We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great!”
Review of Dar Zambra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Zambra
Ranked #1 of 56 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely great!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great hotel, beautiful house, clean rooms, good staff and service, located right in the middle of old medina. Really recommended!
Advise for those who will be booking it: please take into account that the medina is pedestrian area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    35
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
85
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Everything GREAT about this place! The views from the terrace are AMAZING, the hotel staff IS WONDERFUL, really helpful. The breakfast was the best we had in Morocco! Watch out for the big bags. I wouldn't reccomend taking big bags, because the hotel is up high in the Medina.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have booked our stay via booking.com. On arrival me and my husband were asked if we
were married. If yes, if we could show them our marriage book. This we did not take with us so they told us that they could not give us a room. So we flew all the way from Belgium to chefchaouen. We arrived there in the late evening and it was not easy to find the hotel. A lot of stairs up in the hill and with heavy suitcases if was not easy. They did not even offer us a drink as we told them we've come from far and were tierd of the journey. My husband and I both have the Belgian nationality and we had our red belgian passport with us and above all we are not moslim!
So I do not understand how they could refuse us like that just because we did not have our marriage book with us. they told us upon the way out that we would not find a hotel in chefchaouen who would accept us without our marriage book. They had it wrong! The first hotel we passed and liked welcomed us like it should be. So Dar Zambra has made a big mistake i think. As I work as a flight attendant it was my first time to have been refused in a hotel. I have stayed in many hotels all over the world and this hotel has still a lot to learn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nadia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar Zambra Z, Gerente at Dar Zambra, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Google Translation
Madame Nadia,

nous regrettons votre mauvaise expérience. En effet, selon la loi marocaine, il est strictement interdit à un homme et une femme d'origine marocaine et musulmans de tous les pays de partager la même chambre d'hôtel, à moins qu'ils puissent prouver qu'ils sont mariés en montrant une copie du certificat de mariage .
Grâce à cette réponse , nous voulons informer tous les voyageurs qui répondent à ces exigences que à Dar Zambra nous adhérons strictement aux lois du Maroc et nous sommes obligés de toujours commander ce certificat de mariage avant de faire le check-in

Nous vous informons que les établissements qui ne respectent pas cette loi sont à risque d'être sanctionnés (y compris la suspension de l'entreprise)

Cordialement



Estimada Sra Nadia,
nosotros lamentamos su mala experiencia. Efectivamente, según las leyes marroquíes, está terminante prohibido que un hombre y una mujer de origen marroquí y/ o musulmán compartan una misma habitación de hotel , salvo que puedan acreditar que están casados mostrando su acta de matrimonio.
A través de esta respuesta, nosotros queremos informar a todos los viajeros que cumplan estas condiciones que en Dar Zambra cumplimos estrictamente las leyes de Marruecos y estamos obligados a pedir siempre este acta de matrimonio antes de realizar el check in.

Los establecimientos que no respeten esta ley se arriesgan a percibir sanciones que incluyen la suspensión del negocio.

Saludos Cordiales,

Dear Ms Nadia,

we regret your bad experience. Indeed, according to Moroccan law, it is strictly forbidden for a man and a woman of Moroccan origin and Muslims from anywhere in the world to share the same hotel room, unless they can prove that they are married by showing a copy of the marriage certificate.

Through this response, we want to inform all travelers that meet these requirements that at Dar Zambra we strictly adhere to the laws of Morocco and are compelled to always order this marriage certificate before doing the check in.

We inform you that establishments that do not comply with this law risk being perceived sanctions that may include suspension of business.

Best Regards


Dar Zambra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We loved Dar Zambra. The owners were so very kind and helpful to us. The view was stunning. The food was delicious. The room was lovely, clean, very comfortable. It was initially hard to locate, so be sure to ask before you go, and they will send you easier directions. We only wish we had planned to stay several nights in Chefchaouen!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The whole staff was simply amazing, we felt like staying at friends from Bilal who walked us to the place and prepares wonderful eggs to Pablo and Mina who created that special atmosphere, not forgetting the kindness of Muna. Definitely the best place we stayed at in Morocco.
As any place located in a Medina, is a bit hard to find but worth the effort. It would be wise to travel light or with backpacks, since Chefchaouen is all ups and downs a trolley would be a big mistake there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexdeflorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Clean with friendly service. Not easy to find initially. We weren't able to take up the owner's kind offer to pick us up from the bus station due to our phone problems but it would have been useful as the riad is up very long and steep road. A warm greeting and sweet mint tea and biscuits was very welcomed. The first night's comfortable sleep was followed by a really lovely, filling breakfast. Shame about the early morning cockerel and late night constant dog barking in the medina on the second night but -otherwise- highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuDe1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We really enjoyed our time at Dar Zambra. The rooms are small and the beds are a bit hard by American standards, but the decor is charming and everything is spotless. Unfortunately, the small heaters weren't quite able to keep up with the February chill so we wore extra socks to bed. The location of the riad is is both one of Dar Zambra's biggest assets and difficulties. It's location at the top of the medina makes for incredible views of the mountains. It also means that it takes a whole lot of stairs to get there. The staff was very friendly, but they spoke little English. Meals were great. We watched Mina prepare a traditional Moroccan dinner (interesting considering the language barrier) and the results were far and away the best meal we had in Morocco. The included breakfast comes with three different kinds of breads, jams, honey, goat cheese and fresh squeezed orange juice. The rooms are right off of the common room where breakfast was served, so that may be an issue if you're not an early riser. I imagine though, that in warmer weather most guests would enjoy the terrace views with breakfast. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others, especially in warmer weather!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.0 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 23 in Chefchaouen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Perleta
Casa Perleta
#1 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
31.9 mi away
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
#11 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Echchaouen
Dar Echchaouen
#4 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zambra

Property: Dar Zambra
Address: Fahfouh Av Andalusi - Ancienne Medina, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dar Zambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing