We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome with beautiful view and sandy neat and clean beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome with beautiful view and sandy neat and clean beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The Taaras made our first honeymoon very awesome! Hotel staff was ver polite and did complimentary arrangements for honeymoon. . We stayed there almost 4D3N.
Room Condition: Our room was hill delux type. It was very neat and clean and well decorated room. room services are also available 24 hours.My wife liked the very much and me as well.
Taaras condition: Overall Taaras is very suitbable place to go for honeymoon other than any island in Malaysia. I will try to come again at Taaras. I would rather anyone to go to Taaras to enjoy their stay.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naveesh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you choosing our resort for your honeymoon and sharing the wonderful experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to know that you were not only pleased with our layout but also with our hospitality. Your appreciation of our special efforts and arrangements has motivated the entire team.

Once again, we congratulate you on your wedding and wish you an eternal wedded bliss. It was great to serve you, and we would love to welcome you and your better half again at our resort.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    439
    142
    76
    37
See reviews for
292
587
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is our 3rd visit with review to this beautiful island and resort. Our reason for returning to this place is cause of the lovely beach and resort. We booked our package as soon as we got the news that berjaya resumes their flight from Singapore.

We had a lovely time in garden suite the last round so this time we opt for one near the beach, where we had a terrible night sleep (weird noise and sounds). We were upgraded to a cliff seaview suite on 2nd night. We loved the unit which was airy and bright as compared to the garden suite. However, we had power trips late night and was promptly rectified.

The resort, however has changed for the worse. We had all 8 meals at the same restaurant and almost had the same buffet spread daily. They doesn't seems to change much. 70% ordinary Malaysia cuisine rather than international. If not for the full board package, I would have dine at the restaurant just outside the resort which I have given good review previously.

As compared to the last visit, the f&b was a total let-down. Lesser quality food, some don't seems fresh. Service was slow probably unstaffed and staffs are unwelcoming.

We really hope to see improvements in the restaurants the next time we return. Apart from all these, we had great time at the beach snorkelling, no jelly fishes this round and fantastic weather (we missed the turtles again). Oh yes, and the bellman Joe with the front desk staffs who are all still helpful and accommodating.

Tips: Bring along your snorkelling gears and head to the side of the jetty for fishes.

Room Tip: Cliff bay view at the corner where you can get full seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaypiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are honoured to have your regular patronage and receive your earnest feedback on Tripadvisor.

We understand the importance of food quality and assure you that we will do our best to improve the standards of our menu and provide a better dining experience. However, we are glad to know that our picturesque location and excellent accommodation option brightened you up. Your kind compliments will indeed inspire the entire team to upgrade their level of hospitality standards.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at our resort. We look forward to welcoming you soon with a more satisfying experience.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were in the airport of Langkawi before we left and I was reading some of the remarks he regarding the hotel. I stopped reading because I thought that it would not be like that.

We arrived pleasant, our stay was overall ok, but the food is TERRIBLE.
Lucky the beach and sea and rooms are very good, so that you forget quickly what you just eat.
Breakfast is ok, although I do not understand that there is no fresh juice. The scoop op ice cream was still in its dirty water in the morning while I was grabbing some muesli.
Lunch and dinner are a waste of time. Buffet is terrible, catering at beach is ok (don't order that in the evening it is not served as it is during lunch)
The evening beach restaurant is nice, great place but the food is NOT good (don't like saying disgusting)
For such a price, such a location they should be able to do much more.
We spend 3 weeks in three weeks in the whole of Malaysia, the food was great, the people are excellent.. so I don't see why the Taaras cannot do better that they do now.
The staff deserves a thums'up! They do their best to help you.
The only thing is the "i am sorry" . They make mistakes, we see that, but for *** sake, stop saying I am sorry all the time.
Mrs Marion (resp) was great. She helped us out.

I have never complained in one single hotel, this was the first time. Food is so important and the way they bring it is such a waste.
The restaurant right next door is fabulous. You don't need your high heels but its just what you expect of Malaysia.

If the Taaras aims for European standards, stop! You are in Malaysia.

Room Tip: Choose the Indi rooms, a little more up but so much more spatious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback that details the experience you had with us. We are glad to know that you were impressed with our location and service, but regret that we could not meet the same high expectations with our food quality. We understand the importance of a fine dining experience and assure you that we are in the midst of making amendments. We are certain that during your next stay, you will enjoy a par excellence experience, inclusive of a gourmet experience.

Once again, we thank you for your review and patronage. We hope you would visit us again and give us a chance to please you with all our offerings.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Pros...
Clinic had a good dr who diagnosed my sandfly bites and allergic reaction quickly and prescribed and dispensed meds.

Beach was nice... Nice sand, super clean , enough chairs, aqua clear water with some fish

Easy access to boats for diving

The gym was nice. Barely used. Tv's in the gym not working.

Room was clean and new like. We stayed in the hilltop building and it's far from the main area/beach so you can walk for 5 mins or take a buggy which is a bit of a hassle.

Cons...

Food and food service had lots of room for improvement. Beach bayu/all day Asean dining menu was lacking options. The pizza was terrible, the kids food was bad.. rubbery microwaved chicken niblits, the ketchup was rotten/spoiled. We struggled to find items we wanted to repeat and didn't want to try new items for fear for being worse than previous. Room service didn't bring forks until 15 mins after food arrived.. so it was cold. Frequently orders were taken and forgotten and on one occasion the wrong dish was prepared. The breakfast buffet is very basic and boring as they dont rotate the items. The food service needs an overhaul. Their computers were down some days so no bill was presented so we're not sure if they charged properly.

Room attendant walked into our room without knocking or ringing the bell and one of us was not dressed!

The pool was visibly dirty. The deep section had stuff floating in it and the whole thing was cloudy. Since the beach is fantastic it's a minor annoyance but I'd expect better from a quality establishment.




  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g5rishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your valuable input in regards to our strengths and shortcomings. Your opinion is highly valued and will be put forth in the next meeting.

The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort is an ideal holiday destination, where guests can retreat to the tranquility of nature. Though we are glad that you were more than impressed with our location, gym and rooms, we regret to learn about the inconveniences caused due to our food menu and service. We assure you that we will sort out the concerns that you have mentioned and provide a par excellence experience when you visit us next.

Once again, we thank you for your constructive feedback and look forward to welcome you with much improved hospitality standards.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I went there in April with very high expectations from the hotel, as I was told it was the best in Redang. Unfortunately I have to say that I was deeply disappointed after being there for 3 days. First of all. We arrived past 2:30 and our room was not ready. There were people still in the room we were supposed to stay at. We were given our room late in the afternoon, and we realized at night the A/C Unit was not working. We called the reception, and they said they did not have anybody to come to fix the A/C unit until the next day. So we had to stay in our room without A/C all night!The food quality was very poor and highly overprice for what it was. Two out of the 3 days we were there, they ran out of French fries, and Spaghetti pasta. The breakfast buffet was not up to a 5 start hotel standards. The food looked old, the staff did not speak english to order breakfast, the tea tasted like watery coffee. To summarize it, we ended up eating pizza and pasta most of our time there, as everything else did not taste good and the service at the restaurant was extremely slow.
We schedule a snorkeling trip and 20 minutes before departure they changed the destination for the trip and try to sent us on a different time. Finally, after arguing they gave us a longer trip, and did not charge us, which was nice at the return we had to wait for over 30 minutes for someone from the hotel to come and pick us up. Everything had an additional cost, the pool tables, the soccer table games, to rent a book, etc. Since the hotel is in a remote spot, you really have no alternative, but to eat and do everything there. A trip to the long beach cost 250rm one way, so know you are going to be there the whole time. They have some equipment for water sports that you can rent, they are bit pricey, but it gives you something else to do.
The positive side of the hotel is the location, the beach is gorgeous, and they keep it clean, there is a small spot for snorkeling in the hotel which was nice. They gym has a beautiful view of the sea, and the rooms are ok, not amazing, but they are ok.Redang has beautiful spots for diving and snorkeling, so it is definitely worth the trip.
So I would recommend visting Redang, but it may be a good idea to check to see for other hotel options.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a sea view room, the other rooms face some trees, so if you can the sea view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CamilaSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for checking in at our resort and sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. As much delighted as we are to receive your kind remarks about our location, we are disappointed to learn about the series of incidents that marred your overall experience. We want to assure you that experience such as yours is an aberration rather the norm and is regretted by the entire team. We have discussed the lapses with the concerned departments and assure you that similar incidents will not be repeated in the future.

Thank you again for your valuable patronage and feedback. We hope you would not judge us on the basis of your recent experience and give us another chance to prove our hospitality.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed for a week at Taaras after 4 days in Singapore. The location of this resort is fantastic and the beach one of the best I have ever seen. It definitely compares to the best beaches in the Maldives. Like most other reviewers we were also upgraded from a garden suite to one of the suites high up overlooking the bay. The room was very spacious with plenty of room for our two children. The only negative was that they had brought in a put up bed for my 7 year old but the sofa itself (not a sofabed) was used for my 5 year old and it was really hard and uncomfortable. I would definitely put a request in for two put up beds next time, there is plenty of room. The room was cleaned very well each day and there was always a buggy on hand to pick us up and take us to the pool and beach if we didn't want to walk down the stairs to the beach. I was very worried about the quality of the food given many of the reviews on here but overall the food when we were there was very good. There is definitely a lack of fresh seafood given they are right on the beach and I do have to agree that the service is dreadful. On several occasions the wine appeared when we had finished our main course and we were always chasing for one thing or another. The beach bar food was good but again service pretty slow and the buffet breakfast was fine for us but I understand other comments that it definitely isn't a 5 star buffet. There wasn't too much choice and it changed very little day by day. I was very impressed however with the staff in the dive centre. We are enthusiastic snorkelers and hired a boat for 3 of the days we were there to go out snorkelling and to do some fishing. I would definitely recommend this if you get bored on the house reef. It was amazing and Api, our guide, was unbelievable with our children, so encouraging and knowledgeable. Definitely ask for him! Overall we really enjoyed our trip to Taaras, the location and beach are truly amazing but be prepared for some slow service in the restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sparing your time in writing this review and letting us know of your pleasant experience.

Tucked away and hidden from the outside world on a small island found just off the unspoilt East Coast of tropical Malaysia, The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort is a perfect holiday destination. We are glad to know that you were impressed with the picturesque location of our resort as well as our accommodation options. Your kind remark about our diving instructor is a perfect testimony of his expertise and has been duly shared.

We have also noted down your concerns in regards to the put up bed and would ensure that your next visit with us is bereft of any such inconvenience. We also want to assure that we are in the process of amending our services and you would certainly enjoy a par excellence hospitality when you visit us next. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family soon.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here - check in was easy, tour on golf buggy good and then to the room! Which was very large and well appointed! The bathroom had large shower and bath (although my shower did leak across the floor - but not a major problem!) bed was very comfortable! I was in one of the rooms over looking the trees which meant it was very quiet and had a feel of seclusion about it!
The beach is one of the best I have been on - beautiful white sand, clear blue sea, comfortable, large wooden sun beds which could be moved in and out of the sun!
I found the bar and restaurant staff very friendly and did not have any problems with either! All staff were very helpful and friendly.
All areas were well looked after and very clean!
Excellent stay!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 707Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Redang
1.6 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
2.1 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#9 of 12 in Pulau Redang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
20.5 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
20.3 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort

Property: The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Address: | PO Box 126, Main Post Office, Pulau Redang 20928, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘The Taaras’ is a bespoke Private Beach Residence, tucked away and hidden from the outside world on a small Island found just off the unspoilt East Coast of tropical Malaysia. Considered to be one of the most beautiful Island locations in the South China Sea, the Isle of Redang is home to our natural, yet stylish resort found on one of the most spectacular bays surrounded by one of the bluest oceans on earth. The resorts ethos is to provide a contemporary, barefoot luxury experience with warm Asian hospitality, remembered with a smile long into the future. The name of the property is derived from the Sanskrit word ‘TAARA’, meaning ‘Star or Apple of my eye’ as well as ‘Goddess of the Sea’ which are all represented and epitomised by our mermaid figurehead. The resort is managed by The Taaras Luxury Group, and was formerly known as Berjaya Redang Resort managed by Berjaya Hotels and Resorts. With the stylish suites and rooms, as well as a stunning five bedroom Private Villa perched high up on the cliff overlooking the ocean and resort below. The resort boasts commissioned furniture and bespoke photography of Redang Island and the landscapes of Malaysia. Each suite or room contains oversized beds and hand-picked linens and fabrics for your comfort. Most rooms and all suites have larger washrooms containing both bath tub and separate rain or monsoon shower (some with spa bathtubs looking out over the rainforest or the bay). Most residences have an outdoor balcony or verandah and our suites at the top of the cliff summit have spectacular views over the beach and ocean below. For clients who prefer or require further privacy ‘The Cliff Private Villa Bay & Sea View’, our private five bedroom residence perched high up on the cliff more than meets the requirements; private access, a Villa Host at your ‘beck and call’ as well as twenty four hour security; should it be a necessary requirement. The residence also enjoys a sixteen meter Infinity swimming pool, personal fitness room and both interior and exterior lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Redang Resort - Malaysia Hotel Pulau Redang
Berjaya Redang Beach Hotel
Berjaya Redang Beach Resort
Hotel Berjaya Redang Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing