We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around wonderful”
Review of Casa La Palma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa La Palma
Ranked #3 of 69 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Casa La Palma is Anna and Carlos. While everything about the place is great, the rooms are simple but cozy, the food is fabulous, the water is hot, the roof-top terrace is perfect, what makes this place special are the owners. From the moment we called (last minute) to find a room, until we left three days later at some ungodly hour in the morning (there was Carlos to make sure we got off ok), Anna and Carlos were responsive, generous, and gracious hosts.

If you're looking for the height of luxury, Casa La Palma is not for you. It's not what they strive for, and certainly no what you pay for. Prices are very reasonable and the value is excellent.

Every one of their restaurant recommendations were spot on, so be sure to ask. And when you get tired of Moroccan fare or want a restful night in, they'll be happy to prepare (a delicious) dinner for you at the Casa. And as we left too early to have breakfast on our last day, Anna was kind enough to pack us one to go for the long bus trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I stayed with Ana and Carlos for two nights and they were wonderful hosts. From the time we booked over email, communication was prompt and helpful. They picked up bus tickets for us in advance and Carlos met us at the city gate to walk us to the B&B.

We were the only guests staying there at the time so we had our choice of rooms. We chose room #3. Love the colourful and cozy decor. We moved to room #2 for our second night and liked that room even more! Water was nice and hot in the shower and tap. There are strong space heaters and warm blankets provided for the chilly winter months. There was a toasty fireplace in the common area upstairs, too. Beautiful light fixtures. Lots of books on Morocco, Spanish books and English books to browse through.

The real highlight of our stay was Ana and Carlos themselves. I was sick with an ear infection while I was there and they took real concern for my well being. They were a pleasure to talk to and very kind.

Breakfast was very good - crepes with nutella, scrambled eggs, fruit, bread, juice and tea. Location is very nice but I don't think you can go wrong in this beautiful town! Wifi worked very well. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Room #2 is quieter than room #3. I stayed in each for one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissWanderlustCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We chose Casa La Palma because if its great reviews on trip advisor, and we were not disappointed. Anna and Carlos were by far the best hosts we had in Morocco. They were incredibly helpful with suggestions about where to go and what to see, and always made us feel at home. We had to leave early on our last day to catch a bus, and they prepared a delicious picnic breakfast for us take on our journey.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ILike2TravelHeaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Casa La Palma is located in a beautiful setting in the walled Medina and is hosted by a couple that bring hospitality to an art. Our room was well appointed and decorated in the style of the area. The bathroom was spacious and the shower a delight! Breakfasts were delicious and our hosts were able to accommodate my dietary restrictions. Eating on the roof terrace was an excellent way to start each day. In short I recommend Casa La Palma without reservation and am so grateful to Carlos and Anna for all their gracious care and many recommendations for things to do in and around Chefchaouen and even our next destination.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Magpiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights. The room was spacious as was the bathroom. It was meticulously clean and presented well. The sleep quality was excellent. The location is not too far from the centre. Chefchaouen is quite small . The bonus is that Casa Palma is up high and it affords you great views. It's also quiet. Now to the best part, Carlos and Ana are great hosts. There attention to detail is fantastic. They are very friendly and can't do enough for you. They are great ambassadors for Chefchaouen. No wonder Casa Palma is number one here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cdmm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I am so happy that me and my girlfriend decided to celebrate my birthday at Casa La Palma. From the very first moment the couple (Ana and Carlos), that at the same time runs and live at the place, makes you feel like if you were at home. Out of genuinely kindness, amongst many other things, they showed us around the town, pointing out their favorite places, and making sure that we would not pay over prices being tourists. Their house had a perfect location, on the hillside, with a beautiful view over the town, especially from their rooftop. It only takes about 5-10 minutes to walk to the centre square of the medina, going down staircases on narrow pretty alleys. Staying at this place made us get the best possible experience in the amazingly beautiful Chefchaouen. We hope that we someday can come back to Casa La Palma and see Ana and Carlos again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

With the orientation that Carlos provided from the rooftop of Casa La Palma, we were able to find and walk to everything in Chefchaouen. The accommodation was comfortable, and very much a part of the neighborhood. The breakfasts were very good, and the suggestions for dinner, excellent. Carlos also suggested some walks in the hills above the city which provided both exercise and some fine views of the area. Ana and Carlos also told us about the bus schedule to Fes, and, fortunately, encouraged us to buy the tickets at least one day ahead. (We would not have gotten seats if we had waited...) We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank over65traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#1 of 24 in Chefchaouen
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#6 of 24 in Chefchaouen
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Zaitouna Chaouen
Riad Zaitouna Chaouen
#1 of 69 in Chefchaouen
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Zambra
Dar Zambra
#5 of 69 in Chefchaouen
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Sababa
Dar Sababa
#4 of 69 in Chefchaouen
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Petite Chefchaouen
La Petite Chefchaouen
#7 of 69 in Chefchaouen
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa La Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Palma

Address: 52 M'Tilaa | Quartier Andalouss, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range: £37 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa La Palma is a charming Maison D'Hotes located at the very top of the ancient Medina of Chefchaouen, just few minutes walking from the main square, Outa El- Hamman. The house (inaugurated in July, 2007)is completely renovated and consists of 5 bedrooms (all with bathroom), lounge, kitchen and two terraces on different levels from which to enjoy a wonderful view or sunbathing while having breakfast in the natural products of the area. Wood stove heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa La Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing