We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best snorkeling ever Turtles sharks spotted ray's and we found Nemo”
Review of Maya Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maya Guesthouse
AMS
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best snorkeling ever Turtles sharks spotted ray's and we found Nemo”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We did not sleep in the resort but we did take the snorkeling trip with Matt, real nice and attentive guy that made sure everyone got to see the rare specimens and all got the under water foto ops.

Best 35 RM i spend all trip except maybe for the lobster BBQ witch was great also.

All digital files were provided for free.

When we missed the speed boat going to the mainland we ran in to Matt again and he took us out on his snorkel boat and help t us catch up with the very service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    18
    18
    6
    16
See reviews for
2
53
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

It was a pleasure to stay at Maya's during my trip in the Perhentian Islands. The room was big, with bathroom inside, for just 40 RM a night ! Also the food was amazing, the best milkshake on the island ! We took a snorkeling trip twice, half a day, for only 35 RM. I recommend this place with all my heart ! The staff was very nice and treated us very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dennda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

A lovely stay here for 3 nights with a 40RM bungalow with views straight out onto the ocean. Nice staff, great food and well priced. Be aware that many of the bungalows/resorts in Perhentians ar Muslim owned, and not all of them will let you bring alcohol into their restaurants, let alone buy it there. There are other restaurants to buy local rum and pricey tiger beers. Ham lovers, be prepared to settle for turkey bacon at breakfast, or for a taste of local start to the day, roti canae is a delicious flat bread with a curry dip. Try it with sardines, yes for breakfast! Coral bay is just that, no sand here and very shallow up to the pier, but good diving/snorkelling round the bay to the right near romantic beach. Do an evening shore dive to spot black tips, but be ready to hop out at the pier and walk back to the diverter centre with your tank on! Bungalows are very basic, but the views are magical and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Go for the beach front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights in September.
The bungalows are right on the beach and perfect if you want a quiet time to chill. They are basic but very clean (incl linen etc)
Maya is in Coral Bay, which is the quiet side - if you want to party go to Long Beach.
The food here is incredible, they have BBQ each night where you select your fish cut for cooking, and sauces, etc. and eat with tide approaching you feet.
Mann and Matt also do snorkelling trips for guests and others. It was a full day and incredible. Saw much more with them, than on other SCUBA diving trips I did in Perhentians.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shoegazer_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

After reading other trip-advisor reviews, we decided this was the place to stay in Coral Bay on Perhentian Kecil. Unfortunately, it was fully booked for the first 2 nights of our stay, so didn't get to stay here until the 3rd night, but it was worth it.

The room was 50 RM (malaysian ringget) which fitted within our budget of 50-100 RM. This got us a double room with ensuite bathroom, fan, and hot water at night (be aware that the Perhentian Islands are still relatively under-developed, so some places only have electricity from roughly 7pm through to 7am). Breakfast was not included at Maya. Of the 3 places we stayed in at Coral Bay, Maya was the nicest of the chalets, and probably the best value.

If you are expecting luxury, you are better off staying at the more 'resorty type' places on the island. These chalets (along with others like Butterfly and Senja) are just simple wooden chalets - nothing flash. They are designed for sleeping in at night, not spending all day inside - why would you anyway with the beach and snorkelling around? There is a cool little common area at Maya that you can chill out and read books etc in if you do get sick of the beach.

They do a great BBQ at night. Coral Bay is relatively quiet compared to Long Beach, so keep that in mind if you plan on partying. You can make the trek over the hill in around 15 mins, but take mosquito repellent. We didn't do the snorkelling trip with Maya, but it sounds like they all visit the same spots, so whichever operator you choose, definitely do the snorkelling trip - giant turtles, sharks, colourful fish... its great and was the highlight of our trip.

We also stayed at Butterfly Chalets and Senja Bay Resort, so check out these reviews if you like.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
19 Thank carla_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

It's a decent place and cleaner than some of the other dumps on this island, but it should have a lower rating. The staff wasn't that helpful and the room we stayed in was infested with ants. Still, it could be worse...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MangoShake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Having read the reviews we went to Maya. The rooms were pretty basic but the seafront chalet was ten feet from the water's edge at high tide. The staff were really friendly. The snorkelling trip (35MYR) was brilliant. The chalet was 100MYR. We actually chose not to stay here due to the lack of a safe and we went to Senja. The food was very good and we often came back for it. If you want a cheap chalet on a great beach, this coould be it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HalDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Kecil
0.9 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
615 reviews
2.5 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
625 reviews
2.4 mi away
Shari-La Island Resort
Shari-La Island Resort
#5 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#7 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Guesthouse

Property: Maya Guesthouse
Address: Coral Bay | Kuala Besut, Pulau Perhentian Kecil 22300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Maya Resort. Beautiful central location on Coral Bay, the 'Sunset side' of Perhentian Kecil. Four beach-front rooms, plus eight rooms fringing tranquil, half acre garden. All en-suite and fan cooled. 'Nightlife' of Long Beach just 10 minutes walk away. Nearby restaurants serving fresh BBQ fish plus local / western dishes. Adjacent Dive resorts with full range of PADI courses. Or there's snorkeling, boat trips, volleyball, jungle walks, reading, sunbathing...zzzz! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maya Guesthouse Hotel Pulau Perhentian Kecil
Maya Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing