We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Perfection in Chefchaoune”
Review of Dar Meziana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Meziana
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Both Dar Meziana and Chefchaoune were both unexpected highlights of our stay in Morocco. The climb to the beautiful entry towards the Dar gave some hint of the lovely interior to this small but friendly hotel.

Our room (Sidi Youssef) was at the top of the house, and commanded wonderful views across the terraces and roof tops of the town. The bright colorful décor and comfortable surroundings were exactly what we needed after an afternoon of exploration. Mourad & Mamdouh provided attentive and thorough service, including helping us to arrange a grand taxi to Fez at short notice.

I highly recommend Dar Meziana for couples looking for a romantic escape in a wonderful setting.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter-Egypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2009

I would definitely recommend this hotel. The rooms were great (and I can use the plural for a reason; read on), the breakfasts good, the associated restaurant was Ok, the location was good, etc. The problem for us was that when we checked in, they offered us a choice of rooms. What they didn't tell us what that the next day the room that we had chosen was already reserved, so they forced us to move. Since we had made reservations months in advance, we weren't very happy. However, other than that, the Meziana is a good establishment to stay in while in Chefchaouen. The rooms were beautiful, the breaksfasts were good, the views nice, and the dinners at the restaurant owned by the same people were good. The closest bar is the hotel Parador in the main square.
They do have wireless internet on the first floor, but connections are intermittent.
Parking is outside the medina. Make sure to pay the attendants!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhikeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

An intimate riad filled with light and good vibes. On a quiet street, great views from the terraces, very friendly staff, a great value. The rooms and interior courtyard are designed with the arts and the crafts of the region in mind. The staff is very well organized with local information and advice. Go, stay, enjoy. Solid breakfast and price includes dinner in town at a related restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robnorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We went to take up our booking at Casa Hassan but it appeared that it was overbooked. Before we knew it we were led through the winding streets on a 5 minute walkfinally arriving at Dar Meziana. We were pretty unhappy at this un-discussed detour, but upon entering, we were pleasantly surprised to find this beautifully decorated house with a variety of rooms, each with their own disinctive character. We looked at all the rooms at the different rice ranges and decided to take the best one on the top floor. It had the most amazing view from the elevated position. Just below us was the open area where breakfast was served, or where we spent the afternoon just reading books - it too had an amazing view. The bathrooms were beautifully decorated. The room had a bar fridge and air-conditioning. The staff managing the place were really sweet and ensured that our stay was enjoyable.

I would advise that after your arrival that you have someone lead you back to the main square and that you take the time to make a small map. After a day or two you will love the fact that you are not in the middle of all the other places and you will get to know the people and shops in the area. Great fun!

Oh and BTW, we had a deal whereby we were able to eat at the Casa Hassan every night ................... and I can honestly say .......... it was consistently THE BEST food we had in our month of travelling around Morocco.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoLenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Martina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank tif3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#3 of 24 in Chefchaouen
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#1 of 24 in Chefchaouen
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 24 in Chefchaouen
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#15 of 24 in Chefchaouen
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
#5 of 24 in Chefchaouen
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Yakout
Dar Yakout
#16 of 24 in Chefchaouen
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Meziana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Meziana

Address: n 07 Rue Zagdud | Bab Souk, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Price Range: £50 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Meziana 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you very much for your interest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Dar Meziana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Meziana Chefchaouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing