surely the rusty nails (hundreds of them) could be.
Any European will discover that most of safety standards they are use to are non-existent on the island. I am sure that simply local people are not aware of what may seem obvious for a Western; when pointing out some of the issues to staff it only made them raise their shoulders with a smile :) So take care when you step on the beach, also with the anchors in the water. During high tide you may not see them and thus becoming very dangerous to walk in the shallow waters.
At times the traffic of small boats can be quite intensive, and the peace is broken by strong motor noises. The rumble of the engines comes bundled with the nice smell of exhaust and gasoline...

THE UGLY: We had an unfortunate medical situation which had to be solved on the spot, I mean on the island. It was impossible to find a medic until next day (more than 30 hours later). Luckily, without getting into details, the situation got better next day, when finally a doctor could get to the resort. But if you are in an emergency situation, there is no one to help you there. Apparently there is a water ambulance available but if one cannot travel (like in our case) there is no qualified medical help on the island. We spoke with the hotel manager and he said they are thinking to bring a permanent doctor on the resort, but up until then...

Do I recommend this hotel? Yes, I do, for clear waters, the snorkeling, the food, the staff, the beach and the general atmosphere. But if you want a better standard, well I do believe you should look somewhere else than Perhentian. For us the price was correct, giving the fact that we were there in the peak season. Clearly there is a balance between the good and bad in favor of the good, so in the end we had a very good stay at Bubu (if we ignore the medical incident).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calator77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Long Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your overall stay at BuBu Resort. We hope everyone are in their pink of health. We deeply regret for the unfortunate medical situation. We will forward this matter to the Management for further action and also resolution with the relevant authorities. Thank you for sharing your views and suggestions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Nice and confortable hotel on a fantastic beach! We felt very welcome from the first moment and had a great and relaxing time there! The rooms are nice and very clean, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the whole atmosphere is relaxing and wonderful! The restaurant serves excellent dishes directly at the beach side (especially fish dishes can be recommended!!).
We also enjoyed the snorkeling trips - just amazing!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Long Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing stay at BuBu Resort. We highly appreciate the compliments and recommendations. We hope that you'll be back again next year to discover the Perhentian Islands further and hope your stay will be an even greater experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Price is very expensive for what you get. No internet (very very poor connection, I spent hours next to reception struggling to connect), no TV, no fridge... If you are a smart traveller, avoid this hotel, there are better options in the island (and much cheaper!). The only good thing is the location although note that you won't enjoy the sunset from that side of the island.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAlonsoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BubuResortAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at BuBu Long Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We deeply regret that you find your stay at BuBu Resort not worthy. The Perhentian Islands are still in their pristine conditions, therefore some infrastructure such as telecommunication is still very basic. Internet will be unstable due to this weak infrastructure and also weather conditions. There are other accommodations on the island to choose from in accordance to your preference, budget and travelling purpose. We apologize for any inconvenience caused
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Kecil
1.8 mi away
Alunan Resort
Alunan Resort
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.9 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shari-La Island Resort
Shari-La Island Resort
#5 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.3 mi away
BuBu Villa
BuBu Villa
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BuBu Long Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BuBu Long Beach Resort

Property: BuBu Long Beach Resort
Address: Pasir Panjang (Long Beach), Pulau Perhentian Kecil, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BuBu Long Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BUBU LONG BEACH RESORT, Perhentian Island Malaysia, is indeed a “trap” for the visitors who need to get away from it all. There is no escape… the blissful enjoyment and complete freedom of relaxation makes one feel entrapped… in Paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your BuBu Long Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bubu Long Beach Hotel Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Hotel Bubu Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing