We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Redang Reef Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Redang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Redang Reef Resort
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Cleanliness of the area was pretty good, they have a separate dining area for dinner time - no wet clothes or footwear are allowed so that guests will stay dry and clean. Room was very very basic and sparse: hot water, air conditioner, 1 queen and 1 single, 1 bedside drawer, 1 table and chair. Toilet space is large and has a strong powered hose to easily wash the sand away on the floor, very useful. So amenities wise, it is clean but not for fussy hotel pickers, due to the sparseness and lack of decor. But it is perfect for the easygoing budget traveller. Facilities are pretty sparsed but they do have a pretty well stocked provision shop.

Service was good, one time we woke up too late for dinner after what was supposed to be a quick nap. The waiter went into the kitchen and came back out with two plates mountain high with heated leftovers which we were pretty grateful for. There doesn't seem to be any unfriendly staff! At least, we didn't encounter any. Food was hearty, warm and yummy, fresh fruits are served daily along with free flow of water/juice. The supposed 'barbeque' mentioned by the brochures and itinerary never happened for us, and when we casually asked our guide he looked away and went, "Ya, ya, tonight bbq." So don't keep your hopes up for that one! Though we didn't mind that much as the normal food fare was good enough for us already.

However the biggest draw that we really enjoyed about Redang Reef Resort was the atmosphere and especially the location.

Aside from the twice daily snorkelling trips out (we saw some spectacular fish and the marine park's friendly local eel but don't expect sting rays or giant turtles!), due to the resort's location, they also had a quiet hidden reef at the back of the resort. Not many guests will snorkel there but it is definitely worth an hour or so of leisurely exploration. We saw the usual parrotfish and sea cucumbers, along with colourful coral, clownfish, sea slugs, and lots of other little delightful creatures. There is no charge for this and you can go as long as you wish at any time of the day (high tide is recommended - in low tide the slippery moss rocks expose themselves and it is easy to slip or cut your foot). This reef is fronted by a quiet 'kampong' like area with pavillions, hammocks, deck chairs and easy swaying palms. Perfect for an afternoon snooze or a stargazing session at night, the breezy area quickly became our favourite relaxing spot. The main beach that the resort is on is not as crowded/noisy as the one further up north, which houses the more expensive resorts = large tour groups and families.

Thus the best parts about our experience at Redang Reef Resort :
1) The private reef
2) Our little kampong right outside our bedroom door
3) The clean, gorgeous and quieter main beach it was located on

You can view videos of our stay here, mostly showing the resort grounds and the beach:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yw4eQ_A4sAU
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yqZsBlgo-Ag
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NonhYiq4zAA

Those looking for facilities such as wireless internet, international phone service, and entertainment centres should look to other hotels! Definitely recommended for those who are budget, easygoing with amenities, okay with low maintenance chilling out, and planning to spend more time outside the room than inside.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nartlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    35
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
11
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2009

As we were on a budget we didn't expect it to be the fanciest of places, but compared to other places we've stayed for the same price it's was way below average. The rooms were very basic, food was poor and there was a general lack of atmosphere in the place. On the plus side the guy running it was very friendly and extremely helpful. The island was beautiful and the scuba diving top class but would recommend you stay down the road at Laguna Beach!

  • Liked — Scuba diving
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oztoothfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pulau Redang hotels

Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2008

I love the atmosphere, just like at home...good food, great service, excellent instructors who helped us to overcome fear during snorkeling...however, i wouldn't recommend to those who plan to relax there as the rooms were below average....if you're there to snorkel, dive, swim, etc, and most importantly, on budget, go Redang Reef!!!

  • Liked — homey atmosphere
  • Disliked — slightly smelly bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2008

redang reef resort is really a nice place to stay:) well, definitely its accommodation couldn't be compared to high class resort nearby like laguna, but overall I'm very satisfied with the services provided. The snorkeling experiences was great. The snorkeling guides there were really nice and really take care of travelers who couldn't swim. They were really nice, friendly and passionate for their job, especially a diver named A-MEH. :) The food prepared was all local food, but they just nice. Other than that, it's one of the cheapest resort in Redang island!
Redang island is a wonderful place to go! Enjoy ur time there:)

  • Liked — friendly service
  • Disliked — not much facility
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fish_riveris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2007

Our group of 26 (inclding 2 infants & 2 kids) stayed in Redang Reef Resort, Redang Island from around the 12 to 15 June 2006.

Speed boat was quite normal but only two escape route (through the front and the back only). Too big size people are not able to enter the boat.

Resort rooms were OK. Couldn't expect much. No TV but it was air conditioned, with hot shower... but during our stay, something happened and there wasn't any water supply for the entire three days of our stay there.

The staff couldn't give us an explanation why this had happened. Containers of water (which wasn't really enough) was given to us (one container per room) with a pail of sea water to flush the toilet bowl.

The staff also provided a room for the entire resort to shower but you have to walk quite a distance to get there. And since we had two old participants, we had to book the nearest hotel which was Laguna and was almost fully booked. Imagine how the old participants take that heavy container of water to bathe.

And it seems to be one man managing the whole resort on the island with few other staff. And it also seems that the workers at the souveniour shop will close the shop during lunch/dinner time to help out at the restaurant. (or maybe you call it cafe? or makan area [eating area])...

We will definately not stay in this resort again in case they run out of water or their pipe burst again.

  • Liked — Nothing. Probably the food? Which was quite normal..
  • Disliked — No water supply during stay. No internet service.
  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebastianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Redang
0.6 mi away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#10 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
31.1 mi away
Laguna Redang Island Resort
Laguna Redang Island Resort
#1 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
32.4 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 mi away
Redang Island Resort
Redang Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Pulau Redang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
31.3 mi away
Redang Pelangi Resort
Redang Pelangi Resort
#5 of 12 in Pulau Redang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
31.5 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa - Redang Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redang Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redang Reef Resort

Property: Redang Reef Resort
Address: 167 Jalan Bandar, Pulau Redang 20100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Redang Reef Hotel Kuala Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing