We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best diving centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“The best diving centre”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This the best diving centre I have ever been. The course director Vincent Toh is very skillful and patient, providing me all the diving information catered for me particular with very detailed suggestion on how o kick off my career as a professional diver. Thank you so much Vincent and all the friendly staff in the Taaras beach and spa resort.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eric Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Eric,

We thank you for choosing us as your host during your recent trip to Malaysia. It is indeed a pleasure to receive your appreciation for our services and facilities. The Taaras Beach and Spa Resort is one of the most sought-after resorts in Malaysia and offers unique experience to the guests. We are glad that you enjoyed diving session with professional diver at our resort. The entire team is honored to receive your appreciation.

Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to serve you again.

Best Regards
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    453
    144
    81
    42
See reviews for
299
608
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were here in 2011 when it was called Berjaya & it was fantastic then & now is even better. The main attraction about this resort is the private beach. It's clean with powdery white sand & clear water. There is also another smaller private beach just next to the main beach that is separated by rocks. The staff speak English & are helpful. Food was great, as was the activities. It has one of the best day spa I've ever visited & I go to 3-4 day spas a year! Eventhough there were a lot of guests when we visited as it was high season the whole resort was quiet & peaceful. The resort, day spa, food & activities are not cheap but they are of a high standard.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for being our regular guest and inspiring us to motivate our performance through your delightful review.

Nestled on a private island of Malaysia, Taaras Beach & Spa Resort provides a perfect sanctuary to relax and rejuvenate. We are glad to note that you enjoyed the picturesque setting of our resort and were more than satisfied with our staff, food and service. We also offer fun-filled water sport activities as well as recreational options in the form of The Taaras Spa. We are ecstatic to know that you found the treatments offered at our spa centre at a par with your expectation.

We thank you again for your valuable patronage and feedback and look forward to hosting you again with another perfect stay experience.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

This is our second time back at the Taaras resort and we love it here! Situated on a stunning bay with pristine waters, Redang island where Taaras is located has one of the most beautiful beaches and my opinion comes from having visited Hawaii, the Caribbean, and the California coast.
The service staff at Taaras are extremely friendly and helpful, the food done well although I got tired pretty quickly of the food choices.
We hope to return soon to this slice of paradise in earth.
PS- we completed our scuba diving certification at the 5 star PADI dive center at Taaras and we loved our dive experience- the corals looked healthy and what a variety of corals and marine life !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenInMenloPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing us as your host during your recent trip and we sincerely appreciate your thoughtfulness of sharing your experience with us.

Tucked away on the East Coast of Tropical Malaysia, our resort serves as a perfect getaway destination for travelers. We are delighted to note that the services, facilities and products were at par with your expectations. We endeavor to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests through our rooms that offer latest amenities. The multi-cuisine restaurants in our resort offer international and regional specialties to satisfy the taste of our distinguished patrons.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope that you would continue to stay our valued patron.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This resort is simply just amazing! The resort itself is beautiful on its own! The service is excellent! Food is delicious! And most importantly, the beach is just absolutely gorgeous! Quiet, secluded white sandy beach with crystal clear waters, cut away from everything and everyone. Just great! If you need to run away from everything and be pampered, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip and for sharing your experience with here on this public platform. The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort is tucked away on the East Coast of Tropical Malaysia that perhaps makes it a perfect getaway destination for travelers.

We are glad to know that the services and facilities were at par with your expectations. We offer a range of accommodation options that feature the most modern amenities to fulfill the needs of our esteemed patrons. It is pleasure to note that you had a more than satisfying culinary experience at our multi-cuisine restaurant.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We would deem it a privilege to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The resort is on one of the best beaches we have seen travelling, with white sands and warm clear waters. The best thing about as well: there is no jetty, no boats, no gasoline in the water like in many other resorts… I hope they will keep it this way as it is one of the best features and give the beach view particular unique value. The hotel is quite nice, with cottages definitely giving better value for money than garden rooms, which are quite small and basic. The cottages are nicely done, with spacious rooms and bathroom, good air-conditioning, safe, two TVs, nice wooden decor. Really nothing to complain about. The pool is not really the best feature, but is good for kids. The beach bar is nice as well as the evening bar with good life music at the time. The restaurant is fine, but quite pricey if you have not paid the meals in the package. Staff and the hotel manager are very helpful and attentive. The hotel has its diving center, easy shuttle from the airport, it is 45min jungle walk from more touristy part of the island and 5min walk from some local restaurants which one can also try for a change. The beach is great for children as the water is quite shallow at the start of the beach. Snorkeling is rather ok with some large corals and fish next to the rocks on both sides of the beach, expect to swim some 5-10min to get to there. We really likes the place and we are definitely looking forward to come back!

Room Tip: Personally, I think garden and ocean view cottages are the best values for money. Garden rooms are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicDjuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at our resort and reviewing it extensively on this public platform. We are delighted to read about your pleasant experience and learn that you are looking forward to a revisit.

Located on a private island, Taaras Beach & Spa Resort is perfect to enjoy the bounty of nature in a tranquil ambience. The exquisite location of our resort is teamed with an array of accommodation options and amenities. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the in-room facilities of your room and availed of various services like transportation and diving center.

We thank you again for your patronage and sincerely appreciate your warm review. We look forward to hosting you again at our resort.

Thanks and Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwaz
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Very beautiful Hotel. We had the Bungalows and it was just perfect. Breakfast provides something for every taste. A scuba diving Center is in the Hotel. Pool is ok - but with this beach and the blue sea we did not need the pool. Free Wlan included.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

On the day we were going to leave the Taaras, my daughter said to me "Mommy, I don't want to go home. I really love this place and playing on the beach. I wish I could stay here". I couldn't help but feel the same way.
Our holiday didn't start off too well. Our flight to Redang was cancelled and we only managed to leave the next day. When I called the Taaras about the cancelled flight, they were so kind as to tell me that they wouldn't charge for the day since the flight was cancelled.
So we arrived in Redang the next day. A bit hazy at the airport but surprisingly clear at the resort itself. Guess the fact that the resort was at an inlet with 2 hills on each side helped to keep the haze at bay. Not only that, with its location, the crystal clear waters were calm and the kids could swim safely at the beach. The powder like sand felt so good between the toes. The private beach was nice and quiet with couples and small families. I met some acquaintances at the Redang airport on the day we left - they stayed at the main beach and shared that the beach was constantly crowded and noisy with hordes of tourists.
Our party of 3 families stayed at different room categories. We stayed at the oceanfront bedroom suite and that was so comfortable and clean. The amenities were aplenty and housekeeping came by twice a day so we always had clean fresh towels. The view out of the porch on to the beach and the sea cannot be more perfect. The others stayed in the oceanfront studio suite and hill deluxe suites and they were equally spacious and comfortable.
The staff were warm and friendly. Everyone from the reception to the restaurant to housekeeping. The recreation and activity center is manned by friendly staff and special mention must go to the boatmen who brought us snorkeling, turtle watching and fishing (especially Shafar/Shafan - can't quite remember his name). He went out of his way to make the kids happy, letting him see all the beautiful fishes and corals at the house reef.
We found the food range adequate and we loved the range of fresh juices for breakfast. Theme nights such as bbq nights ensured we had variety.
I went to the Spa for a massage and facial and it was heavenly respite after all the time spent out in the sun and sea. My therapist was considerate and always asked if I was comfortable.
It may seem like a lot of money for the packages but I thought it was totally worth it for the facilities, activities, private and quiet beach, friendly staff, luxurious rooms and professional management. Moreover I think it's more than fair charges keeping in mind that the island is closed 5 to 6 months of the year during the monsoon season.
I'm sure we will soon be back on Redang island and when we do, we will be staying at The Taaras.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at Taaras Beach & Spa Resort and sharing your stay experience. We express our gratitude for the review and are elated to know that our location in the picturesque setting of Radang Island captured your attention.

Taaras Beach & Spa Resort is one of a kind resort in Malaysia that provides ample opportunities to relax and rejuvenate. We are glad to learn that we have been able to excel your expectations in every department. Guest satisfaction is our topmost priority and we are immensely pleased that you could enjoy different facets of our services and facilities. We are overjoyed to know that you had a memorable time at our resort.

We thank you for the custom and would love to be your host again.

Thanks and Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Redang
1.6 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
2.1 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Pulau Redang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
20.5 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
20.3 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort

Property: The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Address: | PO Box 126, Main Post Office, Pulau Redang 20928, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘The Taaras’ is a bespoke Private Beach Residence, tucked away and hidden from the outside world on a small Island found just off the unspoilt East Coast of tropical Malaysia. Considered to be one of the most beautiful Island locations in the South China Sea, the Isle of Redang is home to our natural, yet stylish resort found on one of the most spectacular bays surrounded by one of the bluest oceans on earth. The resorts ethos is to provide a contemporary, barefoot luxury experience with warm Asian hospitality, remembered with a smile long into the future. The name of the property is derived from the Sanskrit word ‘TAARA’, meaning ‘Star or Apple of my eye’ as well as ‘Goddess of the Sea’ which are all represented and epitomised by our mermaid figurehead. The resort is managed by The Taaras Luxury Group, and was formerly known as Berjaya Redang Resort managed by Berjaya Hotels and Resorts. With the stylish suites and rooms, as well as a stunning five bedroom Private Villa perched high up on the cliff overlooking the ocean and resort below. The resort boasts commissioned furniture and bespoke photography of Redang Island and the landscapes of Malaysia. Each suite or room contains oversized beds and hand-picked linens and fabrics for your comfort. Most rooms and all suites have larger washrooms containing both bath tub and separate rain or monsoon shower (some with spa bathtubs looking out over the rainforest or the bay). Most residences have an outdoor balcony or verandah and our suites at the top of the cliff summit have spectacular views over the beach and ocean below. For clients who prefer or require further privacy ‘The Cliff Private Villa Bay & Sea View’, our private five bedroom residence perched high up on the cliff more than meets the requirements; private access, a Villa Host at your ‘beck and call’ as well as twenty four hour security; should it be a necessary requirement. The residence also enjoys a sixteen meter Infinity swimming pool, personal fitness room and both interior and exterior lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Redang Resort - Malaysia Hotel Pulau Redang
Berjaya Redang Beach Hotel
Berjaya Redang Beach Resort
Hotel Berjaya Redang Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing