We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our favourite hotels in Morocco!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Echchaouen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Echchaouen
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“One of our favourite hotels in Morocco!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed at the Dar Echchaouen for 2 nights on a recent trip to Morocco and loved it! The hotel is in a great spot, just a short walk from the medina and up on a hill with great views over the town of Chefchaouen and the Rif Mountains. Our room was warm and comfortable, though it was a little noisy at night when everyone was slamming doors The included breakfast was great, with a good selection of breads and pancakes with jams, fruit and yoghurt. Eggs were available for an additional fee too. We also had dinner in the hotel one night and it was great. The staff were friendly and helpful and all spoke English. The included free wifi was good. We also had some laundry done whilst we were there and it was done promptly and a reasonable price. Overall we would highly recommend Dar Echchaouen if you're looking for a great place to stay in Chefchaouen.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneAndRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rabie1976, Manager at Dar Echchaouen, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your lovely comment and for choosing our hotel and hope you have a pleasant stay in the hotel, hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again,
please accept Dear customer, the expression of our most respectful sentiments.

thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    181
    41
    7
    8
See reviews for
110
227
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was another of the excellent places our private tour booked for us in Morocco. And this was one of our favorites. Not only is Chefchaouen a magical village, but this Dar makes it even better. Located high on a hill overlooking the town, this hotel has it all. Beautiful, warm entry, great little restaurant, wonderful, well appointed rooms and spectacular views. While the Dar feels like it's a long way from town, it is actually a short, easy and beautiful walk down the hill right into the heart of Chefchaouen.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMG4037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed two nights on a tour with Experience it! Tours. We completely enjoyed our stay. Good location on the edge of the medina. All food was good, but no beer or wine during Ramadan. The pool was very nice and my granddaughters used it a lot.
This is more like a hotel/motel/guest house than a riad.
Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank planetjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnislake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We booked this hotel before we left home. We were travelling by motorbike and I knew we would need a little pampering after several days on the road. We needed a place with a pool so that we could spend a couple of days in total relaxation, topping up the tans before hitting the road once more.
The hotel was everything we expected and more. It was conveniently close to the medina, but secluded enough to be peaceful. The rooms were traditionally decorated, but with plenty of light. The food was well presented, especially breakfast - an array of different breads and various delicacies to go with it, freshly squeezed juice and endless tea or coffee. The tagines (goat with prunes and chicken with preserved lemon) we ate were the best we tasted in Morocco, twice the price of those available in the main square, but worth every dirham.
We parked our motorbike in the hotel's parking bays on the layby, but even so, the guardian wanted us to pay for parking. I gave him what I considered a tip, but he was not happy! And on the subject of tipping, with hindsight I feel I should have tipped the waiter a small amount after each meal. When I handed over a larger tip at the end of our stay the staff appeared dissatisfied

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandSue97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rabie1976, Manager at Dar Echchaouen, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your lovely comment and for choosing our hotel and hope you have a pleasant stay in the hotel, hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again,
please accept Dear customer, the expression of our most respectful sentiments.

thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and enjoyed the charm of Chefchaouen as well as the riad. The room we had was small but had a king size comfortable bed, as well as a twin bed, TV, A.C. It would have been crowded if there had been 3 of us. The lovely dining room looked out on a flower garden and fountains. The place is adding on a handful of new and even lovelier rooms on the hillside above. There is also a swimming pool but I did not see anyone in it. The water was rather cloudy, not crystal clear and I probably wouldn't had gotten into the pool either. We ate dinner at the riad one night and ate in town the 2nd night at the Aladin roof top restaurant ... the terraces had at least 4 or 5 levels overlooking the town. We had a good meal there.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verohikers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is lovely - the rooms are very clean and pretty spacious. It's also a short but lovely walk into the old medina. It's actually very nice staying just outside the medina. The breakfast is pretty average - although on the three mornings we were here there was never any hot water for tea. We didn't try the food because there is so much on offer in the medina. The main problem with this hotel are the enormous numbers of tour groups that go through it every day. On one morning at breakfast there were two groups of about 20 tourists who of course all go around en mass and it meant we couldnt find anywhere to sit and eat. The other problem was the rooster right outside the window who calls at 5am 6am and 7am!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank miniver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

well run hotel owned by a savvy, smart, switched on, young moroccan man. excellent recorded music in foyer and restaurant (african jazz). good local food. good staff. beautiful rooms, clean and well appointed. very beautiful rose gardens with some of the biggest rose heads i have ever seen planted everywhere on the property. rambling stone paths and steps....so charming. clean crisp air of the mountains all around. great pool too. a gentle amble across the river into the main square utta el hammam. i love this place and always return with my tour groups. they are always very happy and content here. i figure when you are on a good thing stick with it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roamlikequeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chefchaouen hotels
0.3 mi away
Lina Ryad & Spa
Lina Ryad & Spa
#2 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Miguel
Hotel Casa Miguel
#7 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Sabila
Casa Sabila
#3 of 24 in Chefchaouen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 mi away
Dar Gabriel
Dar Gabriel
#10 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
Riad Assilah Chefchaouen
#5 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alkhalifa
Hotel Alkhalifa
#6 of 24 in Chefchaouen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Echchaouen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Echchaouen

Property: Dar Echchaouen
Address: Chefchaouen 19270, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chefchaouen
#4 Family Hotel in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Echchaouen 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic piece of art builds and managed with passion, decorated with a pure Arabic and local style. We put customer satisfaction in the hart of our daily job. With an excellent views all rounds and a relaxing swimming pool. Accessible in walking distance to the medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Dar Echchaouen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Echchaouen Chefchaouen
Dar Echchaouen Hotel Chefchaouen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing