We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uncaring expensive hotel”
Review of Hotel Dar Terrae

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Dar Terrae
Ranked #18 of 56 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Uncaring expensive hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We stayed in this hotel for one night. We were going to stay longer, but...
It is very pretty; but the rooms are small, and we had a private, but separate outside our room, bathroom. (It was the tiniest bathroom I have ever seen.) I went to have a shower before going to bed, but the cold water tap fell off. I am reasonably mechanically competent, but I was unable to replace it and could get no cold water in the shower. The hot water was hot, which meant it was impossible to have a shower.
The hotel floor is tiled inside, and that night there were noisy people on the ground floor until the early hours; despite our room being on the top floor, the noise carried and kept us awake for a long time.
In the morning, there was no apology about the cold water tap; the boy managing the hotel appeared quite unworried about it, and his only concern was that we pay the full amount for the room - despite being totally unable to have a shower or any reasonable form of wash.
I told him I would be writing this review, and he didn't seem to care.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank bensonsanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    35
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
16
53
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2009

This hotel is very nicely decorated and the rooms are so cosy. My kids loved it!
The service of the owners, Cosimo and Bilal is so good. Its starts with the lovely breakfast and also dinner (on request) was really excellent. When the musicfestival is in town you definitely must go to Chaouen. They also have a website: www.darterrae.com

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterdamDjambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We absolutely loved Dar Terrae and were sorry to leave after our two night stay. Situated in the centre of the Medina the hotel is perfect for seeing the sights of Chefchaouen, although we were often tempted just to sit in the courtyard enjoying the atrmosphere.

The hotel is decorated in the same way as the medina with blue washed walls and decorative features. Our room was directly adjacent to the courtyard which meant there was a little noise but this all added to the charm of the hotel. Our room was very small but cosy, a perfect little mountain cabin with an en suite bathroom with a very welcome hot shower and western toilet.

The staff here were friendly and cheery, we were served a lovely italian breakfast on the terrace each morning, and never felt pressured to be in a hurry. The atmosphere was relaxed and in keeping with the whole of the town.

This hotel is not a 5 star experience but that's not really what anyone is looking for in Chefchaouen, it had all the necessary comforts, it was spotless, and made up for any lack in sophistication with plenty of charm.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Booking was a challenge. Altho there is a website the property only take bookings by phone. We booked for three nights with an en suite room. On arrival we were shown to a small room which opened off one of the terraces. It was then explained that the private bathroom was off a few stairs outside the room. There was no heating in the room or the bathroom and it was v cold.

We decided to move hotels and went back to tell Dar Terrae that we would check out a day early. Despite it being early afternoon after our first night, nobody had discussed us checking out and we had booked for three nights. On telling them we were leaving early, we were told we were only booked for one night and they were full! To top it all off we then charged DH20 for having a fire lit in our room.

The place itself is pretty with each room having a terrace. It's not suitable for winter weather as there is nowhere inside to have breakfast or sit and they need to make it clear that the bathroom is not in the room. It may be ok if you have an en suite room but we didn't see what they were like. Breakfast was fine.

  • Liked — Terraces with each room
  • Disliked — No private bathroom and v cold
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonCocktailGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Perleta
Casa Perleta
#1 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
31.7 mi away
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
#11 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Meziana
Dar Meziana
#13 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar Terrae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar Terrae

Property: Hotel Dar Terrae
Address: M'daka | Quartier Andalous, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dar Terrae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing