We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting, authentic, chilly in February”
Review of Dar Meziana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Meziana
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This small guesthouse, with its lovely decor and helpful staff, made us feel right at home in the medina of Chefchaouen. If you arrive by taxi, ask the driver to take you to the Bab Souk arch, where you'll undoubtedly be spotted by small boys eager to lead you to Dar Meziana in exchange for a few dirhams. You'll be glad for help with your luggage, especially when you get to the steep narrow alley leading up to the hotel. When we arrived, Mourad welcomed us with a warm smile and mint tea. Throughout our five-day stay, we found Mourad to be especially friendly, helpful, and happy to practice his English (he also speaks Spanish in addition to his native Arabic). On the down side, we always wore our heavy jackets to go downstairs for breakfast in the morning (this was late February and there was no fire). Our room was warm enough but quite small, the shower didn't drain well, and the decor seemed to outshine the construction quality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Dar Meziana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2013

We had had a long day of rainy travel before our arrival. There was a fire going, hot tea served, and then we had our choice of rooms. One of my traveling mates took the "Princess Room" - pink and purple and very sweet. I took the penthouse which had a phenomenal view of the city.

Good firm bed, lighting, towels, fun bath, and enough heat (this is a concern when traveling in the winter in Morocco).

Nice gentlemen running the place, and, a great breakfast was served.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylintheDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This ended up being our favorite hotel of our Moroccan trip. It is a beautiful property with friendly owners and a good breakfast. The location requires climbing a lot of steps, so it may not be suitable for everybody.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neildean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Dar Meziana was perfect from the first moment we arrived. The young man who greeted us Mourat (sorry if not spelled correctly) was very helpful from the beginning, carrying our luggage from the taxi to the hotel. There are a few steps up to the hotel, so this was appreciated. This is one of the loveliest alleys in the town though, we looked forward to climbing the steps to "our" Riad each time. The Dar is decorated in beautiful Moroccan style and you really feel like you are royalty ! We sat by the fire for a little while in the evening to warm up as it was February so this was very appreciated. The rooms were all really lovely and comfortable. We had trouble turning our heat on so you may want them to turn it on for you. The rooftop terrace was the nicest we have seen, we enjoyed our breakfast in the warm sun immensely. The breakfast was great, more than most riads with eggs and fresh baked Moroccan bread. Overall, the price was a steal for such a lovely place (especially compared to most of Western Europe), experience authentic, staff friendly, location convenient. We were very happy with our stay and hope to return again soon. I also must say this town was our favorite stop in Morocco- a must see ! We wished we stayed longer here ! Enjoy !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniferkoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I'm at the Dar now sitting in front of the fire, and the manager just invited me to share his lunch with him. The staff is lovely, the rooms are charming. But they are basic, and the beds are hard. This blue hilltop town is worth the trek, and this is reportedly the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on the advice of our guidebook which said that this riad is absolutely perfect and I would have to agree! It’s a beautifully decorated riad, with friendly and helpful staff who speak English. They have a fireplace which was nice in February in the mountains and the room had a good heater. Very easy to find and well-marked – though I’d recommend coming from Bab Souk as the riad is a bit closer to this than other medina entrances. Possibly the nicest roof of any riad where I’ve ever stayed, with great views. Great breakfast – the traditional Moroccan breads but they also made eggs (which is unusual to find in a riad breakfast). They gave us a choice of two rooms and we chose one on the bottom floor, but it wasn’t noisy at all. Great water pressure. Overall, a great value compared to riads where I’ve stayed in other cities. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is probably rarely a problem in Morocco, but we could never get warm in this lovely place. The heater did not work in our room, so the hotel moved us to another room, where the heater did work. But the common areas, which were authentically and interestingly decorated, we're kept cold. The staff wore coats and hats indoors the two days we were there. But they were welcoming and helpful, offering good directions and restaurant tips, as well as arranging onward travel and assisting us out of he medina with our luggage. A great location in the heart of the medina. Also a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 23 in Chefchaouen
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 mi away
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
#12 of 23 in Chefchaouen
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
#5 of 23 in Chefchaouen
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Meziana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Meziana

Address: n 07 Rue Zagdud | Bab Souk, Chefchaouen, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chefchaouen
Price Range: £50 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Meziana 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you very much for your interest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Meziana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Meziana Chefchaouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing