We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very bad hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Madrid
Ranked #21 of 55 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
madrid
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very bad hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

This hotel is leaking sewage, smelly, dirty and unpleasant service. It's very expensive money quiality-price.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chinatorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moroccan House H, Directeur général at Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest ,
And readers of TripAdvisor:
We unfortunately face sometimes face this kind of problem: guests claiming that the hotel’s very dirty and unpleasant , while they didn’t make any comment or claim while they were present in the hotel .
The reality’s some websites show a low price which doesn’t include taxes paid in the hotel: it’s written on vouchers and mails of reservation’s confirmation, but guests omit to read or print this part of the mail .
TripAdvisor is a platform made to help people wherever in the world to have a better knowledge of the hotels. Not a way of revenge by giving false affirmations.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    43
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
6
28
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

This is a very good hotel with many small details. For example, there was a welcome tea in the reception area. The rooms are nicely decorated, well equipped (for example, safety box in rooms) and clean. Breakfast is better than in most Moroccan hotels. The reception area is full of traditional Moroccan furniture and decoration. The location is excellent (1 min. walk from the Medina).
Nothing to complain.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

Getting to Chefchaouen can be tiresome. We traversed five hours of narrow road from Fes, but the smiles of the staff at the Hotel Madrid, the spotless bathrooms and kitschy decor soothed our diesel fume spirits. Each bathroom comes equipped with all the extras you might have forgotten: toothbrush, toothpaste, razor, comb, and shampoo. The beds are comfortable, the tvs equipped with an English movie channel, and lots of great restaurants close by. We tried Chez Aziz, down the street for pizza, fresh fruit drinks and pastries you won't tell your personal trainer about. But the ups and downs of the mountain town will take the pounds off, so enjoy, enjoy, enjoy. The breakfast at the Madrid is ample for even the pickiest eater, with both Moroccan tea and coffee, pastries, cheese, bread, and all the trimmings.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maeslou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald Green State, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

From the moment walking into this place to the moment we left - amazing memories full of laughter with wonderful staff.

Perhaps because we stayed in Chefchaouen for almost two weeks, we loved this place and got to know staff working there very well. We couldn't leave this place without hugs and exchanging e-mails, phone numbers.

Rooms are very clean, cleaning ladies will wash your clothes if needed for a small fee (3-5 dollars).

Breakfast is amazing that is included into the price! Everything is ORGANIC! Moroccan tea and "cofe con leche" can be furnished into rooms or in downstairs semi-plush beautiful seating area.

Very convenient location to medina and all the attractions this town has to offer. Staff are very protective of you and will not let you go astray or be taken advantage. Don't be affraid to ask them of anything!

Ask for room that is on the third floor above the entrance - the roomiest place available for the same price! Canopy beds, wonderful smells of incense (sometimes of hashish). Ask the front staff where is a good place to eat (they are very honest) - they will recommend restaurants including - Kasbah and Ali-Baba! After a couple of days we learned that these two places are the most reasonable and enviting! Don't mind those cats - they will not bother you untill you share your leftovers.

We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rushin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
245 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2009

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the medina. Make sure yoou get a room on the top floors as the bottom rooms are dark. We were there in winter and the hotel was cold - very cold no heating in the common areas. The room was also cold - they provided extra blankets and there is a heater that is not very effective. The shower provides a small stream of warm water.

The hotel is value for money as we paid abou $40 per night for two of us including breakfast. Coffee was great, breakfast ok. In this case we got what we paid for - no supprises and the staff are very helpfull and friendly. All could speak english. I would use it again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chefchaouen
0.0 mi away
Ksar Tinsouline
Ksar Tinsouline
#7 of 11 in Zagora
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parador
Hotel Parador
#15 of 24 in Chefchaouen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dar Zman
Dar Zman
#17 of 55 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Koutoubia
Hotel Koutoubia
#7 of 55 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Nokhba Inn
Dar Nokhba Inn
#35 of 55 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madrid

Property: Hotel Madrid
Address: Ave Hassa II, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing