We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BDAY TREAT/ANNIVERSARY WEDDING AT WISANA”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Redang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wisana Village, Redang Island
Ranked #1 of 5 Pulau Redang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
KL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“BDAY TREAT/ANNIVERSARY WEDDING AT WISANA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

is a good location & accomodation, KAMPUNG FOOD, very quiet for relaxing, private beach & very clean but the WATER shower pressure IS VERY LOW....the staff very helpfull & friendly, will come again next year with family gathering........

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin2788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    51
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
60
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is a diamond in the rough. Whatever shortcomings the rooms have is made up by the remote and beautiful location. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is authentic and good. But best of all location, location, location!

Room Tip: the rooms are very basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

If you are looking to be away from the crowd, and wind down in a quiet, white sand private beach, Wisana is the perfect place.

The buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner is simply home-cooked delicious you can't help going for additional helping. Loved their spaghetti, potato and french beans (this is coming from a person who don't touch beans) :D

Downside: the room is a tad run down, the towels have stains but trust me, the magnificent seaview and the yummy food more than compensate the little flaw.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiger-darling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I almost don't feel like reviewing Wisana because its so off the beaten track and wonderful, I want it to stay as is.
Offering simple, no frills accommodation, you can't really call Wisana a resort. It's more like a home-stay, with wonderful staff who treat you like family. All the rooms are practically on the beach and that in itself is priceless.
All the rooms are airconditioned. We stayed in one of the terrace rooms, which is the cheaper option. The rooms are clean and simple, equipped with 2 double beds and perfect for quad sharing. The bathrooms are also functional and basic. One can start listing out all the areas of improvement but then you've just totally lost the plot.
And this is where I come to the pièce de résistance...the beach. Simply put, it is stunning. Think white sands, turquoise waters and hardly any people. Perfection. Honestly, this was one of the most amazing beaches I have ever visited. Words can't do justice to it. We spent entire days just chilling out in the lovely lounge section which over looks the ocean and literally letting our eyes repair. Conversation just isn't needed here.
Wisana is a boat ride away from the main long beach so its essentially isolated. Come here for complete R&R. If you are inclined to do some activities, you can organise a "private" snorkelling tour. We went for 2 and saw some amazing sea life - turtles, reef sharks and clown fish being the highlights. The neighbouring resort has a dive school which we heard was pretty good for experienced divers. But apart from that, there isn't much else to do.
The food is offered buffet style and is a good mix of Malaysian and psuedo-european cuisines. Quite yum. Tea, coffee and juice are available throughout the day. The resort doesn't sell any snacks or bevarages, but there is a small shop in the next resort which has the basics. Also, Wisana is alcohol free, so if you feel like having an evening tipple, best bring your own stash.
Wisana, is not for the faint of heart or those looking for 5-star luxury. It's all about going back to the basics and not wasting time on creature comforts. In the main communal area there is a TV and intermittent wi-fi, but all you will want to do is disconnect. Getting there comes with its fair share of obstacles and till we reached, we weren't sure if we would make it. But at the end of the day if you want a simple holiday where you just bask in the glory of nature, this is it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadazoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at Wisana in April for 3 nights and it was a beautiful place. The sand is powder white and the water is an amazing turquiose. The staff were lovely and the food was really good too. We had our 3 year old daughter with us and she learnt to snorkel there. We would highly recommend Wisana and would stay there again if we went back.

There isn't really reef close to the resort but snorkelling around the nearby rocks I still saw a back tipped reef shark, and a stingray.

The best thing is that sea turtles swim just off shore so by swimming out only 20-100m off shore we found turtles every time.

The resort doesn't have any equipment for hire so make sure you bring your own snorkel, fins and mask. Also it is worth doing one of the snorkelling day trips which is booked by the resort so make sure you bring money for this.

By Australian standards, a lot of the reef that we saw around Redang wasn't as colourful as home and the fish variety not as great but it was still really nice.

Our blog and links to photos are here

http://www.cedavril.com/may-the-fourth-be-with-you-from-malaysia

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sphincterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have never written a review on TripAdvisor before, but we had such a wonderful stay at Wisana that I feel I must share the experience.

We were looking for a beautiful, peaceful setting in which to unwind. Wisana provided exactly this. Approaching the resort on the boat, we were astounded by the unbelievably clear sea and white sand. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the kind and friendly staff who made our stay such a treat. We stayed in a room on the terrace for 7 nights and enjoyed the hot sunshine, swimming and snorkelling in the sea, and eating the delicious meals prepared by the chef on a daily basis. We were even so lucky as to witness a turtle laying its eggs on the beach on our very first night!

This resort is by far the quietest on the island, and we appreciated how respectful the guests were of each other. We enjoyed getting to know some of them at meal times and on snorkelling trips. If you prefer to keep yourself to yourself, however, this is also the perfect setting to do so.

We were so sad to have to return to England! Many thanks to all the wonderful people who make Wisana such a beautiful place to visit.

Room Tip: Book a chalet if possible, but the terrace was completely adequate. It doesn't matter about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbso
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Wisana is one of those places you dream of when you are planning to make an escape to paradise. Located in a kind of a wild beach in the coast of Redang, is the only hotel in the Island not overcrowed by chinese tourists. Do not expect a luxury stay. Actually, its charm comes from its rustic decoration and its "making the most of everything" philosophy. The beach is absolutely amazing, cristal turquoise waters and white sand. There is a surprise waiting for you there: the turtles swimming right in front of your room. You can see dozens if you get into the water and swim about 20 metres.
Every room is on first line of the beach so that you put your feet in the sand every time you get out of them. The nicest ones are the chalets. The decoration inside is cute and tasteful. The beds, linen and pillows very comfortable. And the air conditioning works perfectly. There is also a water heater in the bathrooms, although the WC is the worst part of the rooms.
There is no room service during your stay but you always can take a broom and get rid of the sand that usually gets inside.

The cuisine is Malaysian style and, personally, I found it delicious although sometimes it was a bit escarcy. They seemed to run out of fruit several times and if you do not arrive early to the restaurant to have lunch or dinner the best courses had nothing left.

The Wisana staff is lovely and very friendly, always smiling at you and trying to do their best to make you feel comfortable.

I would recommend you to book a private boat to get to Wisana from Kuala Terengannu or, if the flight schedule fits in your plans, fly to Redang Airport with Berjaya Airlines. Taking the ferry to the island was not a good idea. It was crowed, delayed (what seems to be a constant) and it took too long.

Globally I would say it is a very worth staying place, the best one in Redang and its surrondings (including the Perhentian Islands and Pulau Lang Tengah). If you dream about the paradise, and you don't like noisy places and enjoy nature and the sea, just go there. I am planning to come back as soon as I can....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ikebana75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Redang
2.1 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
1.4 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#9 of 12 in Pulau Redang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
1.4 mi away
Redang Bay Resort
Redang Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Redang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Redang Derimba
Redang Derimba
#4 of 21 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisana Village, Redang Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisana Village, Redang Island

Property: Wisana Village, Redang Island
Address: Teluk Kalong, Pulau Redang 21090, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as a 'home beach resort', Wisana Village, Redang Island is a seafront heaven. Located in a private beach of Teluk Kalong Kechil, which is known for its white sandy beach, crystal clear waters and panoramic views of neighboring islands. Only 10 rooms available with in-house cafe and can organize daily excursion within the island. A place for a peaceful moment and to get even closer with nature. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing