We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would Stay Here Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa La Palma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa La Palma
Ranked #2 of 54 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Would Stay Here Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

My partner and I stayed at Casa La Palma for two nights in July and would highly recommend it. When we arrived in Chefchaouen, we called Carlos, and he came down to meet us and walk us up to the guesthouse. As mentioned by a previous poster, this guesthouse is up many stairs; if you are reasonably fit and healthy, it will be fine. If you have any challenges with mobility, this would not be the best choice for you.

Because it was low season, we were the only people staying at Casa La Palma. Carlos toured us around the guesthouse and let us choose our room. He also gave us water and figs as a snack—nice touch.

The room that we chose was darker than the rest—we picked this room purposefully because it was July and we wanted to be cooler. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious—with a shower, toilet, and sink. There was a great sitting area on the roof with fabulous views of all of Chefchaouen and it was a great place to absorb the call to prayer.

Carlos gave us tips about restaurants, chatted with us quite a bit, and even was able to get our laundry done with a quick turnaround.

Finally, our bus out of town wasn’t until 3pm, so Carlos allowed us to stay in our room until we left which allowed us to shower after a morning of hiking before our bus journey. I would definitely recommend Casa La Palma to others visiting Chefchaouen.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hereishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    15
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
105
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

We booked this riad because of the previous reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed. We were graciously met at the main entrance to the medina by the owner Carlos, which was a very nice treat because it saves you time and energy walking aimlessly on your own.

The riad itself is situated near the top of the medina and the terrace provides quite possibly the best view of the city. There are 5 rooms within the riad and all are very spacious. The beds are comfortable and there is lots of bedding provided if the temperature is to drop. The room and bathroom was very clean...rooms made up daily. The shower was a treat as it had good pressure, very hot water and drained properly.

On our last days we caught an early bus and had to leave the riad at 6 am. We asked Carlos if it would be possible to pack some bread and cheese for breakfast on the bus. When we left in the morning there was a package all made up for us with bread, cheese, bananas and lemon squares.

Overall this place has been one of our favorites. It is set in a quiet location, clean rooms, comfy beds, great breakfast and wonderful hospitality.

Take Carlos' advise and eat at Dar Gabriel (great food, huge portions and you cant beat the price).

One thing to note. The riad is located at the top of the medina so there are about 150 stairs to climb.....but with all the positives of this place, and the view alone, it is a very small price to pay.
Carlos is a gratious host and takes pride in what he has created. The riad may not be very large but what it lacks in size in makes up for in hospitality. My wife and I truly felt like we could make ourselves at home.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbumandbumette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

The best accommodation we had in Morocco, everything from bed comfort to light switch is very well thought to make us feel just as home (to be honest, it was even better than my own home!!) Carlos is a friendly nice guy who enjoys a chat with us over breakfast, evening... he was just like our dad who always made sure we were ok and he offered us to call him if we encounter any problem in other cities :)
We will definitely go back when we visit Chefchaouen again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glo_leg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Hands down, this was my favourite place to stay in all of Morocco. Carlos and Anna are fabulous hosts who will make you feel at home, give you excellent tips about travelling in Morocco and staying in Chef, cook an excellent breakfast and overall are just plain wonderful. Casa La Palma is in a great location, up a few steep stairs, but with great views overlooking Chef and easy access to hiking and restaurants. The place is really clean, cozy and is very inviting. Great value for the money. You will not regret staying here.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thebestlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

Carols and Ana are the best. You feel like you are at home. I have booked a room via phone, everything was ok. Casa is located a few minutes from center, it has beautiful view over town. Go with Ana to market.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floatzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

An inspired setting and clean, comfortable accommodations. Ana and Carlos took good care of us for two nights, helping when asked with recommendations and other needs. Their lovely casa is within the medina at the top of the hill; be advised that getting there requires a hike. Memorable breakfast served on the tiled rooftop terrace, weather permitting. Outstanding 360 degree view of the town and mountains beyond.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecotravelforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

Situated in a very nice part of Chaouen. It is very calm place, very clean...Rooms are great, and what amazed me the most are our hosts Ana and her husband Carlos who made our stay very pleasent. So, if You ever come to Morocco and this unique small city, you will be very happy and satisfied with this accomodation. I would recommend Casa La Palma to all travellers who want to feel as they are at home.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dejan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#4 of 23 in Chefchaouen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.9 mi away
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
#11 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
#5 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa La Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Palma

Property: Casa La Palma
Address: 52 M'Tilaa | Quartier Andalouss, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa La Palma is a charming Maison D'Hotes located at the very top of the ancient Medina of Chefchaouen, just few minutes walking from the main square, Outa El- Hamman. The house (inaugurated in July, 2007)is completely renovated and consists of 5 bedrooms (all with bathroom), lounge, kitchen and two terraces on different levels from which to enjoy a wonderful view or sunbathing while having breakfast in the natural products of the area. Wood stove heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa La Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing