We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay!”
Review of Dar Meziana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Meziana
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Rabat, Morocco
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A good place to stay!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

the help at Dar Meziana made the stay very pleasant. the rooms are nicely decorated very clean ..We had a great breakfast and were taken to the restaurant next door for a nice Moroccan meal .No wine is served at the restaurant.The Wifi signal was excellent in the room.The city is fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aessadiq .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    50
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
33
107
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at Dar Meziana for 4 nights. The first room we were given was tiny. If you have any degree of claustrophobia, don't go for the least expensive room. We were unable to shift the first night as the dar was full, but were able to for the final 3 nights, getting a very nicely furnished room. This is a lovely place to stay. As a resident of Santa Fe, NM, it reminded me very much of our home city. Morocco obviously is the direct ancestor of Spanish colonial architecture. Breakfasts included an egg, the only place we encountered this in the country. This is certainly a premier place to stay in Chefchaouen. The location is also fine, although the town is so small you can walk from one end to the other in ten to fifteen minutes.

Room Tip: Don't take the smallest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Very sweet Riad staffed by youthful kind and knowledgeable locals. Charming simple rooms. Sometimes the hot water was a bit sketchy but being right in the medina and an awesome breakfast made up for that. They helped with taxis from Tanger and to Fes, carried some bags for us and were super friendly. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBTraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This small guesthouse, with its lovely decor and helpful staff, made us feel right at home in the medina of Chefchaouen. If you arrive by taxi, ask the driver to take you to the Bab Souk arch, where you'll undoubtedly be spotted by small boys eager to lead you to Dar Meziana in exchange for a few dirhams. You'll be glad for help with your luggage, especially when you get to the steep narrow alley leading up to the hotel. When we arrived, Mourad welcomed us with a warm smile and mint tea. Throughout our five-day stay, we found Mourad to be especially friendly, helpful, and happy to practice his English (he also speaks Spanish in addition to his native Arabic). On the down side, we always wore our heavy jackets to go downstairs for breakfast in the morning (this was late February and there was no fire). Our room was warm enough but quite small, the shower didn't drain well, and the decor seemed to outshine the construction quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We had had a long day of rainy travel before our arrival. There was a fire going, hot tea served, and then we had our choice of rooms. One of my traveling mates took the "Princess Room" - pink and purple and very sweet. I took the penthouse which had a phenomenal view of the city.

Good firm bed, lighting, towels, fun bath, and enough heat (this is a concern when traveling in the winter in Morocco).

Nice gentlemen running the place, and, a great breakfast was served.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylintheDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This ended up being our favorite hotel of our Moroccan trip. It is a beautiful property with friendly owners and a good breakfast. The location requires climbing a lot of steps, so it may not be suitable for everybody.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neildean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Dar Meziana was perfect from the first moment we arrived. The young man who greeted us Mourat (sorry if not spelled correctly) was very helpful from the beginning, carrying our luggage from the taxi to the hotel. There are a few steps up to the hotel, so this was appreciated. This is one of the loveliest alleys in the town though, we looked forward to climbing the steps to "our" Riad each time. The Dar is decorated in beautiful Moroccan style and you really feel like you are royalty ! We sat by the fire for a little while in the evening to warm up as it was February so this was very appreciated. The rooms were all really lovely and comfortable. We had trouble turning our heat on so you may want them to turn it on for you. The rooftop terrace was the nicest we have seen, we enjoyed our breakfast in the warm sun immensely. The breakfast was great, more than most riads with eggs and fresh baked Moroccan bread. Overall, the price was a steal for such a lovely place (especially compared to most of Western Europe), experience authentic, staff friendly, location convenient. We were very happy with our stay and hope to return again soon. I also must say this town was our favorite stop in Morocco- a must see ! We wished we stayed longer here ! Enjoy !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferkoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Perleta
Casa Perleta
#1 of 23 in Chefchaouen
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#3 of 23 in Chefchaouen
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Echchaouen
Dar Echchaouen
#4 of 23 in Chefchaouen
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Meziana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Meziana

Property: Dar Meziana
Address: n 07 Rue Zagdud | Bab Souk, Chefchaouen, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Meziana 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you very much for your interest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Meziana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Meziana Chefchaouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing