We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was beautiful to watch football matches on TV together”
Review of Hotel Mauritania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mauritania
Ranked #36 of 56 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
1,359 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,986 helpful votes
“It was beautiful to watch football matches on TV together”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Very cheap pension in the heart of the Medina, a few steps from Place Uta El Hammam. The cleaning is scarce, being entrusted to a single person, who is not always able to do everything carefully. The staff is very nice and juggles with different languages. It was beautiful to watch football matches on TV (from Naples to Casablanca, from Barcelona to Baiern Munchen) together with the other guests and staff, drinking mint tea and smoking in a blue little sitting room in the center of the typical structure of the riad. The best of the Moroccan people is the friendship and the solidarity that unites the people, everyone helps each other. We sleep very well, even in the really tiny room (we barely entered the bedroom and the heater) that has befallen us, awakened only by the crowing of the cock and cradled by the voice of the muezzin. The bathrooms and showers are shared. Better is bringing your own towels. You must also bring your own soap and hair dryer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atepais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
10
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Don't let the bus station put you off this town. Head up the hill and discover a beautiful place to spend a few days. Hearing about the hostel from other travellers we thought we'd give it a go, having stayed in hotels up to this point in our trip. A local led us to the door and we were warmly greeted. The hostel has 3 floors and a roof terrace, all lovely and tiled with a central lounge area. Toilet and shower are shared but were clean and tidy. Our room, although not large, was more than ok for 70Dh per person per night. The pillow could be better! The staff were friendly and helpful and love watching soccer.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel is inside the Media. Cost 90DH per night. The building is really nice and a PC is provided for guests. There are sufficient bathrooms and toilets. Owner is English-speaking, nice and kind. It also provides free wifi but not to the top floor. The rooms are not dirty, I won't say they are very clean...

Please pay attention to the drug dealers in the Medina, just walk away when they come across you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here 1 night. We both had bedbugs so we quickly changed to another hotel! The staff is friendly and it looked overall clean. But the bedbug thing is unforgettable. We stayed in room 5
If it wasnt for the bedbugs, it was a really nice and cheap place for backpackers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chefchaouen hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Wow, Lonely planet really got this place wrong. Our room was dirty and smelt really bad. Sheets were visibly stained with old blood and body hair/eyelashes. Prices are over-rated for Chefchaouen. The common area was a good place to relax and meet other travellers. Staff were always on site, and were kind when we had to go to hospital. I thought we would be slaughtered by bed bugs the two nights we stayed due to all the signs of an infestation, suprisingly we didnt. We slept in sleeping sacks the whole time. Our last day i bumped a picture on the wall and a definate bed bug ran from behind the picture.

Stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackpackerNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.0 mi away
Aline Hostel
Aline Hostel
#6 of 31 in Chefchaouen
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Souika
Hostel Souika
#10 of 31 in Chefchaouen
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Antonio
Dar Antonio
#13 of 56 in Chefchaouen
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Khaldi
Hotel Casa Khaldi
#9 of 31 in Chefchaouen
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Scotlandee
Dar Scotlandee
#25 of 56 in Chefchaouen
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Zman
Dar Zman
#16 of 56 in Chefchaouen
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mauritania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mauritania

Property: Hotel Mauritania
Address: No. 15 Rue Kadi Alami, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mauritania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing