We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Dar Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Antonio
Ranked #10 of 69 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We arrived in Dar Antonio after a long bus trip from Fez, and were immediately welcomed by Mughammad who showed us our rooms, and got us settled in. The guesthouse is really homely, and the room that I stayed in was very nicely decorated and was spacious. If I ever come back to Chefchaouen then I will most definitely stay in Dar Antonio. Mughammad and Hicham are so friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to make us feel welcome in their guesthouse. The guesthouse itself is very clean and welcoming and I would recommend it as a great place to stay. It is really close to the center and is located in a very nice area. It is also relatively easy to find. The rooms are very affordable and I felt like we definitely got value for money. I would have liked to extend my stay, but couldn't as we were flying back home.

Room Tip: If you are booking via Agoda, please note that they do not actually take the 50 percent off your cre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toughedah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

After fending off three hotel touts who assailed us as soon as we exited our taxi (making claims like, "It's closed" and worse), we wandered our way through the medina until we came upon the bluest of blue cul de sacs. At the end was Dar Antonio. Hicham greeted us warmly and immediately put himself at our disposal, as he would for our entire three-night stay. Being the only guests that first night, we had our pick of the magnificent and cozy rooms available. What stood out most was the care that Hicham had taken in furnishing and decorating this beautiful place. Every nook from the cave-like shower to the airy common terrace was clean and rich in character. We chose a middle-floor room that afforded us respite from the heat as well as a window into the alley, through which we heard various animated conversions, bleating horns and beating drums (it was Ramadan).

Although we did not remain the only guests (how could we, at a such a pleasant haven), we were able to spend time with Hicham drinking tea in the main square and shopping for vegetables at the local market. We would have gladly extended our stay if we hadn't had a flight to catch out of Tangier.

Room Tip: The rooms on higher floors are hotter during the summer (maybe this is a plus in the winter), but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amulherkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I love the patio are here, which is amazingly decorated and a great place to relax after what had been a long stretch of traveling for us. The owner and the rest of the staff were incredibly friendly. And I LOVE the crazy shower in the bottom floor. The Rough Guide described it as a "cave," which I think gave the wrong impression of it being dark and somehow scary or less than clean. Instead, it was this imaginative, rocky-looking, massive shower that was incredibly well maintained. Also, the price for the room was the cheapest we paid during the entire time we were in Morocco. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fobodysnault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

A hidden gem in the very laid back town of Chefchaouen. It is one of those places that you think you will spend a night or two and end up staying a week or longer. Hicham and Mohammed are lovely hosts who just go the extra step to make sure you are comfortable and enjoying your stay.

The rooms are cosy and tastefully done. The hotel was very clean and orderly and Hicham is always cleaning throughout the day. There are two nice common areas to relax and a kitchen with a refrigerator and stove. It is down a lane so you are off the main pathways an get a good nights sleep.

This was the best budget accommodation during my three weeks in Morocco and as a solo female traveler I felt very comfortable and safe here. I highly recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Chefchaouen.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Totoro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

It was so lovely at Dar Antonio that I stayed for over 2 weeks, and would definitely stay again on returning to Chefchaouen. Hicham and Mohammed are very respectful and do whatever they can to make everyone's stay comfortable and enjoyable. Everything is cleaned and cared for on a daily basis. It has been nicely painted in different colours and Hicham has decorated with fun objects making it homely and relaxing. There is a fully equipped kitchen to make meals, tea and coffee, and also a common room to chill out and/or meet other travellers.
Tucked away down a small lane, it is conveniently situated close to the main square, but also quiet. I had the twin room on the terrace with a view of the Spanish Mosque, and I loved it. Hope you do too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuatarina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Our hosts Antonio and Hicham were welcoming, helpful and knowledgable. Dar Antonio is right in the heart of the old Medina. It's a quirky and colourful tardis which can absorb many guests without feeling too busy. We chose the top double room on the basis of previous reviewers and it lived up to its promise - a cosy, romantic retreat with a great view of the Kasbah. You can eat out or self-cater, with fresh bread, great cakes and numerous cafes and restaurants all within a stone's throw. Chefchaoun is just a great place to wander round and absorb the sights, sound and smells of the souk and craft markets, Two stalls to recommend are Karim's berber jewellery and Aziz's hand-made leather shoes on rue lamdaka No 14, quartier Rif al Andalus. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: The top room has the best view and privacy. The family suite is exquisitely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caza_Azul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

It is my 5th day now in antonios hotel and I will even stay longer. So far I stayed in two different rooms, both clean and tastefully furnished. The room at the top is lovely and a nice place to relaxe offside the busy streets of the Medina eventhough the hotel is located very close to the famous square with the Kasbha etc. It offers a nice view over the northern part of the Medina.
Antonio speaks countless languages, i think also a bit of japanese. He always takes care of his guests without being importunate and gives you useful advices whenever you need. A tiny kitchen invides to cook with one of the two big tajine, there is also a fridge where to storage cold drinks. Bathrooms with hot water and a nice cave shower will keep you clean during your journey. There are cheaper places to stay but this is the best under the budget hotels in town. Its worth it

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HerrUnterberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 24 in Chefchaouen
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Molino
Hotel Molino
#8 of 69 in Chefchaouen
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dar Terrae
Hotel Dar Terrae
#18 of 69 in Chefchaouen
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Zaitouna Chaouen
Riad Zaitouna Chaouen
#1 of 69 in Chefchaouen
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koutoubia
Hotel Koutoubia
#9 of 69 in Chefchaouen
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Aldea
Dar Aldea
#4 of 36 in Chefchaouen
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Antonio

Address: 36 Calle Garmata, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range: £20 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dar Antonio, the name given to this charming and quiet guesthouse style, located in the heart of the medina in Chefchaouen (Morocco). Enjoy the charm of Chefchaouen here in the Dar Antonio, in an Arab-Andalusian style house with its interior garden, its 7 rooms (including a suite), 3 common bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, its large terrace overlooking the village and the mountains, with a beautiful view of the big Kasbah. All rooms are including high quality wifi, two bathrooms are available in the Dar, including one inside a stone vault, and a collective kitchen, which can be used to prepare a breakfast or a mint tea , to take on one of our two terraces : everything is planned in Dar Antonio so that your stay in Chefchaouen is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Dar Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing