We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean, friendly accommodations close to the main square”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Amina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Amina
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very clean, friendly accommodations close to the main square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed at Casa Amina for one night in June and had a wonderful experience. The house was very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. I stayed in a single room and used the shared bathroom and sink but hung out in the main courtyard to socialize with other guests and play with the house cat. The house was a 3 minute walk from the main gate and a 1 minute walk from the main square, so the location was perfect. The bus station is a 10 minute walk from the main gate, but it's very steep, so it might be easier to take a taxi.

Room Tip: The single room on the second floor was small but nice and not too loud with the shutters closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickilee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    15
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
21
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Casa Amina in May 2014. We were there for the last 2 weeks of May. This place is inside the Medina, with shared bathrooms and access to a kitchen.

We had a room on the third floor. It had a sink outside on the roof, but the bathrooms were on the main floor. The room was clean, and we were given clean towels whenever we asked for them, and the room was cleaned when we requested, basically every 4 days or so. The bed was very comfortable.

Sometimes if the hostel was full and guests came late at night, they could sleep on the couches in the sitting areas. So a couple of nights we had people sleeping outside our room on the couches.

Access to the kitchen was great as we were tired of vegetarian couscous and tagines, so we cooked most days.

The owner and his son are wonderful people. They are warm, welcoming and very laid back. They are very knowledgeable and can guide you about anything. Sometimes they would bring their friends who played guitars and we would listen to them. Again, their friends were also very nice people.

My only suggestion would be that they build a bathroom on the roof on the third floor. It was a bit inconvenient to go down three floors in the middle of the night.

We really enjoyed our stay there and often talk about Casa Amina. Thank you to the staff for making our stay memorable.


  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdarshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Casa Amina is for sure the best place to stay in Chaouen. Location is great close to everything, Ossama and his father are wonderful people, always smiling and very helpful to everything you might need. The rooms are great and clean as with everything in the hostel. Very relaxed atmosphere feels like home so you will definitely want to stay more in this place! Plus there is a small photo exhibition with beautiful photos on the walls!! Definitely the best place to enjoy Chefchaouen!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dia_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xalapa, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

casa amina is the perfect place for staying if you want to visit Chefchaouen, the staff makes you feel like home, they help you and try to make everything as comfortable as they can, they are really nice people and the house is amaizing with the terrace and the communal areas. highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andie-riivas_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Would recommend Casa Amina to anyone - was lovely to have a private room and at such a cheap price. The owner and his son Ossama are so helpful and kind, genuinely made Chefchaouen a every memorable experience. Its a very small hostel (Only 4 rooms) with a lovely communal area downstairs which makes it very easy to meet people if you want to and is located perfectly (with very clear directions to it) in the medina. Would advise people to book for more than 1 night if possible as it was very difficult to stay on another night in the room since it books up very quickly. It is possible to sleep on the sofas which are very comfy for like 40 DH if you do decide to stay on :) Thank you Casa Amina!!! Zoe and Amelia :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

First of all, this place has a really cute siamese cat, which is always good. It's clean and well maintained and the staff helped with any requests we had, very friendly and like a home. Definitely reccomended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spethspeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The staff, actually the young owner (Ossama) of this hostel was so friendly and nice to me when I arrived there . He's very laid back style and open - minded. So I felt like I stayed at home. At first, I booked only 1 night on Hostelbookers.com. But I like this hostel and Chouen so much that I stayed Casa Amina for 8 more days. He sometimes throw a music party in the salon for guests. Or He sometimes introduce his friends to guests. You can make a lot of fun and good memories there. In addition, Stars seen from the rooftop during the night are beautiful. Above all, The quality at that price is very satisfying.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia_1568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Perleta
Casa Perleta
#1 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
31.7 mi away
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
#11 of 23 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Souika
Hostel Souika
#11 of 30 in Chefchaouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Amina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Amina

Property: Casa Amina
Address: Quartier Souika | Derb Chebli, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Amina is a traditional family home now transformed into a stunning hostel situated in the heart of the old medina. This house is a beautiful example of Chefchaouen finest cultural designs. In Casa Amina, you will find blue and yellow walls with intricate Moroccan tiles, and an open floor layout giving the house a cozy and welcoming feel to it. 2 roof top terraces offer a panoramic view of the city and the surrounding Riff Mountains where you can watch the sun rise and set. The house contains 4 rooms: - Room 1: 1 double bed - Room 2: 1 double + 1 single bed - Room 3: 1 double bed + 1 single bed - Room 4: 3 single beds Casa Amina is tucked away in a nice quiet street and is only a 2 minute walk from Plaza Uta el-Hammam. The old Medina is a delight of Moroccan and Andalusian influence with red-tiled roofs, bright blue buildings and narrow lanes. Plan your time to explore the city and to hike the mountains and we will be here waiting for you to come back. Bus station is 15 minutes walking distance or 4 minutes by taxi. Casa Amina includes: - Fans for the summer and heaters for the winter - Hot water 24 hours - Towels - Free WIFI - Free maps and advises - Lounge area - Laundry service - Daily housekeeping - Luggage storeage - Breakfast not included - No curfew - Child Friendly Check In from 11:30am to 10:00pm ONLY Check Out: 12:00pm Credit cards not accepted Cancellation policy 48 hours In case of a late cancellation or No Show, you will be charged the first night of your stay. We hope you enjoy your stay! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing