We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay here again”
Review of Dar Dalia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Dalia
Ranked #14 of 63 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never stay here again”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The first day I arrived at Dar Dalia, I was told by the owner "you are the only one to stay here today, you can use it as your home" I realized the meaning soon after, which was the owner or any other stuff won't stay at the Dar in the evening. The owner said "it's Ramadan, I go home in the evening to have meal with my family, you are free here alone!" Why I have to be a guard for the Dar as a customer? Why I have to feel so unsafe? In the end, another customers stayed, I wasn't alone, but you never know what could happen, there may be any facility trouble or another customers might not be trustable. He could hire someone to stay in the evening if he wants to go home, just like any other accommodations. Or he should close the Dar during Ramadan. He wants to make money, but also wants holidays... He must not be an owner for accommodation.

Other than feeling unsafe, it was quite good location, wifi worked well in the bedroom too. However, at this one point, I NEVER recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CedKe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    32
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
48
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Staing at Dar Dalia was a great experience. We were very well received, Remy was gentel and helpfull. The location is perfect. The room was confortable and clean and The great breakfast was served in The terrace with a panoramic view. Wonderfull place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in a quiet time. The manager Abdul upgraded us to the best and warmest room, recommended restaurants, gave us directions to a number of places and arranged a time to put on the fire for us. We had the whole place to ourselves, Abdul came at nights to put on the fire and in the mornings to cool us breakfast. He was friendly and polite whilst not overbearing. We left early one morning and he organised a take away breakfast for us to have on the road. We really liked that we didn't feel pressured to tip like you do at most places (though of course we did anyway). Thanks Abdul :) Rachael and Kirsten

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstSpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend in January, and had a wonderful time. Remi the owner went out of his way to make us feel welcome, and gave us tips on where to go and what to see. Breakfast was prepared fresh each morning, and was delicious. The location was unbeatable- right in the medina, a short walk to the water fall and one of the best views in Chefchaouen. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend Dar Dalia to anyone visiting Chefchaouen!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALau85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The owner Remi is one of the most accommodating hosts I've ever had the pleasure of encountering. He was always a the ready to help with scheduling a taxi ride or just making sure we were comfortable in general. Dar Dalia itself had plenty of charm from it's decor to the fireplace to the roomy yet cozy bedrooms. The terrace is a fantastic spot to sit and have some tea with some local Moroccan cookies, which you can buy from a friendly gent a 30 second walk away next to the nearby bridge. At night you can see stars, which is a big deal for a metropolitan city dweller such as myself. The medina is a 5 minute walk away and there a nice hiking trail also about 5 minutes away. Breakfast was always bountiful and there's even a washing machine if you're in need of it. All in all it was a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here one night in Chefchaouen but then had to stay elsewhere because they were booked the next two nights. It was our favorite place we stayed on our whole trip. the room was quiet and private. Everything in the room functioned properly (the only place we stayed that we can say that about) and the room was very charming, painted with beautiful bright colors and was absolutely gorgeous. We had our own private terrace, as well as access to the roof terrace which had great views and was really beautiful.

The location is great since it is an easy walk up to the main plaza in the medina and easy walk up along the creek that is the water source, where families come to wash laundry and relax in parks. The area of town felt safe as well and there were two little shops right nearby to by any snacks or toiletries that we needed.

Dar Dalia is very well kept and very clean and beautiful. The manager is very meticulous and organized with upkeep and scheduling. He spoke perfect English and was extremely helpful recommending places for us to eat and look around in Chefchoauen. He was a wonderful resource and helped us find another place to stay for the following nights. On new years eve we wanted to stay in and have a quiet night and he made us tea and a fire in the fire place. It really felt like home away from home and made for a lovely evening.

We especially loved the way breakfast worked at Dar Dalia because it was the only place we stayed that had a communal breakfast table. We got to chat with the other guests, which was fun.

Lastly, we loved the ambiance at Dar Dalia, which was much different than the place we ended up staying the other two nights in Chefchaouen. We traveled to Chefchaouen for the laid back atmosphere and beautiful scenery, not for the marijuana industry in the region. Our other hotel seemed to cater more to travelers interested in that aspect of tourism in Chefchaouen, while the travelers who stayed at Dar Dalia were families and other travelers interested in exploring the beautify of the town and mountains.

We highly highly recommend Dar Dalia. Great place, great manager, lovely experience.

Room Tip: We had the room with the private terrace that was painted Green and it was a Great room! But I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warszawa
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is a perfect place to stay in Chefchouen. The hotel is well located, just few steps to the old medina and also few steps to hit the mountains. The room we stayed in (4 people) was nicely furnished, simple but with a taste. We had also our private bathroom. The owner (he is French) gave us a very warm welcome and explained in detail how we can get to the medina and to the mountains. He was very helpfull. The last day after the check-out we could leave our luggage at the hotel and go visiting. He also called out taxi drive to make sure he will pick us up. The breakfast was very tasty, prepared by the owner and served on the terrace on the roof. Perfect! Next time if I come to Chefchouen, I will stay at Dar Dalia for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zellchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Perleta
Casa Perleta
#1 of 23 in Chefchaouen
589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 23 in Chefchaouen
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Zaitouna Chaouen
Riad Zaitouna Chaouen
#2 of 63 in Chefchaouen
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Dalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Dalia

Property: Dar Dalia
Address: 9, rue Sidi Ahmed El Ouafi | Place Sebanine, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Dalia is a guest house located on the source road in Chefchaouen. This traditional house has been completely restored with traditional and local materials. In order to respect the environment, the house is equipped with a solar system for heating water. While preserving its authenticity, the pleasures of modern comfort have been added. Dar Dalia offers its guests tranquility, friendliness and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dar Dalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing