We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very recommended, hoping to return soon”
Review of Dar Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Gabriel
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Very recommended, hoping to return soon”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

There are a few booking sites on the web that mention Dar Gabriel but show no availability. Ignore these and contact the owners by email directly: we were pleasantly surprised that there were rooms available for our dates, even the room we wanted, Titrit.

The Dar is a perfect place in what is now my favourite town in Morocco. Rooms and common areas are very clean and it's situated in an excellent, convenient location inside the medina, just a few footsteps after Bab Souk. Follow the directions as on the Dar's website, you can't go wrong!

Ben and his family go out of their way to make you feel comfortable, at home and relaxed: they truly show they know what hospitality is about! Breakfast is delicious with very good coffee, fresh orange juice, fresh fruit, fresh bread, Moroccan pancakes etcetera. Do note that - as the bakeries in Chaouen don't open until 08:30 - breakfast is usually served from 08:30h onwards.

Chaouen is a very relaxed and peaceful place. Because our room had windows opening onto the street we did hear a lot of the street life until late in the evening and from early in the morning. You might want to choose another room without if you're a light sleeper.

Chefchaouen has stolen our hearts, and so has Ben: I hope I can return for another trip soon!

Room Tip: * Choose a room that doesn't have windows opening onto the street if you're a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistaya71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    62
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
36
85
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Dar Gabriel is a small but beautifully formed riad situated in the north west of the old town.
For me & my family the location proved ideal as you are only a small walk with bags & a 3 year old to the new town to allow for a simple drop off/pick up with your taxi & as Chefchauuen is built on a small slope having the riad slightly higher up the hill allows for a great view from the riad's beautiful roof terrace. We booked a 2 night stay in the family room but enjoyed our selfs so much we had to stay a further night.
The Riad felt safe, clean & tidy & for the most part peaceful allowing for a great night sleep after a busy day exploring.
During our last night at Dar Gabriel there was a late check in of what sounded like a bunch of giggling school girls. Ben quickly reminded them of the acoustics in a riad.
Ben and his family were the perfect hosts during our stay from the moment we arrived to the arranging of our taxi back to the border when we left.
Ive noticed a few negative comments about Bens english, its worth bearing in mind that you are in the mountains of North Africa not the Costa del Sol. Bens english was perfectly adequate & with an occasional combination of our GCSE french & a mash-up of spanish we never had any issues. I think I may have reverted to an occasional charades moment but that's what travelling is all about, isn't it?
The best advice for a couple of friends travelling together would be to try and book the 2 rooms right at the top of the riad as the doors open exclusively on to the roof terrace. Either of these 2 rooms would also suit anyone travelling with small children as mum & dad enjoy the evening on the roof terrace once the little ones tucked up.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photosolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

There are only two problems with this riad. One is that there can be cold water when showering after a number of people in an uncomfortable shower and secondly they do not accept visa payments.

The riad is comfortable and spacious. The terrace is large and wonderful. The manager is also very accommodating and polite as are his family who stay in the riad.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Afellow12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

What a lovely riad, in our favourite spot during our stay in Morocco. Ben was very welcoming and we had dinner there one evening that was just gorgeous....really really good! The flavours were amazing. We needed some laundry doing and they did it free of charge for us...not many places you'd be able to have that done. IT was just a lovely lovely riad, loads of little places to sit down and chill out, and lovely views from the terrace. The colours were fab. Great reviews online, and even when we were there they received another certificate from Tripadvisor in the post about how good a place it is to stay! Would totally recommend! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I went back to Dar Gabriel after visiting previously, Ben Salam and his family were so welcoming and friendly, it was a great chance to relax. On my second day there we went to Akshour to see Gods Bridge- its beautiful and not far from the hotel, just a taxi ride away and a 1 hour walk.. Breathtaking! then I could relax in the fresh and clear waters that run in the gorge beneath Gods Bridge, there are loads of deep clear swimming holes that are so needed in the hot weather. Upon arrival back at the hotel the most exquisite dinner was ready for me! A perfect day..

Room Tip: Request the room at the top of the riad, spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misstrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Really an oasis of tranquility in bustling, sometimes frantic Chauoen. We planned to stay one night after a three week tour of the far south but extended our holiday and stayed three. If you want a grand hotel with liveried staff Dar Gabriel is not for you. If you want an intimate place run by a lovely Moroccan family with good home cooking and the Medina at your doorstep then this is the place. We will return.

Room Tip: Each room is very different and they are all nice. The manager, Ben, is happy to show you all that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulDawn268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Nice quiet dar 2 minutes from the Bab Souk door. Friendly staff gave limited advice when asked but we didn't ask (or get offered) much advice on excursions etcetera.

Our room was two singles pushed together but we took that over a double lower down in the dar. Ensuite with shower (but no dividing door/curtain, although you can't see from the bed into it). Small breakfast (a little pancake, plenty of bread, a bit of cheese, honey and olive oil with coffee and nice fresh orange juice) in relatively busy communal area.

Like Chaouen itself, Dar Gabriel is a relaxing break from the hustle and bustle of Fez etc.Good value especially with discount for 3+ nights. Would return if in Chefchouen again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have more air (effectively they are on the terrace) and more isolated from ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RA_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
31.8 mi away
Casa Perleta
Casa Perleta
#1 of 23 in Chefchaouen
589 reviews
31.8 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
487 reviews
31.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.9 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 23 in Chefchaouen
115 reviews
31.8 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
116 reviews
31.8 mi away
Dar Echchaouen
Dar Echchaouen
#4 of 23 in Chefchaouen
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Gabriel

Property: Dar Gabriel
Address: Bab souk | Derb El kadi Benq Maimoum souk bad souk gate number 6, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Gabriel is a beautifully restored boutique riad hotel in Chefchaouen, northern Morocco, with seven bedrooms all en-suite. Downstairs is a sitting room heated by a wood burning stove, a restaurant kitchen, and intimate dining room. There are four bedrooms on the middle floor, roof terraces, three more bedrooms with kitchen and chill out space at roof level. Great views across medina and the river valley, with the Rif mountains behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing