We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay, I will be back”
Review of Hostal Guernika

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chefchaouen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Guernika
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must stay, I will be back”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Well, chapeau to the owners and especially to the carekeeper Raul, this place is well managed to almost every detail which counts.
I am quite astonished to the quality one is getting for 200 DHM a night, an cosy room, rich in decorations, an terrace with great views of the mountain and an breakfast so carefully prepared, gosh what more does one need? I highly recommend this place, one will not regret it, I am searching already for an second holiday there in the coming year.

And concerning Chefchaoun, we have during our 3 day stay ( I witnessed that 3 other folks extended their stay as well ) always wondered how this village which sees now so many tourists remains so authentic. For us this was with Fes the best place we have seen in Marocco.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karimcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    46
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
70
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This is a beautiful little hostal with a stunning roof terrace. The owner is friendly and professional with wonderful breakfast. There are lots of downmarket hostal in Chaouen catering to the hash tourists, but this is a genuine hostal without any of that aspect. What a relief. The price is very reasonable. I loved it!

Room Tip: The upper rooms are near the terrace, but don't have WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calumpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Great hostel in a great location - right in the medina - with a beautiful interior
and a nice roof terrace. Rauol was really helpful and was a great host. Breakfast
was simple, but good, served in the lovely eating/living area. There's a nice area
to sit down and read some of the books in the small book collection they have.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcasey83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

It took asking a few strangers to find the place but once we did, we never got lost again. The owners are kind and to-the-point but speak no English or Arabic (only French and Spanish). After viewing a few different rooms, we took one on the top floor- easy access to the delightful roof terrace and overlooking the town below. The only down side was the one window and no fan. The hostel is beautifully decorated, small but not cramped, and beyond affordable. We were even able to get hooked up with a hiking guide when we checked in. Breakfast was not included but for 30Dh it's an easy addition.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge MA
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Just a stone's throw (assuming you walk the most direct path) from where the petit taxis can drop you near the medina.. This place is very well appointed, with clean, airy rooms. We took breakfast outside at Cafe Snack Mounir (they have an espresso machine there and are close to the wifi in the square), so we aren't sure about the 35dh breafast. But for 200dh per double, you will find very good value at Gernika! Nice roof terrace too!

Room Tip: Room #12 is nice but the rooms on the first floor have beautiful glass windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gremily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed for three nights in Hostal Guernika on a recent trip to Morocco. While a bit tricky to locate at first, it was easy to re-find during our subsequent explorations around town. The inside is tastefully decorated, with a nice common sitting/dining area. Our room was also nice and clean, but was on the darker side of the building, so had a somewhat musty smell (dispelled by keeping windows open and burning some incense now and then). The owner/manager was very friendly, and the breakfast offered was delicious, fresh and inexpensive. Great spot!

Room Tip: pick a room on the sunny side if you have a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imjustpassingthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Perleta
Casa Perleta
#1 of 23 in Chefchaouen
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#2 of 23 in Chefchaouen
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#3 of 23 in Chefchaouen
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Elrios
Dar Elrios
#1 of 32 in Chefchaouen
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Guernika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Guernika

Property: Hostal Guernika
Address: Calle Ibn Askar, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Chefchaouen
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Hostal Guernika Hotel Chefchaouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing