We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value For Money!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tarisa Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mont Choisy
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value For Money!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Before writing this review please bear in mind that Tarisa is a 3 star hotel with prices much cheaper than other 4-5 stars Hotels in Mauritius. So if you are looking for value for Money Hotel i seriously recommend it. To begin with it has everything you need for a holiday , Calm and relax environment, swimming pool, spa & massage centre , a perfectly calm beach with free sports activities for Guests at Tarissa hotel and last but not the least Tandoor restaurant. If you are an indian and staying in Mauritius for a week or more you do miss indian food. And Dinner in Tandoor restaurant is cooked like home with no spice and masala. You will not miss india for your duration of vacation.
Staff were cordial and they do take your requests even though it may seem they are more biased to foreigners than indian. Only thing we missed there was that there is no Room Service. So if you need to bring food to room you got to pick it up yourself and than leave it back to restaurant. Now that didnt bother us too much as we used to eat outside most of the times.
Second issue is with the location. It is at Mont Choisy beach which is pretty quite and 3-4 kms from the happening place Grand Baie. You get everything from food to medicines in Grand Baie. But at Mont Choisy beach you are completely dependent on Hotel . Now to go to Grand Baie it takes 400-500 MUR by taxi . This was a bit problem for us when we decided to stay back at hotel.
But really at Modest Room rate and relaxing environment, i would rate Tarissa as 4 out of 5 because we got more than we expected from 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Try to take Ground floor rooms which have garden too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankkydoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    288
    91
    49
    54
See reviews for
170
402
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Hi Friends,

I am Mr.Upreti from Kathmandu, Nepal. Recently i got married and planed for honeymoon. I searched honeymoon destination on net. I chosen two options , One is Switzerland and another is Mauritius.

We discussed and chose Mauritius for sea bcoz we are familiar with Hills, mountain in Nepal so we left Switzerland.

I asked my travel agent in Nepal and he provide me voucher and others itinerary so me and my wife went Mauritius on 17th of April 2014 via Delhi, India.

Mr Dhani Ram, Driver cum tour guide from Bonny Air Intl Tours Ltd, Mauritius received us on 17.04.2014.

I 'd read many reviews about Tarisa Hotel. In the time of our arrival in Hotel i clearly told them ( may be Mr Sudhir, a young boy from reception counter ) we are from drinking and non veg culture and we are not familiar with spicy food and so we will go for Indigo Restaurant and he agreed. He requested for the first day in Tandoor restaurant and from next day hotel will manage in Indigo restaurant. Mr Dhani Ram was witness.

In dinner time , we went in Tandoor restaurant , i asked a beer. Bar was empty. waiter managed a beer. we were only one couple, drinking in a beer in a dinner hall. We feel very uncomfortable because most of the guests ( In tandoor, 99 % guests were Indian ) were with their families and they were seeing us.

Second day, we enjoyed a lots. we were tired so we didnt go for dinner. and third day we enjoyed many water sports and returned back to the hotel at 5:00.

At dinner time, Mr Dhani Ram confirmed that our dinner is ready in Indigo so we went Indigo restaurant. We took plate and put dinner on plate. A waiter came and told us that " Who authorised you to enter in this restaurant ? you people are not authorised to take dinner. How dare u entered in this hall....ets without inquiry a single word.

i Shocked and speechless. I politely said that your manager has confirmed for us. so we are here. But he refused and took our plate. then i told him to call your manager. He didnt listen. then i went to reception and told about misbehave. He did not help me.

i was very much upset. called to Bonny Air tour.

My question is Only " WHY THIS IS FOR ME.

BECAUSE WE DONT HAVE WHITE SKIN ...

In my honeymoon period i became a victim of Racial discrimination in that Hotel.

In this area , there is no any restaurant, Shops. whole night we could not sleep. I draft 2 page letter to higher authority of Mauritius but could not sent because we didnot know security system, so we afraid. Then i requested to Bonny Air Travel to manage another hotel. They didn't replied. Then we decided to left Mauritius. Unfortunately there were 2 flights in a week from DEL - MRU....and i stayed in that hotel like a helpless person.

I have spent about 500,000.00 NRS for couple i.e equivalent to IRS is 312,500.00 for that package and now i'm feeling worst.

I've visited many parts of India, Bangkok, Singapore, Malaysia.. But Mauritius...

I've written all these things in feedback form, provided by Bonny Travel... I dont know what they took action. Its my request to all Nepali and India travel agents that Pls never recommend your guests to this Hotel. They behave to your guests like a slave.

NOW I'M FEELING GUILTY .... WHY MY AGENT SENT ME THERE ...

PLS DONT BELIEVE IN GOODY GOODY REVIEWS... YOU WILL FEEL, WHEN U BE THERE

BUT I'M MISSING MR DHANI RAM AND HIS INNOCENT SMILE.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RamRaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haroun R, Director of Sales at Tarisa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Mr Upreti

We wish to clarify on a few points as your comment could be wrongly interpreted by some readers as follows:

The title of your review is neither the norms nor values of our hotel nor for Mauritius as a tourist destination.

It is heart breaking and sad to read such review on our resort after all the good efforts being put by the management and the whole staff member of Tarisa Resort & Spa to satisfy each and every guests equally.

The management and staff are customer-oriented.

The hotel has 2 restaurants, The Tandoor Restaurant (Speciality in Indian Food) and the other is Indigo Restaurant (Theme Buffet).

The Tandoor Restaurant is a well-known brand and operating in many cities in India and other places and are very much appreciated by the Indian tourists and other nationalities as well.

This restaurant was part in your holiday package for dinner and we feel sorry to learn to know only after your departure that you are non-veg culture and eat non-spicy food.

These information should have been provided to you at the time when you were doing your booking and you would have notified your agent about your requirements in order to book you to the appropriate restaurant.

Although the Tandoor Restaurant is part of your package for dinner, however the guests have the option to dine in the Indigo Restaurant to experience other food and this is informed upon arrival at the hotel and guests are kindly requested to book in advance because of the seating arrangement.

It is also good to know that every Tuesday, all the guests dine at the Indigo Restaurant and the Tandoor Restaurant is closed for lunch and dinner on that same day.

Breakfast is served daily at the Indigo Restaurant for all guests.

Based on the reviews and feedback from our visitors, most of our Indian guests are more than happy with our services and get value for money at Tarisa Resort & Spa.

Our guests are treated with due respects and feel home when they stay in our resort.

In respect to your issue, kindly note that the reception briefed you about all facilities and services included in your package and they provided you with an information sheet about same.

The hotel were not made aware that you would dine at the Indigo Restaurant on that day nor you have clearly mentioned to the reception that you are non-veg and eat non-spicy food.

The waiter on service on that day behaved politely with you and you were handled with care and served dinner at Indigo Restaurant. The question of refusing dinner never arise.

With all due respect Sir, you had a wrong perception and negative approach towards our resort and the staff.

It is purely a miscommunication from someone but not from the hotel and it is not fair at all to interpret such issue as racial or discrimination.

Our hotel staff and management team are striving to satisfy and meet the expectations of all guests irrespective of their nationalities and we sincerely regret that you did not feel so.

We wish you all the best for the year 2014.

Thank you.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We would like to thank Tarisa for making our stay in Mauritius a memorable one. We are thankful to all the hotel staff including Dave, Shiva and Ravin for a wonderful journey we began in the island.The room, pool and Indian resturant Tandoor was just awesome. We would recommend everyone if hey want to enjoy in Mauritius just go to Tarisa. We had a blast.

Room Tip: From 310 to 314
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suncarr18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Tarissa Resort is an excellent place to spend at Mauritius.
It is located at a place called Mon Choisy which is very close to the Beach!
The Staff at Tarissa are extremely friendly and serve with great hospitality.
Food from the Kitchen of Tandoori is extremely good*, Which never makes one feel away from home.
Tarissa Resort has been very Clean and Hygienic. Music is played all day long also have a great bar making it common between swimming pool and the Mauritian Restaurant^

The Staff is extremely cool - The Cleaning Staff does a perfect cleaning both inside and outside the room.
The Serving staff at the Restaurant continuously monitors and cleans the plates and tables very often leaving your nothing to be complained off.
The Staff at the reception Vinay, Soudhir & Artee were extremely good in showing up true hospitality at Tarissa Resort.

I appreciate Mr. Vinay (Staff at the Reception) who was very friendly and assisted in all requests put across. - Thanks Vinay.

*For all Indian's - Food from the Tandoori Restaurant will be closed for Tuesday's Dinner and will be served from the Mauritian Kitchen which may not meet the taste of everyone. Unfortunately we landed on Tuesday and had our first dinner taste from the Mauritanian Kitchen which was not soo good.

^Breakfast will be served from this very same Mauritian Kitchen with lovely chef's serving you Hot Omelets and just as your order...( I am seriously Missing it :( )

If you step out for your lunch at the Tandoori(which may not be included in your package) - One thing you need to stay away is from the Water Kept on the table for drinking.
They are gonna charge you a whooping 92 Mauritian Rupees(~100 INR) for Just a glass of water.
Instead suggest you to carry your own water bottles to the tables.
Luckily you get free water to drink for your dinner and Breakfast ;)...

The Resort also have facilities like Steam Bath and Sauna Bath, But the Steam Bath Room was very Unclean at least at the time I visited.
They also provide you One Beach Towel( On Submission of the Blue Card which would be provided to you on arrival) for all your beach activities.


So Far So good, Now the worst part was the trick in your Check out, I had my fight at 21:05 HRS back to Bangalore and had a pick up arranged at the hotel at 04:30 PM.
Though the resort staff gives your facilities to take of your luggage under the radar of the CCTV we need to checkout the Room before 12:00 PM to avoid any extra charges.
Now the question is what would one do from the time he checks out at 12:00 PM until 04:30 PM. Come On Tarissa, This is not how you treat your guests especially at the last day????
Though they allowed us to use all the Resort facilities until our departure from the resort, It very much Unfair to make sure we vacate the room at 12:00 failure on which we need to pay an additional amount of MUR 1000.. Seriously you need to think about it?

Few lanes down the Tarissa there is a Resort called The Grand Blue, Which allows it's guest to stay in the room until the departure from the resort. This one thing from this Tarissa Resort makes me sick and makes me think twice to recommend this to anyone going there.
Please plan accordingly

Room Tip: 1 --> As far as I see there is nothing called a good or best room, All rooms have their best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sukruth007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gangtok, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Bookd our holiday through make my trip online. Aftr going through no. of reviews we chose Tarissa resort .We knew most of the hotels in Mauritius had good accommodation, food was our major concern. Tarissa was chosen of the positive reviews we found about the restaurnts food.What was offerd in every aspect exceeded our expectations..And we hope to sincerely help the other travelers planing a holiday to Mauritius in choosing the right hotel..after all it would be the first visit for many ones like us. Resort not only provide you excellent Indian food but also is run by the most helpful , polite and friendly staffs..Thanks Rakesh, Ronnie, Pankaj and Tarrisa members for such a homely stay!!

Room Tip: Pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetrin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Overall a very good hotel...clean and spacious rooms, good location (as compared to other similar budgets), helpful and courteous staff, but it is the food that is making me write this review. Excellent food. We were apprehensive about the non-availability of good Indian vegetarian food in Mauritius owing to some bad reviews from friends and relatives and even took ready-to-eats. However, on the contrary, not only the food was hygienic but also very tasty. Although, sauna was basic, but good and clean to use. Also, the hotel provided a lot of beach facilities like glass bottom boat, snorkelling equipment etc.
Overall a nice and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Avoid pool facing rooms to avoid the noise created by pool users. There are no Sea facing rooms as s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mansi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Mauritius was our honeymoon destination and we traveled in late February ,2014. We had our bookings in Tarisa and I must admire the quality of the rooms and the cleaniness maintained overall.The rooms are spacious a with good views specially if you choose to stay in the rooms which face the pool.You are certain to enjoy the free services provided by the hotel management which includes glass bottom boat ride,kayaking,paddle boat and other water sports activities and using the hamam bath.

The food in the Indian Restaurant (Tandoor) was good along with the ambience created. The service is buffet with veg/non veg served.The hotel provides you one water bottle and the wifi is reachable only from the reception.Its advisable to buy extra water bottles or calling cards from the nearby market(near the gas station about 10 mins away) since its a bit expensive in the hotel.

Tarisa Resort is a property located very close to the Mont Choisy beach which a very serene a calmful place to enjoy the beautiful colors of the Indian Ocean. Infact the walk to beach through the casuarina trees is just about a min or so from the hotel. Also it takes around 20 mins or so to travel to Grand Bay which is a tourist attraction in north island.


Inspite of all the good things everything we had a bitter experience of waiting for nearly an hour to check in to our rooms since the rooms were being cleaned. This was a bit harrassing since we were really tired after all the travelling we had done to reach there. I think the management should look into this matter in the future.

My overally experience with Tarisa was good and i would like to recommend it to all. Just sit back,relax and enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: First floor pool facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santaman_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont Choisy
0.3 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
823 reviews
2.3 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Casuarina Resort & Spa
#4 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
#6 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
#7 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarisa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarisa Resort & Spa

Property: Tarisa Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Mont Choisy, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Mont Choisy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mont Choisy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarisa Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tarisa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarisa Hotel Mont Choisy
Tarisa Resort & Spa Mont Choisy, Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing