We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit far out but very well-intending staff”
Review of Dar Scotlandee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Scotlandee
Ranked #27 of 69 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Very, very long way from the medina despite what the description says. Brilliant breakfast and well meaning staff but probably not for everyone. Don't expect a professionally-run hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

I've stayed with Terry, Suzanne and Liam quite a few times over my few years in Morocco. They are always incredibly hospitable and are most willing and capable to help you out with any of your travel needs in/around Morocco (not just Chaoen).

The hostel itself is a bit out of the way (about a 15 minute uphill walk from the medina) and not the easiest to find, but it boasts clean rooms and a stellar view. Your stay will include breakfast (usually omelets of some sort, but if you want something else, just let them know ahead of time).

Like most other places you stay, the real question is whether or not you would stay there again. Emphatically: Yes, I would.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time to make sure get the type of room you want (with or without bathroom).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

probably one of the best hostels I've stayed in - I really felt at home, very well looked after and totally relaxed the whole time. Terry, Suzanna and Liam are superb hosts and do everything to make your stay enjoyable......me and my friend couldn't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToooooomHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Visited in March 2012 as a group of 3 lads – and what an awesome find this B&B was (actually it was recommended by a friend who stayed here previously)! The rooms were comfortable and clean (just a place to crash out really), but the best part of the stay was the hospitality and insight we received from the owners and their family! Its located on the outskirts of the town (a £1.50 taxi ride or 20 min walk), and the views from the terraces of the B&B and lounge are fantastic.

Terry (the owner) provided us with an excellent insight of Morocco and Chefchaouen and took us on some walks thru to the medina and hotel bars to get some food and drinks – something that would have baffled 3 lost and drunk lads! The hospitality back at the B&B was great and we could not have asked for more. If you love music, chilled out warm people, and sitting on a terrace smoking and drinking – then this is the place for you. If you are looking for an alternative to a weekend in Amsterdam - this is much more chilled and real.

This B&B is one of the best holiday secrets I have stumbled across in the 20 years of travelling I have done. Travelling is as much about the people and the experience as it is the place – and this was definitely a great find. Book, enjoy, explore, and share – this will definitely be a repeat destination.

Dalj (LONDON)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaljSinghB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

To be honest, I had expected a little more.
The view is fantastic, they have a roof terrace and telescope you can use. It's about 20-30 minutes walking to the top of the medina. A nice walk in my opinion, but some might find it a little tiring, especially as the medina itself is built on quite a steep bit of mountain. You're definitely going to feel your legs at the end of the day.
It's a little hard to find, but they warn you of that when booking. When we arrived we were greeted warmly and given a real cup of tea. Our room was nice, with extra blankets available for the somewhat chilly night. The facilities were basic. It was all there, but it could be so much better. The tap was loose, the shower took a long time to warm up.
Breakfast was balanced and pretty much the same as we experienced elsewhere in the country. With again: REAL tea.

What didn't bother me, but might do others is that the owners smoke both tobacco and the local produce. Take this into account if you're thinking about coming here. The atmosphere is very relaxed and you feel anything is possible, but if you take offence, than it is probably better not to come here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaysan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

If you are looking for a friendly place to stay, look no further. Terry, Susanna and Liam will do everything to make you feel at home and a part of the family.
I took advantage of their pick up service from Tangier airport and Terry even organised the taxi driver to take me via the supermarket, to pick up some supplies (booze!). It was an easy 2 hour drive with some great views along the way.
The house has the most incredible views over Chef and the mountains, if you could have bottled that view you could make a fortune!
The room had all the basics I needed, a bed, blankets and bathroom. Three or four rooms open out onto a communal living space with cards, books and a table. Most of the action took place upstairs in the main living room, which the balcony and terrace came off. Most evenings (and mornings) could be spent here, smoking, drinking and socialising...
These guys can really take care of your every need, and if you didn't want to, you could quite easily go without ever leaving the house! But why would you? The village of Chef is as friendly as everyone says and the median is really beautiful.
Great place, super friendly, fantastic value and all round great. I will defiantly be back and would not hesitate to recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damsqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

A friend and I spent 5 days at Dar Scotlandee and had a great stay. Enough can't be said about the great welcome and atmosphere. The owners are extremely hospitable and relaxed and made sure we were well looked after. We also participated in the Rif For Anyone Golf Challenge which was an enjoyable day. I will definently be back sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#6 of 24 in Chefchaouen
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#3 of 24 in Chefchaouen
544 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#1 of 24 in Chefchaouen
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 24 in Chefchaouen
129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dar Echchaouen
Dar Echchaouen
#4 of 24 in Chefchaouen
651 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Parador
Hotel Parador
#18 of 24 in Chefchaouen
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Scotlandee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Scotlandee

Address: H'nain | Bp 288, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range: £14 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Scotlandee 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE READ CAREFULLY! We don't allow children under 12 years. We are situated just a few minutes walk from the camping, and a 15 minute walk from Chaouen Medina. The national park of Talessamtane is only 200m behind our guesthouse. The Dar Scotlandee guest house in Chefchaouen is a surefire winner with travellers who would like to be somewhere a bit different!! This great value Guesthouse makes a wonderful change from a hotel in the Medina, and offers all the same attention to detail along with warm and personal hospitality. We are just a 15 minute walk or 2 minute taxi ride to the ancient Medina of Chefchaouen and ideal for discovering the hidden villages of the majestic Rif Mountains. The guesthouse is a superb base for exploring the area, and linking up with fellow travellers on our shaded terrace. We also arrange day trips to local beauty spots, and guided tours to local villages to see traditional farming techniques. Local honey and olive oil are specialities of the region. A real chance to experience Berber hospitality. Free high speed wi-fi, so bring your devices. Book early to avoid disappointment, it does get busy in summer. We hope to see you soon... Please note- as with all of Morocco, there is a lot of new building work going on all around Chefchaouen. Recently, it has reached our neighbourhood, meaning the gentle sound of moroccans building houses. Although quite interesting to watch the basic building methods, and the lack of any machinery being used, the sound of bricks being cemented together may bother some people. Please consider this when booking as we don't want you to be unhappy in any way while you are here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Scotlandee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing