We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tarisa Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mont Choisy
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Tarisa Resort is excellent value for money!. We stayed there for 4 nights and 5 days by paying just 17K INR!. This included breakfast and dinner. The resort has access to Mont Choisy beach which is small but amazingly pristine and quiet. Mr Murugan, Singh and Dev, the manager were extremely polite and very accommodating. The hotel let us keep our room for upto 4 hours after checkout which is something I often struggle with even at 5 star hotels!

The positives:
Good VFM, decent rooms and good location. (Lots of adventure sports companies are just down the road).

The negatives:
Ambience is bland, but if you're paying as much as I did, you will over look this aspect.

The spa: The spa was not clean at all. The towels were damp with stains all over, and the shower room didnt look clean. The massage itself was very hurried as if the therapist had some place to go!.

Verdict: Stay here, eat here(if you must) but dont use the spa!. If Terisa improves their spa, this hotel might just be the best all round resort in Mauritius for the budget traveller.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool(as far as i could see); get one on the higher floors with an ocean view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudarshan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    289
    91
    49
    54
See reviews for
170
403
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and myself had stayed at Tarisa Resort for a week in August 2014. The resort, while it does not have its own private beach, has easy access to a public beach called as Mon Choisy which is at a less than a min walking distance from the resort. You have 3 options here - take a walk in the blue marine water shore or on the shore sand or alongside the beach at a little elevated level (in case you do not want to play with the sand).

The resort is well equipped with a swimming pool, gym and spa facilities, beauty centre and has some free water sports activities for guests. Activities like windsurfing, laser boat, snorkelling, pedal boat, Kayak and glass bottom boat rides are free subject to booking a day prior at the reception. All other water sports are at additional cost which again can be checked at the reception. We had done all our watersports at Ile Aux Cerfs as per the booking done by our tour planner. The tour cost included only transfers and hence all the water sports were at an additional cost. We undertook Under water sea walk (a must do for non swimmers), para sailing and speed boat ride along the island at a cost of MR 2500 per person. For underwater sea walk, there is an option to get pics clicked at an additional cost of MR 800 per couple which is worthwhile since our regular cameras won't work under the sea. It is very safe and the instructors give you proper guidance prior to leaving for the walk. Would suggest wearing beach wear (half slacks for women recommended) for all water sports activities. Since the day we visited was a public holiday in Mauritius, there was a lot of waiting time for each transfer and hence we were left with very little time for lunch. Hence would suggest to pack a fruit or 2 while leaving for this water sports activities. Else there are couple of restaurants at the island which serve good food.

Apart from this tour, we had taken the South and North Island Tours on an SIC basis (cost was already included in the package) which are normal leisure land tours. In case you are looking for some adrenaline rush, these tours are not meant for you. However they are worthwhile, since you get to see Mauritius as a country filled with lush green forests and waterfalls. There are also some other options like cataraman cruise, submarine tour, underwater scooter ride, forest tour, which we didnt undertake, but can be checked with at the Resort.

The resort is equipped with 2 restaurants - Tandoor (Indian Food) and Indigo (Continental). I guess all Indians are default booked for dinner at Tandoor however you may take your dinner at Indigo as well, you just to keep the reception informed in the morning.

Spa at their Crystal Spa is highly recommended -full body aromatherapy massage for 1 hour - at MR 1600 per person. There are experienced spa therapists and the spa lounge provides for shower facilities post the session.

One very important tip - While the resort provides 1 free bottle of water every day, kindly purchase water bottles outside because at the resort it is very expensive. You get 6 bottles at the same price of 2 at the resort.

For local phone connection, please be wary of the local outlets. We purchased 1 Emtel sim Card at a local shop suggested by our airport transfer driver for MR 300 with a talktime of MR 100 however it didnt get activated until the next day. Thankfully, we could visit an Emtel Showroom during our day tour the next day only to be told that the shopkeeper had not registered us, also we were eligible for a talktime of MR 200 and not MR 87 which was showing as balance on our card. While we didnt need this card much since we had skype on our phones through which we could make calls, suggest you purchase sim cards only from trusted showrooms. This is available against a copy of your passports.

Also please do not forget to take your sun screen lotion (SPF 25 recommended at the least) and a pair of beach chappals since there are some coral stings at the beach.

There is a satellite TV available in the room however very limited hindi channels. So please take your ipad loaded with entertainment in case your intend to spend time at your resort only.

Management is extremely friendly and cooperative and take your smallest of feedback very seriously. Highly recommended for couples who just want to take some time off from their busy schedule.

Room Tip: Please go for rooms on the second floor since they have a private balcony. Avoid room nos. 201-204 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Dee_D84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The best resort in terms of services, food and ambiance....each individual there from the GM Mr. Dev to the front office team Mr. Rakesh to the housekeeping team to the maintenance team....all of them have a genuine smile all the time ( unlike the plastic smiles that most of the hotels have) !!.....you have to try hard to find a mistake and even then you might end up with none ...
You don't feel like going out of the resort....a must stay place...
Stupendous location with fantabulous views of the water bodies from the overlooking rooms is simply breathtaking.The rooms are poised right on the summit of the hillock that it appears that one could stretch one hand to touch the skies and the other to touch the water below. Coupled with the sincere hospitality and exotic food served with an all caring staff...

Room Tip: Level Zero...Room 118A...Close to the Beach Escape & Tennis court..Amazing morning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManishShanaaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I had stayed in Tarisa Resort for a week in July 2014. A pristine resort in the north-west coast of the island , the place called Mont Choisy. There are a few other resorts, bungalows there in that location but this one is possibly the best located close to beach and with decent facilities in economic budget. Hotel stuffs were kind and helping in their respective areas. We had stayed in the 2nd floor in a sea view room with private balcony (although sea isn't visible directly since beaches are surrounded by long casuarina trees along the sea coast). The facilities in the room was moderately well for daily needs and were clean. Sometime the hand shower water was stinky and bath towels were not up to the quality. (Time to replace those). Free wifi is also available in the resort.

This resort is having an Indian cuisine restaurant called Tandoor in first floor. We had our dinner there for couple of days and rest of the we enjoyed the continental cuisine served in the other one downstairs. Tandoor is have decent quality food served there but the typical set menu for dinner is with very limited choice and monotonous. Specially like us (Non Vegetarian and sea food lovers) the options in Tandoor is quite limited and we preferred to continental menu served in Indigo restaurant. The variety in Indigo was much better, we enjoyed the fishes, shrimps over there a lot. BBQ in Indigo (specially Chicken) was not up to the mark as meat was not properly grilled. Improvement in variety on breakfast menu is also recommended. Overall the quality of food and service was good. I wish some authentic Mauritian main course meal were included in menu.

Every night the hotel organize dance floor, In house Dj and specially on Friday night the traditional Sega Dance performance (not to be missed). The person in charge in very enthusiastic and humorous and doing nice job.
Hotel provides the free beach sports like Kayaking, snorkeling, Wind surfing & specially Glass bottom boat ride (very nice) and we enjoyed a lot on those activities. The beach in front of the hotel is kind of privately used for the hotel guests and probably the best one among the nearby beaches. Mont choisy public beach is just towards right of this one and generally remains noisy during weekends.
The most happening place Grand Baie is very near (10 min in bus) to this place and can be easily accessible through local bus in frequent interval. Grand Baie is having many restaurants, local market, water sports activities and a popular area for visitors.

We also enjoyed the hotel swimming pool but the water was cold in this season. The lights in pool at evening and music played nearby area creates a nice enjoyable ambiance itself. You will surely enjoy the nature with a pint of Phoenix (local beer) in hand.

Hotel policy towards the check out time is a bit strict whereas the other hotels do allow a couple of hours relaxation in delaying the same. However in this case Tarisa is tend to be commercial and seeking additional price for an hour of delay.

Overall its a nicely located resort with decent service and definitely value for money in your economic budget and recommended too.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subhra_Sush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stay at Resort was homely with good hospitality. It is more economical with all facilities, especially for people who prefer to have Indian food. We really enjoyed our stay. Thanks to the management. Basically it is for economic class travellers

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satya_nukala_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Hello Reader,

Simply Awesome!!
My wife and I had stayed in Tarisa for long as 10 days and it was a perfect custom made holiday. we didn't book the hotel by any tour company and chose to do all the bookings ourselfs. Going to different country we were a litlle woried about what kind of service we would get and on reaching tarisa all worries were vansihed. The staff in tarisa is so helping and kind and we reieved a very special treatment from hotel manager and the tandoor restaurant manager. The food in tandoor is marvellous,. we requested for a sea view room and it was granted. the rooms are very clean and special credits to the housekeeping staff for maintaining it on a daily basis. The hotel provides beach towels, plug in converters and safes (in every room ). One can keep passports cash and other belongings too. The beach is on a walking distance and it is almost like their private beach. liquor and other beverages including water are way expensive in the resort so its better that one buys it from the super market. One VERY IMPORTANT THING WAS THAT THE RESORT HAD LOT MANY LIZARDS, better beware of them.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinmay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My Husband and I stayed for a week in July 2014 at this resort.
Immaculate interior and exterior condition , extremely friendly staff, delicious meals and close to all
places of interest in Mauritius.

I will definitely consider booking at this place again.

GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY.

Room Tip: Pol and beach facing rooms a must Balcony rooms for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandikazn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont Choisy
0.3 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
827 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Casuarina Resort & Spa
#4 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
1,258 reviews
2.3 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
#6 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
#7 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarisa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarisa Resort & Spa

Property: Tarisa Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Mont Choisy, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Mont Choisy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mont Choisy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarisa Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tarisa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarisa Hotel Mont Choisy
Tarisa Resort & Spa Mont Choisy, Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing