We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room. Clean. Great breakfast.”
Review of Hotel Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Madrid
Ranked #32 of 59 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
Dunedin, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice room. Clean. Great breakfast.”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

This was a great find. Covered parking next door with watchman. Beautiful old hotel. Nice rooms. Very clean. Wonderful breakfast. Ideal place to stay in Chefchaouen. Staff is friendly and helpful. They showed us several rooms and allowed us to pick which one we wanted. Everything is within walking distance in this small city.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank shecky_stardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    44
    26
    9
    6
See reviews for
6
29
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I booked this hotel as I failed to reserve a room at the other hotels listed in my guide book. One of the most expensive one I stayed during my one month travel in Morocco. (24 Euros for single) But it was not so good as expected from the price. The room was pretty and clean as mentioned in other reviews. It had a electric heater for cold weather, too. On the other hand, the WIFI really sucked. It rarely worked for two days. Breakfast was only marginally better when compared to those of other hotels with cookies and flakes. Only recommendable if other options are not available.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J Hoon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Such a feminine hotel, with pink bed sheets, and lace.
Its just located 10mins walk from entrance of medina.
Chefchaouene is such a lovely place. The blue and white houses in medina just remind you of santorini in greece.
You can walk up to the view point on top of the hill and the view is just magnificent.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerminatorT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is a good budget hotel. The main room down stairs is well decorate and we had the best breakfast of our trip. The bedroom looks good, and was clean, but as with most of the hotels in this price range the tiling isn't fantastic. Good location short walk to main square.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Really feels like Morocco - even the pink walls are worth putting up with. Good breakfast. Lounge area a great place for sitting and chatting. Also a really convenient place to stay. Well worth the climb from the bus station.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazTKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I loved this place! The location right outside the center meant it was quiet at night. The over- the-top andalusian decor really seems to have perplexed some, but I thought it was quite fitting. The staff all seemed to be teenagers, but were very helpful and super friendly. The breakfast was good; tea and cookies upon arrival even better. My room and bathroom were clean and I didn't find the stairs hazardous at all. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderercf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamiltonNZ
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This place has sooo much potential but is in need of some very strong management and maintenance.
My room was at the top of seven flights of stairs with no lift. Thats not too bad...but the stairs were a deathtrap. The carpert was a hazard as the metal bars that hold the carpet in place were missing or flapping around. Had there been a need to evacuate in the middle of the night it would have been a disaster.
My room was hard to unlock and then impossible to lock again so I had to sleep with my bags aganist the door.
There was no AC in the rooms and it was unbearable. It was 37 outside and I beleive it was close to 45-48 in my room. Even with the small window open there was no relief and I woke up the next day with a huge headache.
When I went to have a shower there were no towells in the room. Other guests were told to go up to the roof and collect their towels from the terrace clothesline. This is not acceptable.
I did not enjoy my stay at all here...and was glad to leave.

However, the one saving grace was that breakfast was lovely. There was a good vareity and it was well stocked.

But I would suggest that unless this hotel has a major revamp...do not stay here.

Room Tip: If you value your safety in an emergency situatiuon...do not stay here until there has been an impro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chefchaouen hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chefchaouen
0.0 mi away
Ksar Tinsouline
Ksar Tinsouline
#7 of 12 in Zagora
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parador
Hotel Parador
#15 of 23 in Chefchaouen
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 23 in Chefchaouen
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aline Hostel
Aline Hostel
#6 of 31 in Chefchaouen
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madrid

Property: Hotel Madrid
Address: Ave Hassa II, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing