We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“perfect :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Scotlandee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Scotlandee
Ranked #22 of 55 Chefchaouen B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

after just over a week of travelling from agadir up through the main large cities- this was exactly what we were hoping for - Chaouen is an amazing place, everything about the place is lovely- we wished we could've swapped some days in for extra up at this hotel to chill out a bit more - massive thanks to Terry, Suzanne and Liam who made Alice's and mine stay so great- we will most definitely be back :)
rooms are good,brekky is good, hostfamily/company were lovely- real highlight of our trip so thanks!
Alex & Alice

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexFrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
28
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We booked this guest house for 3 nights due to the generally great reviews. To be sure I am not complaining since it is certainly very reasonably priced. I do want to point out a few things about the inn for those travelers that are not of the backpacker persuasion. First, the place is known locally as Dar Scotlandi, not Rif-for-Anyone. The driver of our grand taxi from the Moroccan border had to ask the locals for help, and not every local taxi knows even Scottlandi. It is located about a 15 to 20 minutes walk away from the medina. The walk is quite manageable (but do involve some unpaved hilly spots). However, not only there is no paved road to the house, you have to go up a slight (and a bit rough) hill to get to the entrance. It's difficult with the luggage and particularly tricky when it is wet as was the case when we were there. The place is managed by a Scottish coupe and their adult son. They are nice folks. Their managerial style is a bit on the hap hazard side - they don't have a printer and can't provide a map of the medina - only a pdf map by email. The directions we got were extremely vague. I can't detect much interest from them for the local people. When we came back from town and talked about the things we saw, we get little response. We were delighted to find that Mondays are market days at Chefchaouen, but were surprised that none at the guest house mentioned it, since most of the shops in the medina are closed on Mondays. Be aware also, if you visit in winter or earlier spring, that the rooms are not heated.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HobbitBrandybuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry G, Owner at Dar Scotlandee, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thanks for your review. But I must respond to clear a few points up...
Please read our hostel description before booking! You will see that we are situated up on the "side of the mountain, a 15 min walk to the medina. So why you need to put it in your review, and critisise us for it, I don't know!
Since your companion had been to Chaouen before, she seemed to be informing you of what chaouen had to offer, you never asked us. We are only too happy to advise people on local activities.
Do not book budget accommodation and expect 5 star treatment. Yes we are cheap, especially when you consider the high speed internet access, 24 hour hot water, free towels and toilet paper, and enough blankets to keep warm in the middle of winter, never mind a chilly spring night. I think we are extremely good value for money. Buy a map yourself, if you can find one. They are not easily available here.
It is very easy to get to the medina, and simple directions, I find, are best.
I agree, the path up from the road could be better, but this is a short cut. The proper road around to the hostel is easier, but most people can manage the little slope easily enough.
If you look at our name on trip adviser, you will see we are called Rif-for anyone/Dar Scotlandee. Whats the problem?
Oh, 1 last thing. The taxi's all know us. But they sometimes pretend not to with new arrivals to Chaouen, hoping that you will just tell them to take you somewhere else, so that they can gain commission. A common trick all over Morocco. I bet you never had any problems after this with them.
Hope this clears things up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Just returned from a 10 day motorcycling trip of Morocco, and can't speak highly enough of this B&B. Originally booked for two nights, but ended up staying a third, it was just that sort of place. Terry, Suzanne & Liam, are so welcoming, I defy anyone not to feel at home there, you feel more like an invited friend than a paying guest. It might not suit everyone with a boisterous dog and a desert fox on the premises, but I am certainly looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Looking for a hike in the mountains of Morocco I found the "Scotlandia" to be the perfect place... I spent 6 nights and met about 20 younger travelers that provided hours of entertainment while we waited for the rain to stop. Just out behind "Scotland" is a great hike if you are serious... a vertical climb of 3800' and about 12 miles round trip to a summit with snow and a view of Spain and the Med. Terry the owner did the hike with us and was a great person to have along. We also visited God's Bridge at Achour and enjoyed is almost as much as the longer and harder hike the next day. There is a common room where the company is good, the breakfast is always ready in the morning and the WiFi works great. As a non-Arabic speaker and a person who likes to hike the hospitality of Terry ans Souzanna .... along with son Liam... made the six day stay comfortable and enjoyable. Lots to do in Chef too....

Room Tip: Don't let the distance from town scare you off... the walk is the fitness center and taxis are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

I went to Morocco a lot of times for my job, and everytime I could I went to Chefchaouen and in my opinion "Rif for anyone" is the best accommodation. The first time I went there I felt like a guest, but staying there a few times now I feel more like a friend. The family that runs the guesthouse it's very polite and it's always likable to help you to plan your trip and find the cheapest way to travel in the country. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Breakfast it's fantastic. The guesthouse is located at the feet of the mountain, in a quiet place. You can easily reach the Medina by feet in ten minutes and you can come back by taxi(about one euro). So I suggest everyone who wants to go there to stay in this guesthouse, you'll love it!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freechecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We were looking for a clean place to stay near the mountains and this place was perfect. The owners were very helpful, friendly, and even went on hikes with us along with several other guests that were staying there when we were. Having a "home" to come back to after exploring both the city and the countryside made the trip easy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BoulderBill33324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

My boyfriend and I had such a great time in the guesthouse with Terry and Souzanna! Lovely private rooms, with hot showers, and great spaces for socialising with them and the other guests. Fantastic location, with great views, and even better atmosphere. Also attracted like-minded, friendly people! Great for both couples and friends!
Gave me memories that will stay with me for life! Will definitely come back, as it really made our holiday!

Room Tip: All rooms were private I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.8 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alkhalifa
Hotel Alkhalifa
#6 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dar Echchaouen
Dar Echchaouen
#3 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dar Touijar
Dar Touijar
#43 of 55 in Chefchaouen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar Antonio
Dar Antonio
#14 of 55 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Khaldi
Hotel Casa Khaldi
#10 of 31 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Scotlandee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Scotlandee

Property: Dar Scotlandee
Address: H'nain | BP 288, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Scotlandee 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE READ CAREFULLY! We don't allow children under 12 years. We are situated just a few minutes walk from the camping, and a 15 minute walk from Chaouen Medina. The national park of Talessamtane is only 200m behind our guesthouse. The Dar Scotlandee guest house in Chefchaouen is a surefire winner with travellers who would like to be somewhere a bit different!! This great value Guesthouse makes a wonderful change from a hotel in the Medina, and offers all the same attention to detail along with warm and personal hospitality. We are just a 15 minute walk or 2 minute taxi ride to the ancient Medina of Chefchaouen and ideal for discovering the hidden villages of the majestic Rif Mountains. The guesthouse is a superb base for exploring the area, and linking up with fellow travellers on our shaded terrace. We also arrange day trips to local beauty spots, and guided tours to local villages to see traditional farming techniques. Local honey and olive oil are specialities of the region. A real chance to experience Berber hospitality. Free high speed wi-fi, so bring your devices. Book early to avoid disappointment, it does get busy in summer. We hope to see you soon... Please note- as with all of Morocco, there is a lot of new building work going on all around Chefchaouen. Recently, it has reached our neighbourhood, meaning the gentle sound of moroccans building houses. Although quite interesting to watch the basic building methods, and the lack of any machinery being used, the sound of bricks being cemented together may bother some people. Please consider this when booking as we don't want you to be unhappy in any way while you are here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Scotlandee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing