We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar Gabriel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Auberge Dardara(Chefchaouen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Puerta Azul(Chefchaouen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Hotel Casa Miguel(Chefchaouen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Dar Mounir(Chefchaouen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Parador(Chefchaouen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Casa Perleta(Chefchaouen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
150
68
14
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
68
14
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreadthe ownerauthentic placeterrace viewblue medinatop floorstayed one nightlovely placean amazing viewdartownmoroccomountainsshampoodoorwayrooftopswake
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I went back to Dar Gabriel after visiting previously, Ben Salam and his family were so welcoming and friendly, it was a great chance to relax. On my second day there we went to Akshour to see Gods Bridge- its beautiful and not far from the hotel, just a taxi ride away and a 1 hour walk.. Breathtaking! then I could relax in the fresh and clear waters that run in the gorge beneath Gods Bridge, there are loads of deep clear swimming holes that are so needed in the hot weather. Upon arrival back at the hotel the most exquisite dinner was ready for me! A perfect day..

Room Tip: Request the room at the top of the riad, spectacular view
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank misstrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Really an oasis of tranquility in bustling, sometimes frantic Chauoen. We planned to stay one night after a three week tour of the far south but extended our holiday and stayed three. If you want a grand hotel with liveried staff Dar Gabriel is not for you. If you want an intimate place run by a lovely Moroccan family with good home cooking and the Medina at your doorstep then this is the place. We will return.

Room Tip: Each room is very different and they are all nice. The manager, Ben, is happy to show you all that are free. We stayed on the next to the highest level with a small balcony overlooking the town and loved it. An added bonus was breakfast served on the terrace right by our room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulDawn268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Nice quiet dar 2 minutes from the Bab Souk door. Friendly staff gave limited advice when asked but we didn't ask (or get offered) much advice on excursions etcetera.

Our room was two singles pushed together but we took that over a double lower down in the dar. Ensuite with shower (but no dividing door/curtain, although you can't see from the bed into it). Small breakfast (a little pancake, plenty of bread, a bit of cheese, honey and olive oil with coffee and nice fresh orange juice) in relatively busy communal area.

Like Chaouen itself, Dar Gabriel is a relaxing break from the hustle and bustle of Fez etc.Good value especially with discount for 3+ nights. Would return if in Chefchouen again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have more air (effectively they are on the terrace) and more isolated from other guests.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RA_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

amazing place and really gentle people there! best place in chaouen!
clean place and really good dinners (better than any restaurant there in the city)!
thanks to ben and his family that make our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matteo n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The Dar is a cool place to stay. The location is central and easy to find. You can hang out on the top part of the Riad and watch the neighbors.
The rooms are small and simple. The bathroom is even smaller! Ben is all knowing, so you can ask him anything and he will have an answer for you.
Cheers!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cre8Pinot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews