We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice holiday at a nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redang Holiday Beach Villa
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Almost all resorts on Redang island offer holiday packages and Redang Holiday had the best package that we could get for 4D/3N for 5 pax. We got picked up from the bus terminal and got dropped off at Chinatown in the early hours of the morning before the driver brought us to the ferry terminal. Upon arrival at the resort, we were given 2 quad rooms (instead of 1 double room and 1 triple room) in the new wing of the resort so we had more space. The mattresses were relatively new and very comfortable, the room had all the basics and was clean so I was more than satisfied. The toilet and one tap had brown water, but the shower and the sink tap had clear water. We think that they have 2 separate systems: filtered water for shower/brushing teeth, unfiltered for flushing, which is fair enough as to save wastage.

Meals were provided buffet style. On our first day there were a few hundred people lining up for every meal but luckily we had more peace and quiet on the remaining days. Food quality was alright, as well as the amount that you could get. They also provided drinks all day long so we didn't have to worry about buying bottles of water to rehydrate ourselves after a long day on the beach or in the sea.

Location of the resort was fabulous, at the very end of a long stretch of resorts and the beach had soft sand and crystal clear water. Totally awesome. We also went snorkeling in the same area, which had many corals and fishes so close to the resort.

The staff was very friendly, on the island as well as on the mainland. They provided assistance where required and were making sure that their customers are happy. On our last day, we made arrangements with the resort office people to pick us up from Kuala Terengganu town and drive us to the airport as our flight was only in the evening. Again they were very helpful.

As for Redang island, we had a nice holiday at a nice resort. The island definitely has all that a tropical island has to offer. But avoid public holidays unless you don't mind snorkeling with ten people per square meter or fighting for your food. I prefer Perhentian island though as it's still less commercialised and thus offers a more authentic feeling of island life.

What do I like best:
- clear water, millions of fishes just outside the resort, long stretch of beach
- good mattresses and clean pillows
- awesome view of the island from the top of the hill

What do I like least:
- too many people for every meal (it was a public holiday weekend)
- having to pay for your snorkeling gear (it should be included in the package)
- Chinese music or techno during dinner time (it ruins the ambiance totally)

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JIG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2008

Went there with 3 of my old chums expecting good things.Dissappointed to the core.We were given the worst available room There was nothing in the room except 2 mattresses place on the floor , not even a bed! No dressing table , no wardrobe , no toiletries except a bar of soap , no towel either.The water was brownish...don't look into the toilet bowl , it looks scary!The room was facing the generator room 5 metres away.It roared all day long spewing carbon monoxide.Tried to talk to the manager but got threatened instead.I have never met a more rude resort manager!Food was terrible.They even ask you to carry your own utensils after meals.
While having lunch , somebody nicked our life jackets and snorkelling gears.We reported to the management but got scolded for being careless! Instead of helping us look for the gears , they chided us and reminded us that any loss or damage to snorkelling gears warrant a RM100.00 penalty!
Don't ever go to this resort unless you want to be punisehd for your sins!There are many other resorts nearby like Ayu Mayang , Redang Bay and Laguna which are much much nicer.Redang Holiday Beach Resort is the worst resort in the world!!!

Stayed: May 2008
Thank paklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2008

Our first problem started when we arrived at Kuala Terengganu airport. Our transport is nowhere to be found, so I had to call the hotel office asking for it. It turned out the driver just waited 50 meters from the entrance of the airport. We're not sure why.

Then we got to the transfer ferry with an awkward silence in almost 30 mins journey. Once we arrived at the island, there was no jetty as it was ruined by tide. So we had to actually walk in the water, so half of our pants got wet.

The reception really made our holiday ruined. We were up since 4 am to catch the morning flight so we could get in the morning ferry. But when we arrived around 11 am, our rooms were yet to be ready. It should have been cleared since most people has checked out to board the same ferry that brought us in. Even the front desk person could barely understand English or Malaysian language. It turned out that most of the local workers were on holiday (this is during school holiday) to attend their family wedding, etc.

Thank god, the room we took was spacious enough for 4 adult 2 children. The room is meant for six adult. It has a mezzanine floor within the room. There was no TV. Well, to be expected for lower star (3 and lower) island resort. The chalet is made of timber and have a scenery to die for. We could see the incoming boats and even a cruise ship parked offshore. The environment is tranquil with the chalet is placed between shades of trees. But it was bit of a hike to get to the chalet as it was situated at the hillside.

The food was not good as expected for the full package price we paid. If u re late, there's very little food left. It was a dread eating there and unfortunately unlike perhentian you cannot eat at other resort nearby as they have to cater for their guests.

At nite the beach comes alive with resorts competing to have the loudest disco. It stops quite late around 12. I personally did not like it as islands are place to relax.

All in all, it was good room, bad service and decent food.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xyzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2007

Had a totally difficult time trying to find reservation, since I went during our National Day. Thought of booking at Laguna but they took such a long time to revert back to me. So finally I got a booking at Redang Holiday Beach Villa. We got the new villa which was very very disappointing! It was sooo unfurnished. Even the basic necessity, the WARDROBE, was not being placed. And since we have two double beds in our room, we made use of the other double bed to lay out our clothes. The bathroom water was also very brown. Don't even ask me why it's like that. But the service was pretty good, anyway. Always obliging and never fails to put a smile on their faces. The food was excellent. Totally excellent! Really enjoyed my time there. The only setback was our resort was at the far end, so it's kinda hassling to venture out and visit the shops near to Laguna Redang. Spent my whole time snorkeling and it's simply the best. The guys that took us out there loved entertaining us with the boat rides. I'm really happy with this trip. Spent five days there but it still wasn't enough. The beach... WOW! ;p

6  Thank sweetderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2007

After a fabulous two-week stay in Tuna Bay Resort (Pulau Perhentian), we booked one night for two in the Redang Holiday Beach Villa (take then the plane back to Singapore with Berjaya Air).

Having paid the double of the price as in Tuna Bay (there we had a Beach Bungalow 10 meters to the water for 290 RM/night), we expected even more luxury and closeness to the water...

But this was not the case... The bungalow situated high in the forest above the rocks (part of the five semi-D bungalows up there) was in the middle of rainforest, quite nice actually but very dark inside... Compared to Tuna Bay the equipment/furniture was spartanic... (no safe, reading lights not usable to read a book, no ashtray, minimal bath equipment, not enough shower towels, no soap or similar, no complimentary welcome water bottle...) and this all for 490 RM for two one night...

The only positive point in the whole thing was we could see monkeys and squirrels close to our bungalow!! And actually, the place and real estate would be fantastic to realize a go business, but short term gains seem to be there the focus. Even the restaurant and bar could have a good ambiance, but you feel like in a low-cost canteen... terrible.

If somebody still wants to go there... avoid week-ends imperatively and negotiate the price (we had to pay 140 RM on the top for the transfer to the airport, a multiple from that it would have cost in Perhentian). But the business from KL and Singapore is easy money here, so don't expect something special.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carmaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2006

Resort is in dismissal.
Awful food, no choice!
Choose other resort, or another island!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Garghenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2006

I booked this place based on its own website and cliffside location and ignored the fact there weren't any independent TripAdvisor reviews to consult. Big mistake! The "villas" looked great from their own website but apart from the location everything else was pretty disappointing on arrival.

The interior of the rooms were sparsely furnished, with frayed towels and no toiletries beyond soap and toilet roll. The service was non-existent - the room wasn't serviced once during the first few days of our stay. We had to ask for it to be serviced on the last day, prompted by a rat or mouse scavenging the contents of the litter bin during the night. As for the food, breakfast, consisted of toast/ rice / noodles/ fried egg/ some kind of unidentifiable protein and make-your-own instant tea or coffee. Presided over by a handwritten poster declaring "Don't waste food!" and another asking you to take your own utensils back to the kitchen.
We didn't bother with lunch or dinner here but ate at other places.

I guess all this would be okay if we weren't paying too much, but we were paying US$160 night (incl transfers and "breakfast"). I belatedly checked some other prices on the island and discovered we could have stayed at the high-end Laguna Resort for less! So, more fool us for paying this much and caveat emptor to everyone else...

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrcox79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Redang
0.5 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,053 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,339 reviews
2.7 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Pulau Redang
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
0.2 mi away
Redang Pelangi Resort
Redang Pelangi Resort
#4 of 12 in Pulau Redang
208 reviews
21.8 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redang Holiday Beach Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redang Holiday Beach Villa

Address: 35 Jalan Bandar, Pulau Redang 20100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
Hotel Class:3 star — Redang Holiday Beach Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redang Holiday Beach Villa is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Spectacularly located at the edge of a beautiful lagoon, Redang Holiday Beach Villa is the most picturesque and charming of the resorts on Redang Island. Built of beautiful local hardwoods, the traditional rustic Malay style architecture of the resort is almost camouflaged into the island's lush green interior. Each of the air-conditioned rooms has its own private balcony and en suite bathroom. Just a stone's throw from the resort beyond the beautiful powdery white sand, you can enjoy snorkelling or scuba diving in the crystal clear warm waters teeming with rainbow coloured fish and spectacular coral. In the evenings you can sit out on the verandah over the water and enjoy a quiet, cool refreshing drink as you watch the evening sunset hues of amber melt into the darkening tropical sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Redang Holiday Beach Villa Hotel Pulau Redang
Redang Holiday Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing