We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Begin Visit to Morocco”
Review of Dar Echchaouen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Echchaouen
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We enjoyed our two nights in Chefchaouen at Dar Echaouen. We got in a little after 9 pm on our arrival in Morocco. Check-in was speedy and efficient. The staff was not overly freindly, but being prepared for us meant a lot. The rooms were spaciou and the price was good; however, the lighting is not great and the shower could have used some up-dating. It is in a great location right outside the medina. The restaurant for breakfast and dinner was very nice. The pool, the grounds, and the views were all exceptional. We would recommend it and certainly would stay again if we were in Chefchaouen. We would consider upgrading to one of their villas. Don't know the price but they looked fabulous from the outside.

Room Tip: Consider an upgrade to one of the villas if you have that option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlStoltzfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Booked 3 rooms in this hotel one month ago through booking.com (confirmed booking) to be told days before we are due to arrive that they have overbooked and there will be no rooms at the hotel.......BE VERY CAREFULL BOOKING THIS HOTEL

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank benavista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rabie1976, Gérant at Dar Echchaouen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Hello,

Sorry, our hotel was not ouverbooked,it was completely your problème.
when you have booked by wibsite Booking.com, your crédit card détails was not correct, and according to the contract with our partner and general conditions, in this case the reservation was refused.

thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great pool, delicious breakfast, fantastic room. Really lovely place, excellent value for money and nice to be out of the bustle of the medina. Would recommend to anyone really - expensive for Morocco but by Western standards really a terrific bargain. Not much to do in Chaouen (though it's very pretty!) so this is a great place to take stock and put your feet up.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelflaubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rabie1976, Gérant at Dar Echchaouen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your visit and your lovely comment, hope you have a pleasant stay at the hotel Darechchaouen, wish have the pleasure of welcoming you again,


Please accept dear customer, the expression of our most respectful sentiments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Hotel muito romântico inserido numa cidade muito bonita. Ambiente muito acolhedor e ótima localização.
Very romantic hotel set in a very beautiful city. Very cozy atmosphere and great location.
Recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 295Ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Chefchauoen is the photographers dream with it's blue and white hues, beautiful doors and friendly residents. In the late afternoon we swam in the pool that overlooked the picturesque village. We saw one guest having a relaxing massage poolside and thought that would have been a good idea. We had a delightful dinner at the riad and then set off to explore the city at night. Our two rooms were in their own building with a communal living room and all were well appointed. The gardens of Darechchaoen were lovely and peaceful. We did wake up to the roosters crowing but that is part of the country charm. All the staff spoke English well and worked hard to make sure we were comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were traveling with 4 girls and managed to secure a "family chalet", which was perfect! It had 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms, and a common area. There was a questionable comedian who welcomed us at the reception desk, and it took us a while to gauge his sense of humour. We were pleasantly surprised that our room was conveniently perched at the top of the building at the top of the hill, linked to a long balcony. The hotel itself is a good 15 minute walk to the centre of the medina (all downhill on the way there and all uphill on the way back), which is not so convenient, but the location also gives a stunning view of the entire blue city at sunrise and sunset. We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the breakfast of assorted warm bread, homemade butter / jams, teas, coffees and dry cereals. I may have preferred to have an egg/omelette of sorts as that's what I'm used to, but I didn't miss it that much. The pool was quite crowded when we went, but it offered a soothing break from the hot-hot temperatures. If you're a group or a small family, I would definitely recommend the family chalet room; it added tremendous comfort to our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

One of my favourite all time hotel stays. We stayed in room SW4 and the decor made it feel like we were being given a room in some ancient palace. The place was very clean and the service friendly and helpful. Three of us stayed in a double suite with the lounge area made up to a third bed which was ample room. The pool is small, but lovely, with views over the city one way and views of the cliff face the other. A tasty breakfast in the morning was included in the overnight price, which seemed a bargain compared to prices for western hotels. The only small negative is the rather pricey lunch and dinner menu, but then there is nothing stopping you making the ten minute walk into the old medina to where there are dozens of cheap restaurants in the main square, but try La Lampe Magique (book ahead) for stunning sunset views over the city from their fourth story terrace.

Room Tip: SW4 was perfect for three people. The hotel was very quiet and I expect all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chawus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.3 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#3 of 23 in Chefchaouen
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parador
Hotel Parador
#16 of 23 in Chefchaouen
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 23 in Chefchaouen
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dar Mounir
Hotel Dar Mounir
#14 of 23 in Chefchaouen
121 reviews
31.8 mi away
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
#12 of 23 in Chefchaouen
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#1 of 23 in Chefchaouen
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Echchaouen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Echchaouen

Address: Chefchaouen 19270, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chefchaouen
#4 Family Hotel in Chefchaouen
Price Range: £69 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Echchaouen 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic piece of art builds and managed with passion, decorated with a pure Arabic and local style. We put customer satisfaction in the hart of our daily job. With an excellent views all rounds and a relaxing swimming pool. Accessible in walking distance to the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Dar Echchaouen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Echchaouen Chefchaouen
Dar Echchaouen Hotel Chefchaouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing