We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Dar Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Gabriel
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My recent stay at Dar Gabriel was just lovely. The rooms are charming, the rooftop terrace beautiful and Ben and his staff could not have been more helpful. It also is in a great location with easy access to the souk. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mradany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

We had a wonderful three nights in Dar Gabriel. It is a beautiful place to have has a base. Ben and the other staff are unbelievable. They cannot do enough for you. Always on hand for advice and assistance. After a hard day haggling it is a great place to return to for some peace and quiet. We would highly recommend this Dar as the place to stay in Chefchaouen.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 942sunnysedella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Dar Gabriel is my favorite b&b among the 8+ places I've stayed at during my travels in Morocco. It is a lovely place for the price, with charming rooms and a stunning rooftop terrace with fabulous views. It is easy to find and a great base to explore the city. The best part, however, is the fantastic manager, Ben. Ben is the friendliest, nicest, happiest Moroccan I've ever met, and goes out of his way to make you feel welcome. He even went to the bus station to buy us tickets so we wouldn't have to waste the few hours we had to explore the city, and then was up at 6am to make sure our taxi arrived for the station. Ben has also done an unbelievable job restoring the property. I would DEFINITELY return to Dar Gabriel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bluescharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The owners are very friendly and they make you feel at home. The Hotel is absolutely beautiful. I arrived during a slow period and I had the entire roof top terrace to myself. I will stay there again! A+++

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shecky_stardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Dar Gabriel is a great place to stay in Chefchaouen. The hosts, especially Ben, were very welcoming and helpful.
The room was very clean and comfortable and so pretty.
There is a lovely roof top area to relax and take in the views over Chefchaouen.
We would highly recommend this place to travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bradandbron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

While there doesn’t seem to be a whole lot to do in Chefchaouen, that’s kind of the nice part – you can relax from the bustle of Morocco’s major cities. This place is ideal for that purpose. The owner, Ben Salam, was very nice and accommodating the whole time. The riad had plenty of character. A “typical” Morrocan breakfast -- Moroccan pancake/crepe with bread, jam, fresh cheese, fresh OJ and coffee/tea – is included. My only complaint: The room was not well-insulated for sound. While the other guests were not noisy, sleeping would have been difficult if they had been. Other than that, it was an enjoyable and relaxing stay. I’d definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank weezy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Considering that mere centuries ago invaders passing through the gates of Chefchaouen could meet a swift end after becoming lost in the labyrinth of alleyways therein, it was a comforting thing to have found Dar Gabriel in close proximity to Bab Souk, requiring no engagement with said labyrinth whilst toting a heavy pack nor bow-and-arrow wielding residents. These relieving facts at the end of a chaotic ride out Tangiers and through the city upon arrival cannot be overstated if one is keen to get a holiday started on the right foot. We were greeted at the door of the place by the lovely daughter of the hotels manager, the equally charming Ben Salaam. Along with his wife and children, Ben made my friend and I feel as if we were family, never failing to ask how he might make our trip better or our stay more enjoyable.

Upon entering the hotel one is greeted by the elegant but simple lobby with stunning Moroccan rugs, heavy wooden doors, lounges surrounding, and cascading natural light coming through the atrium running down the middle of the building. A Moroccan tent covers a direct view to the sky as you gaze up through the atrium but the affects of the air and light coming through prove to make the already dazzling colors and openness of the hotel that much more so. Ascending the stairs on each side of the lobby cutting back continuously on themselves and somehow contributing to the quaint and homey feel of the place you come to each floor and can look across the atrium at rooms that are each as unique as the place itself. Lounges on every level act as a great place to relax outside of your room and contribute to the communal feel that the managing family encourages. Two rooms standing alone on the upper level seemed to be the most desirable according to their proximity to the rooftop terrace overlooking the city. From this vantage point one can take in the setting sun as the call to prayer floats from the mosques in the city as well as across the valley. An equally wondrous spot to find oneself as the sun peaks through two ridges in the mountains above the city.

The rooms on this level are colorful, cozy, and complete with everything that one needs in a room with little in the way of frills. The bathroom is much the same with everything one needs and nothing they don't. The easy going nature of the town coupled with just the right amount of distance between the surprisingly bustling nightlife of the modern part of the city and the hotel makes for a quiet and restful place to lay down. Another fact which can't be overstated as a day of bargaining and hoofing it around the city will leave anyone longing for the tranquility found in these rooms.

The complimentary breakfast and the possibility of an authentic Moroccan dinner prepared for a small fee by the host family is one of the better parts of staying in this place. The dining lounge is adjacent to the lobby and offers a beautiful setting for either of these meals.

It would be nearly impossible to find anything that detracted from my stay throughout the 3 days in Dar Gabriel and many more things that contributed to my joy in small ways at having found such a place a place as this. I will certainly be back and couldn't encourage others enough to make the trip to Chaouen that much better by staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reginald_St_Croix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dargabriel, Owner at Dar Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

Hello, Penny here, owner of Dar Gabriel. thank you so much for your wonderful words about Bensalam and his family, it means a great deal, I will make sure that Salma (his daughter) sees it.
M
Thanks again and happy travels.
Penny Hogg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
31.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#6 of 23 in Chefchaouen
169 reviews
31.8 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#3 of 23 in Chefchaouen
502 reviews
31.8 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.9 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
126 reviews
31.7 mi away
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
#5 of 23 in Chefchaouen
188 reviews
31.8 mi away
Dar Meziana
Dar Meziana
#9 of 23 in Chefchaouen
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Gabriel

Address: Bab souk | Derb El kadi Benq Maimoum souk bad souk gate number 6, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Price Range: £51 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Gabriel is a beautifully restored boutique riad hotel in Chefchaouen, northern Morocco, with seven bedrooms all en-suite. Downstairs is a sitting room heated by a wood burning stove, a restaurant kitchen, and intimate dining room. There are four bedrooms on the middle floor, roof terraces, three more bedrooms with kitchen and chill out space at roof level. Great views across medina and the river valley, with the Rif mountains behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing