We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best smile in the town”
Review of Dar Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Gabriel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Chefchaouen
2 reviews
“Best smile in the town”
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This place is nice, clean and well located but there are a few other places with the same.

The main advantage here is the service. Ben is a very friendly, lovely man. He brought us tea whenever we wanted, did our personal laundry at no cost, even brought me medicine.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maayanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    62
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
36
85
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Hidden away it was a lucky find, we fell upon this hotel after we arrived weary from travelling from Spain, walking the streets we saw a sign up a blue alleyway. The hotel was beautiful inside with alot of thought gone into the interior design, Our room was very spacious, decorated with authentic rugs and lamps. The ensuite bathroom had hot shower and very nice touches to it such as Morrocon soaps.
We were starving as we had arrived late, manager Ben's wife cooked us a delicious Morrocan 3 course meal, best meal I have had in our travels arround Morroco! We were so pleased to find this Boutique hotel tucked away in the middle of the town that we stayed an extra 3 nights to explore around the area. This is a morrocan hotel with european standards,

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PastelWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We travelled around Morocco for two weeks and Ben was the finest host! The Riad is beautifully and tastefully done up with lots of open spaces and seating areas. We loved the room, the terrace, the yumm Morocain food cooked by Fatima- Ben's wife and the cosy home atmosphere. The Riad is in the heart of the souk and the medina in Chaouen is not very big anyways. Ben is always there with a helping hand- be it carrying heavy luggage to the top floor or letting you use the washing machine and everything he does is done with a big smile right across his face. Couldn't have found a better place to stay! The only glitch was the heating in the room which was just not warm enough.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gypsicsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxon, UK
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We loved the hotel, great service and the food was really good. It's in the old town which is brimming with life. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilOxon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaga
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2010

i have travelled extensively in morocco for decades and chefchaouen has long been my favourite town.nestled amongst the mountains,it has a medi-eval charm,the hassle is non existent and -best of all-all the houses are made of blue icing sugar.and now to make things better, i have found a hotel where i can truely feel at home.dar gabriel has a feel that is both palatial yet homely.beautiful rooms,an enormous roof terrace with views,a lounge which boasts a fireplace for those cold winter nights, and ,best of all, the finest food i have eaten in morocco.without frills it is food moroccans would eat-at a wedding perhaps-simple tagines and cous cous but with subtle flavours that delight the taste buds.salads and fruit dishes that surprise in their depth.go and eat there,have a look round and you´ll decide you want to stay

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cidermick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2010

The house is beautifully and stylishly furnished . Very comfortable and we enjoyed returning after our excursions in the town to our own little palace. The bedrooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated and the roof top terrace area is a delight to hang out on reading and sharing meals with friends.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bruce008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
31.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
31.8 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
31.8 mi away
Casa Perleta
Casa Perleta
#1 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.9 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 23 in Chefchaouen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
31.7 mi away
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
#5 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
31.8 mi away
Hotel Alkhalifa
Hotel Alkhalifa
#6 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Gabriel

Property: Dar Gabriel
Address: Bab souk | Derb El kadi Benq Maimoum souk bad souk gate number 6, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Gabriel is a beautifully restored boutique riad hotel in Chefchaouen, northern Morocco, with seven bedrooms all en-suite. Downstairs is a sitting room heated by a wood burning stove, a restaurant kitchen, and intimate dining room. There are four bedrooms on the middle floor, roof terraces, three more bedrooms with kitchen and chill out space at roof level. Great views across medina and the river valley, with the Rif mountains behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dar Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing