We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation and basic food for a basic price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Bagdad Cafe
Ranked #1 of 30 Ait Ben Haddou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at the Bagdad Café for one night mid October. Because of the very positive reviews on Tripadvisor we had high expectations of this accommodation. But for us these expectations were not met. The hotel, our twin room and the food were all very basic. Because we also paid a basic price it was fine for one night but we were happy we didn’t stay for some more nights.

The same for Ait Ben Haddu itself. The old Kasbah is beautiful but the village where the Bagdad Café is situated doesn’t offer anything. From 17.00h till 10.00h nothing was going on and the streets were empty. Only from 10.00h to 17.00h when the tour groups are visiting the old Kasbah this place gets alive.

Mohammed and his wife Rose are the friendly owners of Bagdad Café. They try to help you with a lot of information so their hospitality was fine. But the room was quite simple and the Rotan washing basin was ridicules. The Rotan was falling apart and because of this it was impossible to place any items on it. We don’t understand who has chosen this for a bathroom.

Dinner and breakfast were served in a very sphere less room. And this room was also used by Mohamed’s children as a playground. They and some other children were using the hotel’s computer, which was in this room also, to play games which made a lot of noise. Combined with the basic food and the lack of atmosphere for us this wasn’t the place to have a relaxed dinner.

For the price and because of the hospitality of Mohammed and Rose this place was fine for one night but we will not return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a great base to explore the area around Ait Ben Haddou. The owners Rose and Mohammed are the perfect hosts. They have a wealth of knowledge to impart about the area. The rooms are of a high standard with huge comfortable beds and lovely bathroom. Each room faces out onto the small courtyard which has a small plunge pool. There are seats tables and sofas outside to relax on. We ate here both nights. As mentioned in a previous review the Kefta Tagine is first class and the best we had on our 12 day trip. Mohammed gave us a brilliant trek to follow. We are experienced walkers and it took about 5 hours. He drew a map with way points so we knew we were on the right route. It takes you to a wonderful little oasis. Literally a fig tree, a spring and that's it. It was a little world in the middle of no where with butterflies, birds and even a frog ! How that got there I don't know. The route then takes you up and over a hill/mountain and you the drop down to a small town with an ancient kasbah. You have the choice of following the road back or do what we did and follow the dried up river bed back to Ait Ben Haddou . I highly recommend this location and would go back tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We've stayed two nights in October 2013 at this lovely place. Mohammed and his wife are truly caring and lovely hosts. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The food (breakfast and dinner) is great and the mint tea is one of the best I've tasted in Morocco.
Thank you so much for this little "home" in a foreign country!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggyfi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Traveling through Morocco for 9 days with a 2 night stop here was amazing. Clean room, pool and great food. My only downside is that I did not get the recipe for what turned out to be the best Kefta Tagine in the whole of my stay. :)

Room Tip: A very warm and friendly welcome here and a family run business that almost includes you as part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medwaylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at Bagdad Cafe for two nights and will forever look back on it with fond memories. The owners Rose and Mohammed made us feel incredibly welcome. If you stay more than one day, make sure you go for a hike in the surrounding area - Mohammed gives perfect instructions and directions for a very safe, fun hike with wonderful views across the desert.
Also make sure you sample the amazing food! At Bagdad Cafe, we had some of the best food (especially the lamb and prune/abricot tagine - absolutely delicious!) on our tour of Morocco. Breakfast is included - it's incredibly yummy and sets you up for a day of exploring the desert and kasbah. Also, our room was wonderful - clean and beautifully decorated, and one of the BEST showers! Each room has outside seating as well, which is great to take a break from exploring the kasbah.
As we were taking the bus back to Marrakesh, Mohammed phoned the bus company to pick us up from the junction leading to Ait Ben Haddou. Note though that it is no longer standard practice for CTM buses to stop there, so it is best to go to Ouzarzate to pick up the bus. Still, Mohammed worked his magic in our case so we managed to catch our bus back to Marrakesh :-). Which shows that Rose and Mohammed really go the extra mile for their guests! For this I would give more stars if this was possible. Ultimately though, I hope I get to return one day!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monnipenny76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Nice and clean rooms that were very traditionall furnished with a beautiful bathroom, very nice owners and very close to the Kasbah (just around the corner is the entrance). Very nice owners. We also had dinner here and that was good. Breakfast was very good!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a really nice stay with Mohammed and his wife spoiling us with delicious food, plenty of useful tips and a wonderful and more than comfortable room. Located really near the old Kasbah this is the best place to stay in Ait Ben Haddou - so far. We will come back anytime.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ait Ben Haddou hotels
1.5 mi away
Ksar Ljanoub
Ksar Ljanoub
#1 of 3 in Ait Ben Haddou
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Caravane
Riad Caravane
#2 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
345 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kasbah Isfoula and Spa
Kasbah Isfoula and Spa
#7 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kasbah Tebi
Kasbah Tebi
#4 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
264 reviews
3 mi away
Riad Tamdakhte
Riad Tamdakhte
#3 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison D'Hote Chez Brahim
Maison D'Hote Chez Brahim
#5 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Bagdad Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Bagdad Cafe

Address: Rue Principale, Ait Ben Haddou 45122, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ait Ben Haddou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ait Ben Haddou
Price Range: £40 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Bagdad Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Bagdad Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing