We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less Morocco more Spain”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Al Alba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Alba
Ranked #1 of 20 Asilah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Less Morocco more Spain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Very pretty and very clean, beautifully appointed rooms, good location. For us the hotel was too 'Spanish' - you could have been in Andalucia!
Unfortunately although there was a seemingly large menu, there was nothing for vegetarians and when asked if they could do anything for us the staff shrugged and suggested we go elsewhere to eat, which we did!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    73
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
80
152
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I have just returned from an amazing experience at this wonderful hotel in Asilah Morocco. The perfect hosts made us feel very welcome and served us three wonderful meals during our stay. The staff were friendly and very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food cooked by their moroccan chef was delicious and a true moroccon experience. I have come all the way from New Zealand to stay at this wonderful hotel and one day I would like to return. For all reading this review please go and experience this truly wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We have stayed at Al Alba in the new rooftop suite for a week in July 2012. Purpose of our visit was a traditional Moroccon wedding of a friend's son. We had extensive wedding parties and dinners at our friends' place, so we didn't enjoy any dinner at Al Alba. However, we have fully enjoyed our stay. Owners and staff are extremely polite, helpful and friendly. The accommodation is not large but adequately equipped, very neat, clean and has a nice atmosphere. The hotel is some 10 minutes walk from the medina and 2 minutes from the beach and boulevard. Not sure about the other rooms, but from our roof terrace we had a splendid view at the sea. The combination of the room and the comforatble roof terrace made this a very pleasant place with the sea breeze keeping the sun covered terrace nice and cool. All in all we experienced Al Alba as, although comparatively expensive, a pleasant niche boutique hotel and we sincerely enjoyed our stay at Al Alba.

Room Tip: Top roof suite (room no 10) is not cheap and may not have traditional suite size but has a lovely te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscyDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

My and my husbond stayed in this cosy hotel 1 night on the way from Agadir to Spain. It was 4 December 2010......
It was a beautiful rest after a long drive from Agadir. We had dinner at the restaurant, kefta tagine and wine.......;) After a good nights rest, we had time for a walk in the medina for more shopping before we took the Frs Ferry from Tangier to Tarifa. See you again!

Room Tip: Ask for king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senor_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

My husband & I stayed at this cozy hotel in Asilah for 2 nights. After the intensity of Marrakech, we found the beach town of Asilah to be charming & very mellow. Asilah is extremely picturesque, with its whitewashed walls, colorful murals and doorways. Since we were there in early June, it wasn't too crowded with tourists yet the weather was pleasant. We enjoyed the quaint beach boardwalk and medina, which seemed very safe and was bustling at night with mostly Moroccan families.

Before arrival, we made sure to print out the map provided by the hotel and directions from the train station. We arrived during the day, so we decided to walk from the train station. It's a very small town, so even though we initially walked down the wrong street, we found the place. While the terrain was a little bumpy with our rolling luggage, it really wasn't far at all, about a 10 minute walk. The staff would arrange for a taxi to pick you up from the station if you're not feeling adventurous. We stayed in one of their double rooms. While not huge, it was a reasonable size, very comfortable, new and impeccably clean. If you require a lot of room, then you should consider upgrading to a superior or a suite. The room was tastefully decorated in all white with dark blue accents and Moroccan details. The bathroom was very modern, equipped with all necessary toiletries and a hair drier. AC worked great and we slept great, no complaints. We could see the adorable house kitties hanging right outside our window. The wifi worked in the room.

The medina is a leisurely 5-10 minutes from the hotel, a pleasant walk. Avoid cutting to the beach boardwalk by the dubious dirt path next to the campground, walk to the first paved street further up.

Breakfast was very tasty. The highlight was little puff pastries stuffed with cheese and fresh tomato/olive oil jam. Yum. Dinner hours were very limited, but we were able to dine there one evening and it was delicious and gourmet. No alcohol was available, but not a big deal.

While we didn't interact with them too much, the Spanish owners were very nice. They conveniently accept PayPal and credit cards, not always an option in Morocco. They seemed to have a decent amount of staff (unlike many U.S. lodgings, which seem to operate with the barest minimum of people), mostly young women, and they were all readily available, friendly and helpful. They also helped us arrange taxi trips to a nearby beach and to the train station. Overall, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyMissMirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We've stayed 4 nights at hotel al alba. At arrival we asked the staff where to hide our personal belongings, because we had some money and golden jewelry. So instead of helping us we got a whole tirade: don't worry, you can let your personal belongings in your room, what do you think you are, no worries! We were assured, but not 100%. So in the room we did some precautionary measures. We hide the golden jewelry in a plastic bag beneath our clothes in the suitcase. Thinkg someone has to be very brutal to search in our bag.

When we left, we arrived at tetouan, unpacking our suitcase. To our shock the jewelry has been stolen. So we immediately called, but nobody answered the call. The next day I called the owner about what happend. She promised to do ' a research', and would be called. In stead of being called, we had to call about the results of the research. The results were shocking: there is no reason to doubt in our staff! As we were lying! The staff were the only people who had access to the room!

What measures I can take against this hotel? Especialy to recompensate the stealing of over 500 euro jewelry....?!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Zakaria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alalba, Propietario at Hotel Al Alba, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
A SCAM: Moroccan Guests have asked us 470€ to silence the robbery of some hidden gems at the bottom of a suitcase.
Reasons we consider it an attempt to scam:
- The uncivil behavior in the hotel: The room shattered, a real dump.
- The accuracy of the stolen: 400 € and 70 € necklace and earrings
- They report the stolen 6 days after hide jewelry and two days after leaving the hotel.
- They were concerned about safety, and kept the passport in the safety box of the hotel, why no jewelry and money?.
- The money that they did not hide, wasn´t stolen.
- We ask then to denounce the Moroccan police (they were in Tetuan). They said no.
- By the hotel have spent thousands of customers and is the first case of stolen in six years with the same workers .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Al Alba and found the hotel charming, the staff were very friendly and their attitude was welcoming. I found the cost reasonable. Our room for 2 was comfortable and clean. I can be a stickler when it comes to sleep quality and the 2 nights at Al Alba, I slept like a baby. We could've had dinner elsewhere but we choose to have dinner at the hotel because it was delicious! If we are back in Asilah,we'll stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindamull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asilah hotels
0.5 mi away
Patio de la Luna
Patio de la Luna
#2 of 5 in Asilah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hotel Al Khaima
Hotel Al Khaima
#5 of 5 in Asilah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azayla
Hotel Azayla
#3 of 5 in Asilah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zelis
Hotel Zelis
#4 of 5 in Asilah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar tabia
Dar tabia
#1 of 5 in Asilah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dar Manara
Hotel Dar Manara
#2 of 20 in Asilah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Alba

Property: Hotel Al Alba
Address: 35 Lot. Nakhil | Near the Court, Asilah 90050, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Asilah
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Asilah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Alba 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, charming hotel, built with a subtle harmony of forms; a small peaceful corner by the sea. An inn for the traveler who is seeking calm and relaxation. Recently built according to the sober style and serene forms of the Arabic architecture, with nine rooms originally decorated so that they transmit calm and privacy; with welcoming rooms and terraces where to rest and recover the strength; a house with a family touch that tries to offer the traveler an unforgettable place and a reason to come back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Al Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Alba Asilah
Al Alba Hotel Asilah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing