We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here rather than in Ait Benhaddou itself” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Caravane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Caravane
Ranked #2 of 30 Ait Ben Haddou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay here rather than in Ait Benhaddou itself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here in March 2014 - warm in the daytime, cold at nights. The Riad is new, stylish and welcoming. It's a short walk from the famous village of Ait Benhaddou, in a little village of its own. You walk across some gardens, surrounded by palm trees, by a small river. Our room was clean and comfortable. Dinner was good - service very hospitable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slovoyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    28
    0
    5
    2
See reviews for
70
143
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We went to Ait Ben Haddou to see the architecture of the historic Kasbah, but came away most impressed with the architecture and atmosphere of this amazingly creative hotel and restaurant. "We" is four adults and 9,7, and 4 year old boys. It worked for all of us. The French owner deserves a medal for her use of local materials and she captures the feel of the local buildings and combines it with perfectly functioning amenities and one of the best meals we had in Morocco. it is an easy and interesting walk along the edge of farmers' fields to the UNESCO site. The only thing missing was a sign to make it easy to find when we came to the town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredandSusan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stylishly rebuilt to a high standard, with maybe 6 or 8 rooms, It's in a small village about 500m from the main site, so quiet. Not easy to find. Small plunge pool and no garden, but nice roof terraces with great views. Owner very chic but a little chilly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
251 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Riad Caravane is absolutely, positively stunning. Without a doubt, the owner has a spot on eye for excellent design. She has created a simple, beautiful, functional, relaxing and comfortable environment. So glad we decided to stop here for a night as we toured Morocco. Most highly recommended.

One minor caveat -- be sure to get detailed directions in advance as, due to local ordinance, there is no signage for the riad.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCtravelerWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Having driven from Marrakech airport to Riad Caravane I arrived just before it was getting dark,although Andrea had told me to call her from the mosque in Ben haddou I tried to find the Riad myself not easy even when I was within a few metres but as there is no signage I caved in and Andrea directed me in.
Recently completed the Riad is presented superbly, my room was extremely comfortable with a good size bathroom and was situated on the top floor only a step away from the two roof top terraces. The view across to the famous Ben Haddou was impressive and only took a few minutes to walk to.
Being so remote I chose to take dinner at the Riad which consisted of three courses for €19, wine was also offered..
I stayed for 2nights and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. A sign from the road would be helpful but it all adds to the experience.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank pip45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

A beautiful quite new and very stylish Riad. The owner is onsite which always makes a huge difference. The decor is simple and stylish and it was the best dinner we had on our 5 day trip. It is located amongst local dwellings just on the outskirts of town which adds to the charm. Then it is an easy walk to the Kasbah and main area of town. Lovely!

Room Tip: There is a family room for 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Fabulously chic riad. Very calming white interiors, fabulously comfortable beds, great rooms, nice hot showers, and delicious food. Great location to access the kasbah. Have a room for 4 which is great for families. Great views from the terrace.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravelingHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ait Ben Haddou
0.0 mi away
La Rose du sable
La Rose du sable
#2 of 3 in Ait Ben Haddou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ksar Ljanoub
Ksar Ljanoub
#1 of 3 in Ait Ben Haddou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
12.2 mi away
Irocha
Irocha
#4 of 40 in Ouarzazate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Auberge Bagdad Cafe
Auberge Bagdad Cafe
#1 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kasbah Tebi
Kasbah Tebi
#3 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Mouna
Dar Mouna
#9 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Caravane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Caravane

Property: Riad Caravane
Address: Ait Boulmane, Ait Ben Haddou 45000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ait Ben Haddou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ait Ben Haddou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new unexpected magical place in the middle of mud houses on the old caravan route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Caravane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing