We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, given the location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riad Casa Hassan Restaurante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riad Casa Hassan Restaurante
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, given the location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Given how small Chefchaouen is and the lack of major hotels, for this city, this is 5 star hotel. The room is immaculate and the bathroom was spotless. Wonderful Riad feel to this hotel. Great breakfast. Wifi worked adequately from the lobby. Only negative would be the confusing stairways that had to be climbed to get up to our room. We walked into the Parador, a large hotel a few blocks away, and if you prefer warmer, more intimate hotels, there is no choice but to stay at Casa Hassan.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tzhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    99
    30
    7
    12
See reviews for
41
93
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Casa Hassan is situated right inside the medina of Chefchaouen. It's a cinch to walk to everything, from the waterfall at the top of the hill to the kasbah on the plaza. The room we stayed in (23) was large, clean, and comfortable. The bathroom was nice and we always had great hot water. Each morning, we had a delightful breakfast with TONS of bread. The hotel's restaurant, located across the street, has delicious food. Wi-fi was only available in the lobby during out stay, but that wasn't really a problem in a small hotel. The signal was always good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

With friend, I s pent a lovely weekend in this delightful Riad, located in the heart of the Chefchaouen medina. The room was cozy, the bathroom ample and well appointed. The public spaces were traditionally decorated. Moroccan breakfast was included, and was delicious; dinner in the hotel's restaurant across "street" the was also very good. The staff were friendly, attentive and very helpful. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mchsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Again we have stayed at casa hassan on more than one occasion as frequent travellers we do tend to re visit a place if we find a gem. Casa hassan has lovely rooms a heart breakfast and is situated perfectly in this wonderful charming little place. The only downside is your not allowed to drink alcohol if you dine there. But the food is delicuous so well worth a night off from the old vino.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyboop003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Montana
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

As an introduction to the authentic Moroccan lifestyle, you can't be Casa Hassan as well as the medina of Chefchauen. For those who don't know, a riad is a traditional home with an inner courtyard...apparently once open to the sky, but fortunately now covered with glass because it was raining! The rooms are reached by a maze of staircases, which add to the fun (if you don't mind stairs!) The public rooms are lovely with fountains and lots of intricate tile work/arches, etc. My bathroom was up six stairs at one end of my "basement" room and was a real surprise...a gleaming hammered copper sink and what appeared to be an "original" curved tile tub (sort of). Breakfasts included much more than the assorted breads you get in many Moroccan hotels. There were scrambled eggs, yogurt, fruit spreads, etc....and of course, the ever-present olives!

Yes, there is only wi-fi in the main room, and yes, the call-to-prayer does ring out at 5:15 every morning, but I did go to Morocco to experience the culture and that is certainly a major part of the culture. Overall, a very memorable experience.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs, ask for a room on one of the lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BitterrootTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

If you want to stay in the heart of one of the most special and magical cities in Morocco, Riad Casa Hassan is the place for you. A true Riad with a home feeling. Fantastic food, typical rooms and friendly people. Need's a little of improvement in the linen and supply of hot water to the higher floors. On request they provided wi-fi connection in de lobby. Breakfast is simple but typical with home products.
A nice stay for an African adventure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MConceicao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Going to Chefchaouen was an a extra we added onto our Moroccan tour and we are so glad we did aas we loved this picturesque mountain town .
And what made the stay even better was this lovely Riad. The double bed was in a cute alcove at one end of the room and all of the furnishings were in the tradional Moroccan style.
The riad is located in the heart of the Medina but it is still quite and peaceful . The staff were all very good and were quick to resolve one small problem we had in the room even if communicating this was a challenge due to our lack of Spanish,
We ate dinner in their restaurant which was good as was the traditional breakfast.
We advise that a vist to Chefchaouen is a must as is a stay at Hotel Riad Casa Hassan

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidb0962_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 24 in Chefchaouen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 mi away
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
#10 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Echchaouen
Dar Echchaouen
#4 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
#5 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riad Casa Hassan Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riad Casa Hassan Restaurante

Property: Hotel Riad Casa Hassan Restaurante
Address: Rue Targui, 22 CHAOUEN, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Riad Casa Hassan Restaurante 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel in the old town of Chaouen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riad Casa Hassan Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Hassan
Casa Hassan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing