We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel at a special place”
Review of Dar Mouna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Mouna
Ranked #9 of 30 Ait Ben Haddou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2011

The hotel is lovely and inviting as we arrived. Burning wood fire in the fire place for it was a very blustery day and classical music in the lounge where guests meet before dinner or browse the internet. A lovely room but a the bathroom is a bit shabby and not up to standard with the allure of this hotel.
A bit surprising that there was no choice of menu. There was fish tagine and that was it. A very dry fish tagine I may add. Really unnecessary for a potentially good hotel like this.
The kasbah on the other side of the river has been the setting of many films and therefor a lot of money has been put in there to restore end rebuild, with the result that it looks a little "Mickey Mouse", So many beautiful kasbah's all over the country that we didn't even bother to go and visit this one.
At checking out the staff was ever so helpful to get us a booking in a riad in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2011

I think things have changed recently here. We were recommended to stay at this hotel by our excellent guide and having read about it in Lonely Planet it certainly sounded good.
However on arrival and being shown to our room it was all rather disappointing. Having been led to believe we were going to be in a large split level Suite we were shown to a large, basic single level room. Our guide couldn't believe the changes and was dismayed by what he found. On further enquiries it seems that the rooms have been remodelled presumably to accommodate more guests. However the prices certainly hadn't fallen and I felt, compared to other places that we stayed, this hotel was very expensive and impersonal. They very much seem to be aiming for the Coach Tour Group market.
Having said this our room was clean if somewhat basic but did have a superb view onto Ait Ben Haddou.
Dinner was ok but frankly uninspiring. It was fish soup followed by fish tajine with no other choice at all. There was a large tour group staying in the hotel yet only one waiter looking after the whole dining room - dinner took a very long time!
Our guide has stayed in this hotel on many previous occasions and always had a very good experience however he was very shocked by the changes and will not be using it again. A real shame as it has the perfect location with magnificent views.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HamiltonFamily93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Just read the other reviews and noticed there are differing views. Let me therefore explain where we stayed and what we appreciated. We booked the suite with the view over the Kasbah. Yes, it's maybe not a suite in the hotel chain sense, but it's a big room where we could place the travel tents of our three and five year old sons. The bathroom has something primitive but is well thought-through with the copper pipes visible and old style handles to tap the water. I found this a beautiful way to create a comfortable style that is in sync with its surroundings. You cannot stay in a hotel-chain room in an environment like this.
Waking up with this view was fantastic. The beds were good, the hotel crew did not charge us for our sons because we brought our own travel beds, very friendly. The staff speaks excellent English, extremely friendly.
Dinner was excellent, pretty restaurant with multiple fireplaces, so was breakfast on the terrace with view.
A very small comment: some rooms are potentially a bit noisy. But everybody here wants a dinner, a good sleep and a great view, so it's nothing we were disturbed by.
I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeanVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

My wife, my 15 year old son and I stayed 1 night in October. Frankly I’m disappointed. This hotel could be great with only a little effort. First the bad points. We ordered a “View Suite Kasbah” for three. The “suite” was just a room with bars on an inaccessible window (there was a bed in the way) and even though I looked out there was a wall outside which I had to look over inorder to see the Kasbah. In my opinion this was not a room with a view. But the worst of all was the bathroom. It looked like a bathroom from an outhouse one might find on a farm. A bare concrete floor with a shower-hose on the wall at one end of the room. Then a horrible coloured WC and a simple sink without any place to put toiletries or clothes and towel hooks which wouldn’t really hold up a towel. The plumbing pipes were visible running all around the room. Hot water took ages to come. We complained and they said just let it run for a long time. It did finally come after a long time!

Now for the good points. Location is perfect, the staff of two young men were very polite and as helpful as possible, very gentle people, but I guess they were just staff not the owners. They also served a very good dinner and a very nice breakfast to the sound of “swiss radio classic”, which was very pleasant. The bed was very comfortable with nice clean crisp sheets. The room and hotel was done in a mock desert berber style which was actually OK. It’s just a pity that the bathrooms were the real thing. I also didn’t feel that the hotel had a feeling of being alive. It seemed to be always deserted except at dinner time.

Would I stay again, yes, but only if the bathrooms where improved. I’ve seen better bathrooms in cheaper hotels in the desert. It’s OK if you’re a man but not nice for a woman who is used to better standards. Come on Dar Mouna insert some money in decent bathrooms and efficient plumbing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Yes the setting, the pool and so on was very nice but whilst Morocco is obviously hot in the summer, the hotel does advertise and is priced accordingly to include air conditioning. We moved to two different rooms and the air con did not work in either. Very disappointing given the rates.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrysonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We had pass through AIT BENHADDOU on June 2010 and we spend one night in Dar Mouna, unforgettable place, very good welcoming, nice south Moroccan style of the rooms, very simple but comfortable with air conditioning and very quiet at night, the diner was really Moroccan '' beef couscous with vegetables" in a very romantic place; in the morning we had an unforgettable breakfast ever on the terrace with a view on the Ksar of AIT BEHADDOU, and we had fresh swim before, cheking out, in a blue swiming pool thatis in the big garden. i will come back to spend more days in the future

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linguist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Located directly opposite the city on the other river side. 5 minutes walking distance to Aid Benhaddou. Terrace with view to Aid Benhaddou for sun dawner or breakfast. Small cool pool in the garden perfect for refreshing. Food and service was ok. Rooms ok with shower not on expected quality standard. Parking facility directly at the hotel. Overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kroprol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ait Ben Haddou hotels
1.5 mi away
Ksar Ljanoub
Ksar Ljanoub
#1 of 3 in Ait Ben Haddou
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kasbah Tebi
Kasbah Tebi
#4 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise of Silence
Paradise of Silence
#8 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auberge Bagdad Cafe
Auberge Bagdad Cafe
#1 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison D'Hote Chez Brahim
Maison D'Hote Chez Brahim
#5 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
264 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad Ksar Ighnda
Riad Ksar Ighnda
#11 of 30 in Ait Ben Haddou
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Mouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Mouna

Address: Douar Ait Ben Haddou, Ait Ben Haddou 45122, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ait Ben Haddou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ait Ben Haddou
Price Range: £48 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Mouna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the entrance of the guest house there is a large shaded garden. The view is breathtaking on the Kasbah of Ait ben Haddou. Dar Mouna offers the opportunity to its visitors to experience the traditions of the Southern Moroccan countryside and to discover the flavors of its ancestral culinary preparations in a rustic and authentic. Rooms of Berber style where the authenticity and the comfort cohabit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Dar Mouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing