We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good service but horrible facilities”
Review of Hotel Dar Mounir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dar Mounir
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We visited during winter thus it was cold and rainy.

The staff said the heating radiator would be turned on at night but it was not. Thus, we had to sleep in a freezing temperature and the blankets were certainly not sufficient.

That said, the housekeeping service was good as the housekeeping women cleaned our room to a good condition. They even packed our toiletries into our luggage for us when we left them in the toilet.

That said, the service staff do not speak much English thus it makes for hard communication. Nevertheless, they were helpful and gave us directions when we needed.

The hotel is also quite a good location from a touristy square with restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldadventurer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

Beautifully restored small hotel in a very convenient place near to the main square.
Good room and bathroom. Although the Restaurant was being refurbished when we visited, we took our breakfast at the owner's cafe in the main square two minutes away. He also went out of his way to send over our dinner to the hotel where we could eat in the small sitting room or on the panoramic roof terrace. The food was excellent. The only meal eaten out was at a Restaurant called La Lampe Magique and it was terrible! All show, poor food and dreary service. So we would recomment eating at Dar Mounir. All the staff were very helpful and the hotel was spotlessly clean. Don't be put off going through the beginning of the Medina to the entrance, under an old leaning building and up a few steps - it's lovely inside. Only problem - not used to hearing the call to prayer at 4am, but it's all part of the experience!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Intrigued068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Although it's truly a hike to get to, the hotel's location is truly one of the best I've ever stayed in. It's right near the top of the hill literally around the corner from the old mdina. The house itself is enormous - I wasn't expecting that. The rooms are lovely. When my sister and I arrived for our three-day stay, we seemed to be among the only guests, and the staff were so accommodating that by the end of the first night we almost felt like we lived there. Also, it's worth mentioning that the local staff (when we were there) spoke English, French and Spanish.

Most hotels in Chefchaouen do have some sort of rooftop balcony, and perhaps it was the exhaustion of the journey but it is truly a sight to behold - mountains above you, and the town rolling into the valley below. It's a really warm and welcoming place and I have some brilliant memories of it. I don't know how much more the rooms cost now compared to when we were there, but I found this place to be a hidden gem amongst its bigger and more well-known rivals.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Amalfi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Carmen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 24 in Chefchaouen
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#3 of 24 in Chefchaouen
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parador
Hotel Parador
#18 of 24 in Chefchaouen
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#2 of 24 in Chefchaouen
137 reviews
31.8 mi away
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
#12 of 24 in Chefchaouen
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
#5 of 24 in Chefchaouen
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar Mounir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar Mounir

Address: Zankat Kadi Alami | Zankat Kadi Alami Hay Souika, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Price Range: £47 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dar Mounir 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Pearl Chefchaouen: the blue pearl of the Moroccan Rif. At 600 meters altitude, the city is located at the foot of the high mounts Kelaa and Meggou which protect it. Now renowned for its blue-painted whitewashed houses, Chefchaouen is an unusual place where tourists from all over the world come to enjoy an exceptional quality of life where calm, serenity and spirituality reign. It is a city out of time, where the rhythm of the days is organized around the majestic calls to prayer, which resonate in the mountains Our Hotel The heart of the old medina is the main square of Outa El Hammam. 50 meters from this square where hotel Dar Mounir is located whose entry is remarkable for its large blue door Arab-Andalusian style. Our hotel is located in the former home of a famous Judge Chaouni and is today a family institution, since we are three brothers to manage it. It is in 2007 that the establishment opens its doors after difficult work, due in particular to the geographical situation of Chefchaouen which makes it painful the routing of materials and furnishings into the medina.. The hotel is organized, like many Moroccan houses, around a central well of light. The public areas consist of two lounges, one large, where you will like to relax by the fireplace in the winter and a smaller one near the entrance. The terrace offers panoramic views of the medina and the mountains, and is sunny all day. If the need for shade is felt, you can also bask on the banquettes in the shelter of our khaima (traditional Moroccan tent) where our clients love to have their breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dar Mounir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing