We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely welcome, traditional maroccan auberge, great for kids”
Review of Auberge Ayouze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Ayouze
Ranked #5 of 30 Ait Ben Haddou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lyon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely welcome, traditional maroccan auberge, great for kids”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Hi there,

I stayed here two weeks with my children, aged 5 and 9 and we all had a great time. The decor is simple and rustic in style and a paradise for children who were running around the place all the time. The welcome from Zoe and her husband Abdelleraqman was really warn, and my children played happily with their lovely son Naime, who is 6 years old. It was really a great place for us all to chill out. Driss cooked lovely food and ibrahim in the kitchen could not have been nicer with the children, tolerating all kinds of play, while also teaching my 5 year old how to peel potatoes. Driss was fabulous with the children, giving endless piggy back rides and what not. He could quickly whip up delicious kiddy food for fussy children when the need arose. I would recommend this address in particular to mothers travelling alone with young children, the place, the staff and the environment are very friendly and secure. It feels like everybody is looking out for your kids. My children often played in Naime's house. I would also point out the the very shallow river in front of the auberge is the best place ever for kids to muck around, lots of mud flights, enought water to play in but not too much to need armbands (at least for my 5 year old who can't swim), and much nicer than the swimming pools in neightboring facilities as the water temperature in those pools was really way way too low.
We also stayed in some really fancy places in Marrackech but we really had a our best time at this address. As the style is homely and simple, you dont have to worry quite so much about your hyperactive little darlings breaking state of the art equipment, fancy interior decorating or generally trashing the joint. I heartily recomment this address for people travelling with children. The chillout factor is fantastic. Again a great choice for single moms.

Room Tip: We had room number 5 i think and it was absolutely fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyonHelen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
81
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantes, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We were on the road from Marrakech to Ouarzazate when we discovered this riad in the French "Routard". First we wanted to stay only one night, and then continue our road the day after... But we finally changed our mind to stay here until the end of our holidays.

The location is very nice, with a wonderful view on the Kasbah on the other side of the river, in front of the riad. It's also well located to organize wonderful excursions in the desert to discover some beautiful oasis, rivers, waterfalls, etc. And Idriss, who works there, was always available to help us to organize our trips.

The rooms are simple but very clean. Dinners were served in the big living room, where you can enjoy the Berber decoration. And we took our breakfasts and "aperos" outside on the terrace! It was like we were at home, but in Morocco.

Idriss, helped by Brahim, is also the best Moroccan cooker we met during our stay in Morocco. His couscous is just perfect ! He's very friendly and he contributed to make our stay here very unique! Actually, everyone in the village was very welcoming and it was pleasant to exchange so much with each of them!

We were very sad to leave this paradise but we will go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clement_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldbronn, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Very nice place with a magnificient view, good kitchen and very friendly staff.
Several nice Kashbah's in walking distance (about 3km). Ideal for writing up my research.
The only downside for me was the slow internet connection at the hostel.

Room Tip: Ask for the double room with private balcony- small paradise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I planned to stay two days here but ended up staying for my whole holiday - there was plenty to do in the surrounding area for a few days and the friendly staff were excellent guides - caves, traditional Berber villages, mountain walks, impressive kasbahs and ancient town of Ait Benhadu all within walking distance. The riad is beautifully decorated in traditional style and we enjoyed evenings in the warm and homely living/dining area, playing drums and guitar with our hosts. Food was extremely good, and enjoyed breakfasts on the sunny terrace.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifesnadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This riad is located slightly north of the town of Ait Benhaddou which for us was one of its principle attractions I.e. away from the other tourists! However it's a short drive to the world heritage site kasbah. We arrived from the north i.e coming from Marrakech we took the road just south of the Tizi n'Tichka pass and drove via Telouet. If you have the time I would highly recommend it as the scenery is tremendous and the road is relatively isolated save for a few villages along the way where kids come out and request everything from money to water to pencils!! If I do it again I'll bring a bunch. The road is paved throughout however there are a few rough bits and river crossings that made me feel happier that I had rented an SUV. Having said that I saw a number of regular cars taking the same route. The riad is very rustic but comfortable and clean and was well suited to the environment/location. Both breakfast and supper meals were good and the staff very congenial, offering entertainment in the form of magic after supper. This is a great riad for just chilling out and this was our first opportunity to the see the real night sky after the major towns and we were not disappointed. I probably won't visit Ait Benhaddou again but am happy that I stayed at the Riad Ayouze.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bud-Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Had a great time at this beautiful auberge, great location, great food with lovely rooms. Driss and nabil looked after us and were excellent company, would highly recommend :) easy to find is on the main road that runs past ait benhaddou entrance

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puurs, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We spent two nights at auberge Ayouze, the first time on the way to the desert, the second time, on our way back, we simply had to return to this lovely place. Reception is extremely friendly and amical, music is never far away, though always subtle. The rooms are traditionally sober yet comfortable and very clean. Meals are served on the terrace with magnificent view on the kasbah and palmery. The food itself is delicious, prepared and served by Driss and Nabil, two great guys, always bright and witty, be prepared for a night of humor and philosophy. You can not pass Ait Ben Haddou without spending the night here!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarstenDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ait Ben Haddou hotels
0.5 mi away
Ksar Ljanoub
Ksar Ljanoub
#1 of 3 in Ait Ben Haddou
44 reviews
1.9 mi away
Auberge Bagdad Cafe
Auberge Bagdad Cafe
#1 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
437 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kasbah Tebi
Kasbah Tebi
#4 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Caravane
Riad Caravane
#2 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Defat Kasbah
Defat Kasbah
#7 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Ksar Ighnda
Riad Ksar Ighnda
#12 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Ayouze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Ayouze

Property: Auberge Ayouze
Address: Asfalou | Ouarzazate, Ait Ben Haddou 4500, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ait Ben Haddou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ait Ben Haddou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge Ayouze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing