We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing people”
Review of Dar Zambra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Zambra
Ranked #5 of 69 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The whole staff was simply amazing, we felt like staying at friends from Bilal who walked us to the place and prepares wonderful eggs to Pablo and Mina who created that special atmosphere, not forgetting the kindness of Muna. Definitely the best place we stayed at in Morocco.
As any place located in a Medina, is a bit hard to find but worth the effort. It would be wise to travel light or with backpacks, since Chefchaouen is all ups and downs a trolley would be a big mistake there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexdeflorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

Clean with friendly service. Not easy to find initially. We weren't able to take up the owner's kind offer to pick us up from the bus station due to our phone problems but it would have been useful as the riad is up very long and steep road. A warm greeting and sweet mint tea and biscuits was very welcomed. The first night's comfortable sleep was followed by a really lovely, filling breakfast. Shame about the early morning cockerel and late night constant dog barking in the medina on the second night but -otherwise- highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuDe1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We really enjoyed our time at Dar Zambra. The rooms are small and the beds are a bit hard by American standards, but the decor is charming and everything is spotless. Unfortunately, the small heaters weren't quite able to keep up with the February chill so we wore extra socks to bed. The location of the riad is is both one of Dar Zambra's biggest assets and difficulties. It's location at the top of the medina makes for incredible views of the mountains. It also means that it takes a whole lot of stairs to get there. The staff was very friendly, but they spoke little English. Meals were great. We watched Mina prepare a traditional Moroccan dinner (interesting considering the language barrier) and the results were far and away the best meal we had in Morocco. The included breakfast comes with three different kinds of breads, jams, honey, goat cheese and fresh squeezed orange juice. The rooms are right off of the common room where breakfast was served, so that may be an issue if you're not an early riser. I imagine though, that in warmer weather most guests would enjoy the terrace views with breakfast. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others, especially in warmer weather!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

After living and traveling quite extensively around Morocco for the past 2 years, this place came as such a pleasant surprise! It truly stood out as the cleanest, coziest and most conveniently located riad. The rooms are immaculate, simply and very tastefully decorated (a nice change from other, overpriced riads with beautiful architecture but gaudy decor and dirty linens). Mountain views from the bedrooms and the terrace are spectacular.
The staff members were very warm, welcoming and attentive. Prior to my arrival, I received a personalized email with specific directions to the riad.
Breakfast is included in the price of the room and includes a nice variety of fresh, local ingredients.
Dar Zambra will definitely be my first accommodation choice for future trips, and I highly recommended it to others

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aletiosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank paris201412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank anihelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#1 of 24 in Chefchaouen
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#6 of 24 in Chefchaouen
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 24 in Chefchaouen
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Zaitouna Chaouen
Riad Zaitouna Chaouen
#1 of 69 in Chefchaouen
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa La Palma
Casa La Palma
#3 of 69 in Chefchaouen
213 reviews
0 mi away
La Petite Chefchaouen
La Petite Chefchaouen
#6 of 69 in Chefchaouen
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zambra

Address: Fahfouh Av Andalusi - Ancienne Medina, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range: £41 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Zambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing