We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Hotel Al Alba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Al Alba
Ranked #1 of 22 Asilah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
TORONTO
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Al Alba was our first (and by far the best) accommodation we had on our 2 week journey through Morocco. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and very well maintained. The decor is authentic and incredibly magical. We truly felt as if we were living in a fairytale. The staff was awesome and extremely friendly and attentive. The breakfasts were delicious, and we had one dinner in the hotel, which was incredible. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous, the linens and towels were crisp, and we were very comfortable. Would most definitely recommend this hotel,

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellingToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    76
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
85
157
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Staff were great, though didn't feel that 'morroccan' but we didn't mind.
Was won over by the quaint and boutique set up. Was quite small but there were so many sweet touches to the room and hotel. It felt soooooo clean as well.
Breakfast had a modern twist but was now missing my English breakfast but still very enjoyable ( I am a savoury breakfast chick!!)
We also had a hamman which I would definitely recommend to anyone staying. Amazing and friendly and couldn't fault the ladies. They even let us keep the mitts from the scrub!

Food looked amazing though found cheaper in the town, otherwise would never have left the hotel!!
Well worth a stay as is asilah as a town. Not far from the station either...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemba78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hotel Al Alba is a nice, clean, new, safe and well run hotel. The food is great too! If you're looking for a Riad or Boutique hotel, you might be disappointed at no fault of Al Alba. I booked the cheapest double room and I thought it was nice, but lacked any character and it felt very clinical. I'm sure the suites are great, but I can't vouch for them, as I haven't seen them. It seems one of the best options in Asilah though, as there isn't much quality competition. When it's hot outside it seems a bit far from the Medina too. I'm happy with my stay though, just don't expect too much... maybe you'll be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Great people, quaint clean and quiet hotel. great kitchen !. 5 minutes off the freeway and relatively easy to find. Nice Hamman ( Naima was great !!) Would stay again if I am in the area. Much higher quality than other hotels we saw in Morocco.

Room Tip: cool spiral staircase. All rooms looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatanadventure4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is a newly built property in the fashion of a traditional Riad. There is ambiance but Not as if you were in a Riad within a Medina. The facilities and staff are courteous and helpful and the reviews that state the hotel is far from the medina are erroneous. The walk along the harbor is pleasant. The beach here in town is not the most pleasant. The southern beaches are more beautiful and require a trip down dirt roads to reach. A bit of a fun adventure and the hotel can help organize. Agree on a time to return and price before you go.

Regarding the property itself:

Reliable wifi
Tv in basement with Hammam and spa ( and front desk)
Restaurant is good and food is presented well. Breakfast was some of the best we have had in Morroco with grated Tomato, honey, cheese etc.
Some have said rooms are small but I found them reasonable and comfortable with a seating area and bed area. certainly not oversized but very comfortable.

In short, I would recommend this property. Not a five because because it lacks a traditional feel, though this is being very picky.

Room Tip: The single rooftop room with veranda might be a good splurge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j3p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed here for three nights in May, the staff were very friendly, the restaurant is the best in Asilah, and the room are clean and bright. Very happy with the place.

Negatives are there's not much to do if it rains, there's no TV in rooms, also I would say this is not a beach destination in the European sense (see my review of North West Coast Morocco and Asilah Beaches)

But the town is a pretty little place. Wouldn't have wanted to spend more than 2 days in hind sight, but I bore easily.

All in all price is perhaps a little steep, but you are paying for the elegance. No pool and minimal communal areas.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank couple1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

A quick walk to the center of town, close to the Atlantic beach, clean and charming. The staff were wonderful and looked after my teenage daughter when I got a bit lost and came back late. Their driver woke us at 3:00 am to drive us to Casablanca. Lovely staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asilah
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azayla
Hotel Azayla
#4 of 5 in Asilah
34 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hotel Al Khaima
Hotel Al Khaima
#5 of 5 in Asilah
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Patio de la Luna
Patio de la Luna
#2 of 5 in Asilah
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zelis
Hotel Zelis
#3 of 5 in Asilah
61 reviews
24.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
18.3 mi away
Ibis Tanger Free Zone hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Alba

Property: Hotel Al Alba
Address: 35 Lot. Nakhil | Near the Court, Asilah 90050, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Asilah
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Asilah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Alba 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, charming hotel, built with a subtle harmony of forms; a small peaceful corner by the sea. An inn for the traveler who is seeking calm and relaxation. Recently built according to the sober style and serene forms of the Arabic architecture, with nine rooms originally decorated so that they transmit calm and privacy; with welcoming rooms and terraces where to rest and recover the strength; a house with a family touch that tries to offer the traveler an unforgettable place and a reason to come back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Al Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Alba Asilah
Al Alba Hotel Asilah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing