We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, low-cost, and Friendly”
Review of Dar Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Antonio
Ranked #12 of 64 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I love the patio are here, which is amazingly decorated and a great place to relax after what had been a long stretch of traveling for us. The owner and the rest of the staff were incredibly friendly. And I LOVE the crazy shower in the bottom floor. The Rough Guide described it as a "cave," which I think gave the wrong impression of it being dark and somehow scary or less than clean. Instead, it was this imaginative, rocky-looking, massive shower that was incredibly well maintained. Also, the price for the room was the cheapest we paid during the entire time we were in Morocco. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fobodysnault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Dar Antonio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

A hidden gem in the very laid back town of Chefchaouen. It is one of those places that you think you will spend a night or two and end up staying a week or longer. Hicham and Mohammed are lovely hosts who just go the extra step to make sure you are comfortable and enjoying your stay.

The rooms are cosy and tastefully done. The hotel was very clean and orderly and Hicham is always cleaning throughout the day. There are two nice common areas to relax and a kitchen with a refrigerator and stove. It is down a lane so you are off the main pathways an get a good nights sleep.

This was the best budget accommodation during my three weeks in Morocco and as a solo female traveler I felt very comfortable and safe here. I highly recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Chefchaouen.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Totoro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

It was so lovely at Dar Antonio that I stayed for over 2 weeks, and would definitely stay again on returning to Chefchaouen. Hicham and Mohammed are very respectful and do whatever they can to make everyone's stay comfortable and enjoyable. Everything is cleaned and cared for on a daily basis. It has been nicely painted in different colours and Hicham has decorated with fun objects making it homely and relaxing. There is a fully equipped kitchen to make meals, tea and coffee, and also a common room to chill out and/or meet other travellers.
Tucked away down a small lane, it is conveniently situated close to the main square, but also quiet. I had the twin room on the terrace with a view of the Spanish Mosque, and I loved it. Hope you do too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuatarina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Our hosts Antonio and Hicham were welcoming, helpful and knowledgable. Dar Antonio is right in the heart of the old Medina. It's a quirky and colourful tardis which can absorb many guests without feeling too busy. We chose the top double room on the basis of previous reviewers and it lived up to its promise - a cosy, romantic retreat with a great view of the Kasbah. You can eat out or self-cater, with fresh bread, great cakes and numerous cafes and restaurants all within a stone's throw. Chefchaoun is just a great place to wander round and absorb the sights, sound and smells of the souk and craft markets, Two stalls to recommend are Karim's berber jewellery and Aziz's hand-made leather shoes on rue lamdaka No 14, quartier Rif al Andalus. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: The top room has the best view and privacy. The family suite is exquisitely decorated.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caza_Azul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

It is my 5th day now in antonios hotel and I will even stay longer. So far I stayed in two different rooms, both clean and tastefully furnished. The room at the top is lovely and a nice place to relaxe offside the busy streets of the Medina eventhough the hotel is located very close to the famous square with the Kasbha etc. It offers a nice view over the northern part of the Medina.
Antonio speaks countless languages, i think also a bit of japanese. He always takes care of his guests without being importunate and gives you useful advices whenever you need. A tiny kitchen invides to cook with one of the two big tajine, there is also a fridge where to storage cold drinks. Bathrooms with hot water and a nice cave shower will keep you clean during your journey. There are cheaper places to stay but this is the best under the budget hotels in town. Its worth it

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HerrUnterberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Great place to stay in the blue medina of Chefchaouen. The owner is extremely nice, speaks about seven languages and is eager to enjoy mint tea with his guests and shares many of his stories from traveling around the world. Rooms are very clean and each is painted and decorated by the owner himself. Many other accommodations seemed overpriced for what you got, Dar Antonio was a great value and spot on for the price range. Only about 100 meters to the main square, but the rooms felt nicely secluded and quiet. Perfect place to relax in Chefchaouen.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weston19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Absolutely amazing. A beautiful little nook, so quirky, colourful and inviting. We were intending to stay in Chefchaouen for 2 nights but we stayed at Antonio's for 5, even having to change our flights! We stayed in the room at the very top of the building and the journey from the ground floor up was like something from Alice in Wonderland. Brilliant facilities with use of the kitchen and living area, a mini library and as much help and advice as the owner, Hicham, could offer. The whole experience was so homely, comfortable and inviting and to top it, the view from our room was breathtaking! There is no doubt that I will return as soon as possible and this time for longer!

Room Tip: We had the top one and it was perfect for a couple! very very romantic! ;-)
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linzimymymy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 23 in Chefchaouen
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Souika
Hostel Souika
#12 of 32 in Chefchaouen
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dar Terrae
Hotel Dar Terrae
#18 of 64 in Chefchaouen
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Antonio

Address: 36 Calle Garmata, Chefchaouen, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range: £21 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dar Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing