We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Redang Island Resort
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This may have been a hotel in its hay-day, but describing it as such now would be stretching the definition. Whilst staff are pleasant, there is a total lack of management. Staff need significant levels of training in even the most basic of hotel and catering operations. Typical examples of defects in service: room not ready on arrival, when given the key room (two hours after theoretical check-in) room still had not been cleaned - linen unchanged; food service non-existent; clients had to clear tables themselves; pool surroundings, toilets and rubbish bins were not cleaned in the three days we were there; significant gecko droppings in pool toilets; rooms were without water for more than six hours; food was not kept warm; limited menu; beer was the only alcoholic beverage available; video films of dubious origin were shown on defective equipment; canned music seemed to be a demo of 40 sec clips - no tracks played in entirety - very frustrating! Limited access to the beach (work in progress). Chalets themselves were pleasant enough, they were clean with comfortable beds.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    43
    38
    23
    26
See reviews for
37
47
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I rate this hotel an average coz, neither its location nor the rooms are great compared to other resorts. If you are looking for a beach near or close to the hotel, then its a great disappointment.

You have to take 20min boat ride(at ur expense) to go to a long streach of beach where other resorts are located. Moreover, you have to stick to the boat trip timings for the rides. Hotel provides free transportation up to jetty (min 1km from hotel) if u book the boat from them else reaching jetty and back won't be easy.

Rooms are average & away from lobby. You have to take van ride(provided free by hotel) to reach room if u have bulky bags. Restaurant in the hotel is the only choice for food and the food taste is average again. I thought the only +ve in this hotel is perhaps, the service of hotel staff which I felt was great.

Given a choice, I would prefer other resorts on the long stretch of beach enjoying the beach at all times and taste the food from other restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajHar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rizal Y, Executive Assistant Manager at Redang Island Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your constructive review of our resort.

We acknowledge on your observations and we are continuously working to strive for further improvements in all areas towards achieving quality standards.

Works to enhance our beach facilities is our main priority this coming wet season and this will allow our guest to spend more time at our beach. New vehicles as well as a better outlook of the restaurant ambiance and menus are also part of our continuous improvements.

Thank you for your warm words about the service of the resort staff. We have extended your comments to the staff and hope this will encourage them to provide similar or even better services in the future.

Warm Regards

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

everything is ok, but the location of this hotel make it worst and pointless. for me, i came long way to this island to enjoy beach, beach wind, beach view and beach sound..

but this hotel have no private beach and no near to other beaches.. i spent 3 nights here and i felt pointless, and i cannot wait to go back..

u need to get shuttle bus, and they will droop u half way, and then u need to walk up and down hill about 750 meters to get the only public beach.. its sucks.. the nothing on the beaches..

its also very hard to get food, u need to call the transport if want to buy outside food, of course the hotel food are very expensive and sucks..

conclusion: Redang is the most beautiful island, but this hotel is bad because its located far from the beautiful of Redang island. so, go find the right hotel.

Room Tip: there no one good room here because the whole hotel are far from the attraction place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NazzAbdullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rizal Y, Executive Assistant Manager at Redang Island Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We thank you for your valuable feedback and the time taken to write your review.

Our resort is located 14 meters above sea level and our Seaview Room is overlooking the South China Sea. Beach is located at the foot hill of the resort and accessible via steps. Resort areas are secluded and only for our guest to allow privacy. We apologies that our location did not meet your expectation however glad to find that everything else is acceptable.

We will share your comments with our team to further improve and enhance our activities and level of services. We sincerely hope your sentiments would change and that we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Cheapest resort on island by far presumably due to it's isolation and distance from the other resorts. Staff are friendly but not very helpful or forthcoming with information. Snorkeling at marine park is great and you get 30-40 mins of snorkeling before the masses arrive from the other resorts. You can go to the beautiful white beach at the Tarras by signing in as a visitor at the gate but the resort staff won't tell you this. Get a transfer in the hotel van - 3 km. There are a couple of restaurants in the nearby village.

Service at resort is hit and miss. Some days room was serviced, some not. No towels in room on arrival. Sometimes pool towels available, sometimes not. Resort offers some activities but times are flexible - seems to depend on numbers. Only10-15 guests when I was there so very quiet but had pool to myself. This contrasts with Long Beach which probably had 800+ guests. Coffee and water (sometimes) available in outside area of restaurant.

Resort generally clean but room for improvement. Rooms spacious, beds comfortable, bathrooms tired. Pool area had a bit of litter that didn't get cleared away in the 3 days I was there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenCicada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Booked the resort and was keeping an open mind about the resort after reading some of the negative comments. Booked their all inclusive package.

Ferry terminal was an unpleasant experience as there are too many people and the jetty terminal is small. We had to "Q" to get our ticket, but lucky we have asked the resort to booked ours. There are not enough seat for everyone.

The experience at the resort is a different story, We had a great time here, knowing their location is poor and beach is small, the resort to me had done well in making their staff as their asset. A smile is always what you look for when travelling and there are plenty here. Snorkeling, Marine Park, Beach Transfer and Long Beach is a must for everyone. We only had to pay to Long Beach, others are inclusive. Meals time was good for us, the lady at the restaurant is always there to give us that smile. 4 Stops snorkeling boat was a bit crowded but we enjoyed it. Long Beach was fun, beautiful beach and nice restaurant. A lot of resort here and they place is crowded.

It was a good holiday and my hat off to the staff there. This is certainly a place for travelers who are looking for that quite place to stay and spend full day out at sea for activities. It is unique in its own way....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Nice and pleasant staff and location, well organized activities and restaurant. No internet connection officially broken but supposivrly doesn't exist at all.
The food was quite repetitive but they tried to combine Asian and western cuisine.
Some little animals around the resort and outside the rooms but it's normal being in a tropical forest.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

With so many not so pleasant reviews on this Hotel, you'd probably be surprised why we say it otherwise. Read on and you will know.
We (4 adults and 5 kids) arrived on the 1st Day of Hari Raya (or Eid Holidays). I had expected that being a very important festival or celebration for the Muslims, and all the staff in the Hotel were assumed Muslims, that the service would be rendered quite reluctantly. Reading all those previous reviews did not help either. To our pleasant surprise, they were all so friendly and accommodating. Yeah, always with a smile and helpful, throughout our 4D3N stay.
Yes, it does not have a nice beach, but it has a nice rocky formation with passages that give good pictures or photos by their beach.
And we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. Why?
1. The Marine Park is just RM10/pax and it is worth it. Besides the beautiful fishes all around you while you snorkel, there was this school of small fish, hundreds maybe thousands of them just at the jetty God knows what the were doing there altogether. Reminded me of the movie Nemo. And the most fascinating part for me is when they all simply surrounded me in one circle. I suppose I will remember this for life. This surrounding can easily happen again and again.
2. The trip to Long Beach was good too. Can spend the whole afternoon and nite there. yes, it's a happening place, probably good for young couples. But for those with kids (anxious where they disappear to) and those wanting more privacy, I would not recommend you to stay there. Day trip may be ok.
3. The trip to 4 island stops was also worth it. especially at Pulau Kenanga and Pulau Ekor Tebu. I did not know at Redang, after all these years, we could still find beautiful live corals there.
4. The fishing trip for all of us was also exhilarating, esp for the kids. Many of them caught fish for the 1st time in their lives. They were given the hooks and squid baits and taught how to detact fish was eating their bait. The best part is, we got 20+ at the size of an adult palm, and 2 at 4 times that size. Another good part - we could just bring back the fish caught, and let the Hotel Restaurant to cook for us - delicious indeed, esp when we were the one who caught them!
5. The Hotel did not have the facilities like a 5-star but it had enough and actually more than we had expected. You can play fusball for free unlimited time, and that was what occupied our kids time most of the time when were waiting for time. The food was ok, commensurate for an inexpensive dining, and surprisingly coffee, tea and drinks were just there for anyone, diners or not, no one will "bother". There's also karaoke for free at the lobby, clean swimming pool where our kids kept somersaulting, nice chalet facing the sea (ooh good!) and cheerful shuttle services.
6. The Hotel is very near to the jetty. And hence, getting to the boat is fast and easy and going to the Marine Park, we were usually among the earliest ones there. After about 1/2 hour almost having the Park on our own, then the crown came in, presumably from other parts of the island.
7. One person you ought to know when you are there is Puan Zura, who is in charge of activities for the Hotel guests. She is knowledgeable and professional. A very reasonable person.
8. All the staff we have encountered there are friendly and non calculative. They are generally quite accommodating.

Water problem? Not at all. Facilities in the room are satisfactory - good showers, nice balcony, nice beds, TV with Sports and FOX Movies among others, fridge, coffee making, iron, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SSLeongTripAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Redang
2.1 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
2.4 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Lang Tengah
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Sp...
#2 of 3 in Pulau Lang Tengah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
20.6 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
2.5 mi away
Redang Beach Resort
Redang Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Pulau Redang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redang Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redang Island Resort

Property: Redang Island Resort
Address: Teluk Siang | Redang Island, Pulau Redang 20190, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Redang Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the cliff facing the spectacular view of Teluk Redang, Redang Island Resort with its chalets nestled amongst the lush green foliages, offer a peaceful holiday where one connects with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redang Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing