We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great riad!”
Review of Dar Meziana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Meziana
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great riad!”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on the advice of our guidebook which said that this riad is absolutely perfect and I would have to agree! It’s a beautifully decorated riad, with friendly and helpful staff who speak English. They have a fireplace which was nice in February in the mountains and the room had a good heater. Very easy to find and well-marked – though I’d recommend coming from Bab Souk as the riad is a bit closer to this than other medina entrances. Possibly the nicest roof of any riad where I’ve ever stayed, with great views. Great breakfast – the traditional Moroccan breads but they also made eggs (which is unusual to find in a riad breakfast). They gave us a choice of two rooms and we chose one on the bottom floor, but it wasn’t noisy at all. Great water pressure. Overall, a great value compared to riads where I’ve stayed in other cities. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    47
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
28
97
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is probably rarely a problem in Morocco, but we could never get warm in this lovely place. The heater did not work in our room, so the hotel moved us to another room, where the heater did work. But the common areas, which were authentically and interestingly decorated, we're kept cold. The staff wore coats and hats indoors the two days we were there. But they were welcoming and helpful, offering good directions and restaurant tips, as well as arranging onward travel and assisting us out of he medina with our luggage. A great location in the heart of the medina. Also a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This was the first time I and my wife had experienced a Dar! To our surprise this was a cute little "Bed and Breakfast" type Hotel with no more than 5 to 6 rooms. The receptionist, porters, cooks, etc. were the same folks (appeared to be a family) and worked very efficiently. Our room was really very neat and clean but with a interesting twist. The room was cute and small cut right into the mountain. We had a couple of locations near the bed where the rock facade popped right into the room through the white-washed wall. It felt as if we were sleeping in a four star cave! In the morning we came down for breakfast and we were asked if we would like to do the breakfast on the roof terrace. A great breakfast was presented to us on the roof terrace with spectacular view. We stayed in this hotel for two nights and completely enjoyed the Dar experience. We agreed to stay here again if we visited Chefchaouen again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

This was by far my most favourite stay in morocco, beautiful scenery felt very safe, just make sure you make the most of this amasing town because for such a small place there are lots to see, we did borrow a member of staff to take us round to show us the sights, but was well worth it!! A very magical little place! :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiler2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Wow!!! I insisted when I got to Chefchaouen that me and my friend stayed somewhere amazing, and I wasn't going to settle for anything less than perfect. So I had a look on Tripadvisor and this is one of the places that came up, and boy am I glad we went. Located nearer the top end of the Chefchoauen medina, the rooftop terrace overlooks the whole of the Blue city.

Staying in November, in the quiet season we were very lucky to have the place to ourselves for two nights. The Riad itself is one of absolute beauty, and every aspect of it has been designed and thought about carefully to suit your every need. Although, it may be at the top end of some peoples budgets, if you require a perfect stay with zero regrets this is the place to be. The staff are so lovely and helpful (Massive shout out to Naoufal, who made our stay and looked after us very well). The rooms are gorgeous and the bed we stayed in was one of the comfiest in Morocco. The room we chose didn't have view but we chose it due to its proximity to the terrace which was a perfect place to relax after a long day out in Chefchaouen.

We had a beautiful breakfast on the terrace every morning, staring out at the stunning Rif mountains around us. We had lovely hot showers everyday. Bare in mind at this time of year (November) it can be quite cold in the mountains. We were looking at about 4 degrees when we were there.

We found that Chefchaouen was the real Morocco, where no-one tried to charge us crazy European prices because we were tourists. We really found our home here in Morocco. And we will only come back to Morocco due to our great experience here.

Like many before us, we will never forget our stay here. And when we come back to Chefchaouen we will only be staying here.

Room Tip: Paying the extra for one of the larger rooms will definitely be a must for us next time. It would de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
210 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed at this riad for 2 nights in October 2012. We had room at the terrace. This room had a queen size bed, firm and comfortable with decent linens. Bathroom was reasonable size with strong hot water. Wifi was free and had good connection.

Breakfast served at the roof terrace, food was good, fried pastries, cakes and baguette, butter, jams and honey, fried eggs, coffee and tea. Dinner, which was included in the restaurant of the sister property – Casa Hassan, some good food choices there, we like the classic dishes such as couscous and tajine of meat.

The location of this riad is convenient, takes about 8 minutes to get to the town square. Chefchaouen is a very relaxed city, to my options; it is good to spend 1-2 days here.

Note:
This riad has many levels and steps are deep, and in some parts steps are narrow. Asking for lower level room if you have problem dealing with these stairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My two friends and I had rooms for a 2-night stay at the Dar Meziana and were delighted with its cozy, quaint charm. Though small, my room was decorated in a lovely turquoise bed cover and hangings with other bright touches of color in the Berber rugs and pillows. The bureau was brightly painted in flowers, and the bed was very comfortable. The bath, done in old Moroccan tiles with a copper sink and fittings, was also small but outfitted with plenty of soft towels and amenities. The room was air-conditioned with a small wall unit that worked very quietly and efficiently. From bottom to top up winding stairs, little alcoves and lovely tiles add to the authentic beauty of the dar. A pretty roof-top terrace with blooming flowers and a magnificent view of Chefchaouen and the mountains is where a lavish breakfast is served -- local honey, Moroccan "pancakes" and flat breads, fried breads, eggs, fresh juice, delicious homemade yogurt, and more. The owner and other staff are dedicated to the comfort of guests and were very helpful in every way. The blue lane leading into the dar is narrow and winds up broad steps to the flowery entrance -- a beautiful introduction to the Blue City. I won't forget this experience and recommend the Dar Meziana and the city of Chefchaouen as real highlights on our extensive tour of Morocco.

Room Tip: My room half-way up the stairs to the roof-top terrace opened off a small sitting area. Perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cadkison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Perleta
Casa Perleta
#1 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 23 in Chefchaouen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
31.8 mi away
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
#11 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
#5 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Meziana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Meziana

Property: Dar Meziana
Address: n 07 Rue Zagdud | Bab Souk, Chefchaouen, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Meziana 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you very much for your interest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Meziana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Meziana Chefchaouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing