We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in Chefchaouen”
Review of Hotel Dar Mounir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dar Mounir
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location in Chefchaouen”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I loved staying here as it was close to the main square, in the medina, had a beautiful rooftop terrace, reliable wifi, a/c, friendly staff and an authentic feel. I found the staff to be super friendly from the cleaning ladies that did not speak English but showed us how to get to Dar Mounir's restaurant in the square when we first arrived to the staff at the front desk. The rooms were small, but comfortable and definitely enough room for 2. The rooftop terrace was my favourite part of the hotel especially at sunset. We spent our last night there having dinner and welcoming the sunset. What an amazing feeling especially as you hear the call to prayer. Since you are in the middle of the medina, there are about 3-4 mosques nearby so you hear it several times over. You can have your food brought up to the terrace from the hotel's restaurant. The restaurant is a few minutes walk away in the square, but they happily bring your food there. A great way to enjoy a meal and moroccan mint tea! I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family and hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrees71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    54
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
40
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

its location is good enough and it's only a short walk from the plaza, but tends to be noisy, especially when we were there at the end of Ramadan.

rooms are tiny and water temperature of shower not steady. the queer shape of the door makes it hard to enter. staff are in general friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watakeet_boris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I was super badly attended, made ​​a reservation for a double room simple, they wanted me to pay more than the amount negotiated since had an overbooking, and only had a double room with lounge. on the second day made ​​me change rooms because of not having paid what they offered, and so provided the room I was hired I was forced to change, poor cleaning, and poor organization. not recommend this hotel to anyone. I moved to another hotel the service was great and were super attentive hotel hassan house.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lualuna193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The hotel room should have been 40 euros at the most, not 80 which is the price of an upscale Riad. A chilly reception was followed by no toilet paper or shampoo in room. Hotel frequently unattended and help took 20 minutes to arrive.

Though the facilities are indeed clean. Rooms cute but very small. Hostels next door offer better service with equivalent rooftop.

My only hotel experience in Chefchaouen but priced like a big touristy place without the value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j3p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Central in Medina of Chaouen. Very helpful staff who spoke great english. Room was very nice, cute, large shower but slightly small. This didn't mater at all with great rooftop terrace overlooking stunning chaouen. Breakfast nice, served on terrace, slight delay in service not an issue given beautiful surrounds and fact that is delivered by hand by owner of nearby restaurant/cafe who carries tray up and down many steps in this hilly town (very nice man). Would recommend. Cheaper options around for room size but wouldn't trade terrace for the discount!

Room Tip: First floor remains very cool during hot moroccan days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timcutfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stayed 2 nights at this place with my husband and two friends. We only booked one night but loved it so much we stayed for two. Gorgeous, affordable, tastefully decorated place with lovely staff who were not only welcoming and accommodating but advised us on the best things to do. Great communal areas and a wonderful terrace. I loved the rooms - especially the way they had designed the compact bathrooms in the standard doubles: really special design. Also - the food from their café up the hill is fresh and tasty. They can order it to the hotel (and breakfast comes from there).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stayed two days at this hotel and it was one of the best experiences I had in Morocco. It was clean and the room was comfortable. They gave me the option of breakfast in my room, on the rooftop, or at their cafe down the street. The rooftop had a great view of the city and was very quiet, so you can actually enjoy the view. Overall, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Perleta
Casa Perleta
#1 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 mi away
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
#11 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 23 in Chefchaouen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Echchaouen
Dar Echchaouen
#4 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar Mounir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar Mounir

Property: Hotel Dar Mounir
Address: | Zankat Kadi Alami Hay Souika, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dar Mounir 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Pearl Chefchaouen: the blue pearl of the Moroccan Rif. At 600 meters altitude, the city is located at the foot of the high mounts Kelaa and Meggou which protect it. Now renowned for its blue-painted whitewashed houses, Chefchaouen is an unusual place where tourists from all over the world come to enjoy an exceptional quality of life where calm, serenity and spirituality reign. It is a city out of time, where the rhythm of the days is organized around the majestic calls to prayer, which resonate in the mountains Our Hotel The heart of the old medina is the main square of Outa El Hammam. 50 meters from this square where hotel Dar Mounir is located whose entry is remarkable for its large blue door Arab-Andalusian style. Our hotel is located in the former home of a famous Judge Chaouni and is today a family institution, since we are three brothers to manage it. It is in 2007 that the establishment opens its doors after difficult work, due in particular to the geographical situation of Chefchaouen which makes it painful the routing of materials and furnishings into the medina.. The hotel is organized, like many Moroccan houses, around a central well of light. The public areas consist of two lounges, one large, where you will like to relax by the fireplace in the winter and a smaller one near the entrance. The terrace offers panoramic views of the medina and the mountains, and is sunny all day. If the need for shade is felt, you can also bask on the banquettes in the shelter of our khaima (traditional Moroccan tent) where our clients love to have their breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Dar Mounir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing